| Breconshire | Contents & Search |
Boyer, Lyn. Spotlight on Talgarth. Country Quest 27/10 (1987), p. 33-5Cooke, David. Grant's guide to Hay-on-Wye, Talgarth and the Black Mountains. Hay-on-Wye : H.R. Grant & Son, [1981] 82p
First report of the Talgarth British School Committee, 1845-1846. Brecon : Anne Morgan, pr., [1846]. 8p
Ludlow, Neil. Excavations within Medieval Talgarth, Powys 1997-98. Brycheiniog 32 (2000), p. 11-48
New asylum at Talgarth. Hanes: newsletter of the Brecknock History Forum, No 10 (January 2003), 4-8.
Powell, Alan A. The Prosser family of Llyswen, Courtcoed, Glasbury and Genffordd, Talgarth : a triple connection. Cronicl Powys. No. 19 (1988), p. 45-8
Talgarth, December 10th, 1792 : At a meeting of several inhabitants of this parish held this day : It was resolved that it appears to this meeting, that at a time when in defiance of the King's late proclamation, doctrines are held, even in this part of the kingdom, so distant from the seat of government, which aim at its destruction : it becomes the inhabitants of this parish ... to declare their sentiments of attachment to it : Resolved that the inhabitants of this parish be requested to meet on Friday the 14th instant, at the Lion Inn Talgarth, at the hour of four in the afternoon : At a numerous meeting of the inhabitants ... held ... in consequence of the above advertisement ... it was unanimously resolved, that the thanks of this meeting be given to Mr. Evan Roberts, for the offer of his printing press, for the service of this association' - end of text. The meeting was chaired by Henry Allen. ... Trevecka : Printed [by Evan Roberts], 1792. An account of a loyalist meeting.
Williams, Roger G. Talgarth in photographs : jewel of the Black Mountains. Volume 1. Abertillery : Old Bakehouse Publications, 1995. 112p. and Vol 2 Abertillery : Old Bakehouse Publications, 1996. 112p
Church of St Gwendoline, Talgarth on the Brecknockshire Churches Survey site.
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Breconshire parish registers.
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives:
Places, villages, farms etc., in Talgarth parish as shown on the parish map on the CD of Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file] (Kain, R. J. P., Oliver, R. R.). (Extracted by John Ball)
Victorian Powys for schools - Map of Talgarth, Llangorse and District.
Talgarth
| Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future. GENUKI is a registered trademark. |