We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


"BRYNCROES, a parish in the hundred of Commitmaen, in the county of Carnarvon, North Wales, 10 miles to the S.W. of Pwllheli. It lies near the extremity of the peninsula forming the N. boundary of Cardigan Bay, on the banks of the small river Sochan. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Bangor, value £107, in the gift of C. W. G. Wynne, Esq. There are charitable endowments for the poor, worth £18 a year." [From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]


Jones, R Gerallt. Hunangofiant 1937-1940 : Bryncroes ac Ysgol Bryncroes / Rhan1. Taliesin Cyf. 109 (Haf 2000), p. 10-17

Business and Commerce Records

Robert Thomas, Bryncroes Account Book  1790 - 1821 - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"Robert Thomas of Ty Engan, Bryncroes was a fairly substantial farmer. He played an active role in the Wesleyan cause in the Llyn peninsula and in the local Bible Society..."


Bryncroes 1891 census - on the  Rhiw.com site


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bryncroes area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Capel Tyddyn, Wesleyan Methodists

There are photographs of the following chapels on the Penllyn.com site
Ty Mawr (CM); Hebron (Ind); Tyddyn (Wes)

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Hebron    chapel (in Welsh )  - with translation by Eleri Rowlands (Feb 2010)

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Bryncroes Parish; Statistics; Area 3646 acres; Population 441 males, 482 females, total 923

  • Bryncroes Parish Church              Attendance - morning 15           "This Parish abounds with Dissenters of every denomination who do all in their power to prevent people from going to Church, thereby acting in direct opposition to their own professed principle that every man should be allowed to worship God where he pleases "      Service in Welsh       Griffith Roberts, Perpetual Curate
  • Capel Tyddyn, Wesleyan Methodists                Erected 1804           Attendance - morning 30, afternoon 60, evening 111             Humphrey Jones, Manager, Torbant
  • Galltraeth, Particular Baptist               Erected 1802          Attendance morning 38 + 18 scholars, evening 30 + 18 scholars                  Evan Jones, Deacon, Rhosneigwl, nr Sarn
  • Hebron, Independents          Erected 1824         Attendance - morning 150 + 100 scholars, evening 180 + 70 scholars     "The Sunday School is kept in the afternoon"     Thomas Thomas, Minister
  • Tymawr, Calvinistic Methodist         Erected 1752           Attendance - afternoon 202 + 100 scholars, eveing 50 + 46 scholars               Thomas Morris, Deacon, Penybont

Church Records

Joyce Hinde has supplied a list of Parish Registers held at the Caernarfon Area Record Office.

Bryncroes churchyard - some inscriptions on Alwyn's Godsacre site

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bryncroes which are provided by:

A Penllyn.com page - Bryncroes Community site

Bryncroes - on wicipedia (Welsh)



Rowlands Family Papers, 1982 [includes transcriptions of letters dated 1851-1903] - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales       "William Rowlands (Gwilym Lleyn; 1802-1865), Wesleyan minister and bibliographer, was born at Bryncroes, near Aberdaron ...."

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bryncroes has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Gwynedd Family History Society  have a diagram of the ecclesiastical parishes of Caernarfonshire (under Parishes)  - with some links to photographs of parish churches

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH226314 (Lat/Lon: 52.850778, -4.636013), Bryncroes which are provided by:

Public Records

William Owen Roberts, Plas Llangwnadl Manuscripts 1793-1966   -  details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"The collection consists of transcripts of the parish registers of ............. Bryncroes, 1730-1962 .... "


Ysgol Bryncroes - on the Rhiw.com site