| Breconshire | Contents & Search |
NB Books which refer to Abergwesyn might equally refer to the parish of Llanfihangel Abergwesyn
Bidgood, Ruth. Abergwesyn : Bwlch y Ddau Faen. Newtown, Powys : Gwasg Gregynog, 1997. 16pBidgood, Ruth. Churches and gentry in the Abergwesyn area. Brycheiniog 21 (1984/85), p. 34-51
Bidgood, Ruth. Parishes of the Buzzard. Alun Books, Port Talbot, 2001. Paperback 269 pages; ISBN: 0907117805
"A very detailed and readable history of all aspects of life in Llanddewi Abergwesyn and Llanfihangel Abergwesyn."Gwyndaf, Robin. Abergwesyn, y porthmyn a Ruth Watcyn. Medel 1 (1985), p. 34-40
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanddewi Abergwesyn 1841-1901
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Breconshire parish registers
Llanddewi Abergwesyn parish was united with Llanfihangel Abergwesyn parish in 1885, no separate marriage register thereafter.
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
Parish of Llanfihangel Abergwessin in the County of Brecon. 1841. Evan Jones Griffiths, Llandeilo, surveyor.
Thomas Price, Ystrad, Builth, valuer. Evan Evans, Fron Wen, Llanafan Fawr, Breconshire, valuer. Second class map.
Voluntary agreement. Commutation dated 13.01.1841. Shows waterbodies, houses, woods, plantations, old mound, boundary stones and marks, and holdings; enclosed lands only. 6,836 acres commuted. Apportionment by holding. Land use details and field-names given in apportionment schedule. Tithe rent charge £180 (£60 Vicar; £120 Chanter and Chapter of St David's Cathedral).
Llanddewi Abergwesyn
| Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future. GENUKI is a registered trademark. |