GENUKI Home page

Caernarvonshire Caernarvonshire    Parish Index Towns & Parishes    Contents Contents

BRYNCROES

"BRYNCROES, a parish in the hundred of Commitmaen, in the county of Carnarvon, North Wales, 10 miles to the S.W. of Pwllheli. It lies near the extremity of the peninsula forming the N. boundary of Cardigan Bay, on the banks of the small river Sochan. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Bangor, value 107, in the gift of C. W. G. Wynne, Esq. There are charitable endowments for the poor, worth 18 a year." [From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson 2003]

Bibliography

Jones, R Gerallt. Hunangofiant 1937-1940 : Bryncroes ac Ysgol Bryncroes / Rhan1. Taliesin Cyf. 109 (Haf 2000), p. 10-17

Business and Commerce Records

Robert Thomas, Bryncroes Account Book  1790 - 1821 - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"Robert Thomas of Ty Engan, Bryncroes was a fairly substantial farmer. He played an active role in the Wesleyan cause in the Llyn peninsula and in the local Bible Society..."

Census

Bryncroes 1891 census - on the  Rhiw.com site

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Capel Tyddyn, Wesleyan Methodists

There are photographs of the following chapels on the Penllyn.com site
Ty Mawr (CM); Hebron (Ind); Tyddyn (Wes)

Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Hebron    chapel (in Welsh )  - with translation by Eleri Rowlands (Feb 2010)

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Bryncroes Parish; Statistics; Area 3646 acres; Population 441 males, 482 females, total 923

Church Records

Joyce Hinde has supplied a list of Parish Registers held at the Caernarfon Area Record Office.

Bryncroes churchyard - some inscriptions on Alwyn's Godsacre site

Description and Travel

A Penllyn.com page - Bryncroes Community site

Bryncroes - on wicipedia (Welsh)

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Rowlands Family Papers, 1982 [includes transcriptions of letters dated 1851-1903] - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales       "William Rowlands (Gwilym Lleyn; 1802-1865), Wesleyan minister and bibliographer, was born at Bryncroes, near Aberdaron ...."

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Gwynedd Family History Society  have a diagram of the ecclesiastical parishes of Caernarfonshire (under Publications)  - with some links to photographs of parish churches

Public Records

William Owen Roberts, Plas Llangwnadl Manuscripts 1793-1966   -  details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"The collection consists of transcripts of the parish registers of ............. Bryncroes, 1730-1962 .... "

Schools

Ysgol Bryncroes - on the Rhiw.com site

 


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional [Last updated:  16 Nov 2011  -  Gareth Hicks]

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.