GENUKI Home page

Caernarvonshire Caernarvonshire    Parish Index Towns & Parishes    Contents Contents

PENLLECH

"PENLLECH, a parochial chapelry in the hundred of Commitmaen, county Carnarvon, 10 miles W. of Pwllheli, its post town, and 7 from Nevin. The village, which is of small extent, is situated on the coast, near the rocks of Porth-Penllech. The living is a curacy annexed to the rectory* of Llaniestyn, in the diocese of Bangor. The church is dedicated to St. Mary." [From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson 2003]

Bibliography

Williams, Olwen E.  Capel M.C. Penllech : dathlu canmlwyddiant y capel 1898-1998. Tudweiliog : Capel Penllech, 1998. 35p

Church History

Penllyn site - St Mary, Penllech

PENLLECH, Parish Church 1840-1841  - on the Church plans online site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.  --   No entry for this paraochial chapelry

Church Records

Joyce Hinde has supplied a list of Parish Registers held at the Caernarfon Area Record Office.

Gazetteers

PENLLECH (PEN-LLECH), a parish in the hundred of COMMITMAEN, Lleyn division of the county of CARNARVON, NORTH WALES, 10 miles (W.) from Pwllheli, containing 268 inhabitants. This place derives its name, signifying " the head of the rock," from its situation at the extremity of some rocks on the coast of St. George's channel. It is composed of comparatively a small portion of arable and pasture land, which is enclosed and in a good state of cultivation. The inhabitants are principally employed in agricultural pursuits, except during the season of the herring fishery, which is carried on here to a considerable extent. Of the great quantity of herrings taken on this coast part is salted and sent coastwise for the supply of distant markets. The living is annexed to the rectory of Llaniestyn, in the archdeaconry and diocese of Bangor. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, is not distinguished for any architectural details of importance. There are some trifling benefactions in money, the interest of which is annually distributed among the poor of the parish, in conformity with the intentions of the benefactors. Cevnamwlch, the birthplace of Bishop Griffith, which, under the head of Llaniestyn, has been erroneously described as being in that parish, is included within the limits of this. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is 184.4. (A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Gwynedd Family History Society  have a diagram of the ecclesiastical parishes of Caernarfonshire (under Publications)  - with some links to photographs of parish churches

Public Records

William Owen Roberts, Plas Llangwnadl Manuscripts 1793-1966   -  details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"The collection consists of transcripts of the parish registers of ............. Penllech 1785-1957.... "

 


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional [Last updated: 17 July 2011 -  Gareth Hicks]

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI