Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Aberdaron

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Aberdaron

"ABERDARON, a parish in the hundred of Commitmaen, in the county of Carnarvon, North-Wales, 14 miles S.W. of Pwllheli. It is situated, as its name indicates, at the mouth of the river Daron, at the extremity of the peninsula of Lleyn, and opposite to Bardsey Island. On this island a famous monastery once existed which used to attract a large number of pilgrims. Aberdaron was the usual place of embarkation for the island, and was much frequented by the pilgrims. On the highest ground a chapel was erected, Capel Vair, or "Chapel of Our Lady," in which it was customary to invoke the protection of the Virgin before passing over to the island. There was also another chapel at a little distance from the former, and near the shore, named Capel-Anlaaelog. These have both shared the destiny of the monastery to which they were related, and have fallen into decay." [From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]

topup

Bibliography

  • Armstrong, Christopher. R. S. Thomas, priest of Aberdaron. The David Jones Journal, 3 (Summer / Autumn2001), 87-90.
  • Elliss, Wesley J. The Church of Saint Hywyn, Aberdaron. [Caernarfon] : Cymdeithas Hanes Sir Gaernarfon, [1951] 31p
  • Humphreys, Hugh. The celebrated Cambrian linguist, or, The history of Dick Aberdaron, who, by his natural talent and perseverance in the face of every disadvantage, worked his way until he was proficient in 35 languages! Carnarvon : Printed and sold by H. Humphreys, [1867?] 48p
  • Roscoe, William. Memoir of Richard Roberts Jones   (Dic Aberdaron) of Aberdaron : in the county of Carnarvon, in North Wales; exhibiting a remarkable instance of a partial power and cultivation of intellect. London : Printed for T. Cadell, Strand, and J. and A. Arch, Cornhill, 1822. 50p - on google books (complete)
  • Taylor, Roger. Days to remember at Aberdaron. Country Quest (December 1995), p. 39-40
topup

Business and Commerce Records

Pen y Caerau Woollen Mill Accounts 1873 - 1912 - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"A collection of six account books of the Pen y Caerau Woollen Mill, situated near Aberdaron ... "

Robert Thomas, Bryncroes Account Book 1790 - 1821  - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"An account book containing a variety of entries such as goods bought, wages paid out to John Hughes, money lending and investing in shipbuilding in Aberdaron, Pwllheli and Tudweliog..."

topup

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Aberdaron Parish; Statistics; Area 7078 acres; Population 598 males, 641 females, total 1239

  • Aberdaron Parish Church     Consecrated in 1841 in lieu of the old            Attendance - morning 50            John Evans, Minister
  • Penycaera, Calvinistic Methodist         Erected before 1800        Attendance - morning 115, afternoon 142 scholars, evening 231       Thos. Owen, Deacon, Felinucha
  • Rhydlios, Calvinistic Methodist             Erected 1800        Attendance - morning 120, afternoon 80 scholars, evening 140       Robert Evans, Elder
  • Bryncalad Chapel, Wesleyan Methodists         Erected 1804     Attendance - morning 45 scholars,afternoon 113, evening 98        Griffith Jones, Steward, Shop
  • Bethesda, Particular Baptist        Erected 1823          Attendance - morning 70 + 20 scholars, evening 60 + 10 scholars          John Williams, Deacon, Penrhos
  • Cephas, Independent              Erected 1829          Attendance - morning 15 scholars, afternoon (?) 58            Thomas Thomas, Minister, Hebron
  • Capel Carmel, Babtist              Erected 1841         Attendance - afternoon 32 scholars, evening 40                William Davies, Manager
  • Uwch y Mynydd, Methodistiaid Calfinaidd             Erected before 1800        Attendance - morning 57, afternoon 168, evening 223        Walter Griffith, Deacon, Uwchymynydd

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of St Hywen's Church, Aberdaron

St Hywyn's Church, Aberdaron

Aberdaron Church - on Rhiw.com

There are photographs of the following Aberdaron chapels on the Penllyn.com site;
Capel Rhydlios (CM); Capel Saron (CM); Capel Rhoshirwaun (Bethesda) (Baptist)

  • Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Aberdaron chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation by Maureen Saycell

Various items  - on the People's Collection Wales site

  • ST HYWYNS CHURCH, ABERDARON
  • ST AELRHIW'S CHURCH, RHIW
  • ST MAELRHYS CHURCH
  • Deunant chapel (CM), Aberdaron
  • Uwchmynydd chapel (CM), Aberdaron
  • PISGAH METHODIST CHAPEL (WESLEYAN), RHIW, Y
  • NEBO INDEPENDENT CHAPEL, RHIW, Y
  • Elders of Deunant chapel (CM), Aberdaron (1896)
topup

Church Records

Joyce Hinde has supplied a list of Parish Registers held at the Caernarfon Area Record Office.

Aberdaron churchyard - some inscriptions on Alwyn's Godsacre site

topup

Description and Travel

Bardsey Island isn't actually part of Aberdaron  parish, see also under Miscellaneous

Aberdaron - on the Penllyn.com site

Aberdaron - on Wikipedia

Bardesey/Ynys Enlli - on the Penllyn.com site

Aberdaron & District Tourist Link

Old photographs of Aberdaron - on the Rhiw site

Old photographs of Aberdaron - on the Cimwch site

Welcome to Bardsey Island

Various landscapes/seascapes  - on the People's Collection Wales site 

Aberdaron - on Gwesty Ty Newydd

You can see pictures of Aberdaron which are provided by:

topup

Emigration and Immigration

On Caryl Williams's site - Emigrants from Aberdaron to the USA  taken from a manuscript (Bangor MSS 16910) deposited at the Dept of Manuscripts, University College, Bangor

Rhiw com site - Emigrants from the parishes of Llanfaelrhys, Rhiw and Aberdaron to America, 1800- 1886

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Aberdaron to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

 Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Papers of Capt. Griffiths, Moranedd, Aberdaron 1813-1918  
    "Captain Robert Griffiths (fl. 1893-1916) .... worked for the Beeswing Sailing Ship Co. Ltd, Porthmadog, Caernarfonshire, and in 1893 became captain of the barque 'Beeswing' until around 1910..... "
  • Hendre estate, Aberdaron, papers 1754-1959  - The Williams family of Hendre, Aberdaron
  • Harri Williams Collection of Papers and Letters 1757-1877 - " ... a diverse collection of papers and letters, including correspondence of his relative Griffiths Williams, who worked as a coal and silver ore miner in the United States in the 1860s, and papers relating to Aberdaron..."
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Aberdaron has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

A photograph of Aberdaron Village around 1913 - on the People's Collection Wales site

Depositions 26 May 1652: - on the People's Collection Wales site 

  • 1. John Evans of Aberdaron aged about [?32] deposes that on 10 April he saw John Thomas of Bryncroes strike Elizabeth Gorton with a 'threshle or flayle' at a place called Ty'r Toppyn. He also saw Margarett verch Griffith, the mother of J. T., strike E. G. with a rack. 
  • 2. Agnes verch Rob[er]t of Bryncroes, spinster aged about 30 deposes that on 10 April she saw J. T. assault E. G. 
  • 3. Catherin Gorton and John Evans of Aberdaron and Richard Thomas of Bryncroes all depose that they heard Moris Griffith tell J. T. and M. G. to come to the house of Richard Thomas [husband of E. G.]. They then saw J. T. strike E. S. with a cudgel, close to her husband's house.
     
topup

Land and Property

Hendre (Aberdaron) deeds  1671-1863 - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"Hendre otherwise Tir Thomas Rowland is in the parish of Aberdaron, Caernarfonshire. In 1671 Hendre was owned by Rowland Thomas....."

topup
topup
topup

Public Records

Aberdaron Parish Records 1787 - 1840 - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"The bulk of this collection consists of accounts relating to disbursements made towards relief of the poor of the parish of Aberdaron and of monies received in taxes, legacies etc. and by the Overseers of the Poor. This material includes accounts relating to Bodernabwy, Carreg, Is Sely, Llidiardau, Penycaerau, Tyddyn, Uwch Sely, and Uwch Mynydd.
The collection also contains documents relating to an assessment of the Poor Rate for the parish for 1793. There is also a list of voluntary subscribers towards the cost of keeping a school on weekdays and Sunday at the Parish Church, Aberdaron ......... There is also material relating to Land Tax Assessments for 1836 and 1837....."

Rev. Henry Hughes, Bryncir Papers 1772-1920 - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"......Amongst the transcripts is a copy of the births, marriages, and deaths in the parishes of Aberdaron and Llanfaelrhys between 1761 and 1882....." William Owen Roberts, Plas Llangwnadl Manuscripts 1793-1966   -  details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"The collection consists of transcripts of the parish registers of .............Aberdaron, 1814-1944.... "

 

topup

Social life and Customs

Various items  - on the People's Collection Wales site

  • Dic Aberdaron 1823
  • Senedd Aberdaron (1896)
  • Gyn Davies, Aberdaron, c1885. A man with a donkey and cart outside the Ship public house, surrounded by other men and some women 
  • Donkey rides in Aberdaron c1885
  •  
  • A group about to set off for Bardsey from Aberdaron, early twentieth century
  • A group of Bardsey residents outside the 'Mission House' and Chapel, c.1881
  • Bardsey Island Sunday School group, c.1881
  • A group outside the Abbey on Bardsey Island, c.1881