GENUKI Home page

Caernarvonshire Caernarvonshire    Parish Index Towns & Parishes    Contents Contents

LLAN-FAELRHYS

"LLAN-FAELRHYS, a parish in the hundred of Commitmaen, county Carnarvon, 4 miles from Bardsey Isle, and 12 S.W. of Pwllheli, its post town. It is situated on the W. coast of Porthniull Bay. Here are mines yielding manganese. The village is situated on high, rugged ground, overlooking the sweep of Porth Nigel, or Hell's Mouth, where the Transit was wrecked in 1839. The living is a perpetual curacy annexed to the vicarage of Aberdaron, in the diocese of Bangor. The church is dedicated to St. Maelrhys. The parochial endowments produce about 9 per annum." [From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson 2003]

Church History

Penllyn site - Llan Faelrhys Church

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Llanfaelrhys Parish; Statistics; Area 1679 acres; Population 129 males, 126 females, total 255

Church Records

Joyce Hinde has supplied a list of Parish Registers held at the Caernarfon Area Record Office.

Emigration and Immigration

Rhiw com site - Emigrants from the parishes of Llanfaelrhys, Rhiw and Aberdaron to America, 1800- 1886

Gazetteers

LLANVAELRHYS (LLAN-VAELRHYS), a parish in the hundred of COMMITMAEN, Lleyn division of the county of CARNARVON, NORTH WALES, 14 miles (S. W.) from Pwllheli, containing 258 inhabitants. This parish, which is situated on the shore of St. George's channel, at the southern extremity of the great promontory of Lleyn, is but of inconsiderable extent, and is not distinguished by any peculiarity of feature, or connected with any events of historical importance. The views embrace an extensive prospect of the adjacent country, which is finely diversified, and of the channel, by which it is bounded on the south and south-east. Manganese has been found within the parish, but no mines of it have yet been opened. The living is a perpetual curacy, annexed to the vicarage of Aberdaron, in the archdeaconry and diocese of Bangor. The church, dedicated to St. Maelrhys, is a very small edifice, and in a very dilapidated condition. There are places of worship for Independents and Calvinistic Methodists. A circulating charity school, for the gratuitous instruction of poor children, is held in the village every fourth year, in turn with the parishes of Aberdaron, Bryncroes, and Rhiw, for the support of which a tenement was bequeathed in the parish of Bryncroes. There are some small charitable donations and bequests for the relief of the poor. The average annual expenditure for the maintenance of the poor is 57. 18.  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales 1833 by Samuel Lewis)

Genealogy

Collection of papers relating to the Evans family of Penarfynydd (farm), Llanfaelrhys  1817-1926 - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Gwynedd Family History Society  have a diagram of the ecclesiastical parishes of Caernarfonshire (under Publications)  - with some links to photographs of parish churches

Public Records

William Owen Roberts, Plas Llangwnadl Manuscripts 1793-1966   -  details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"The collection consists of transcripts of the parish registers of ............. Llanfaelrhys 1812-1951 .... "

 


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional [Last updated: 3 April 2012 -  Gareth Hicks]

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.