GENUKI Home page CardiganshireCardiganshire ContentsContents

 

TREGARON

Parish based
sketch map
of the
hundred
"TRĘGARON (CARON, or TRĘV-GARON), a market-town and parish (formerly a borough), partly in the hundred of ILAR, but chiefly in the lower and upper divisions of the hundred of PENARTH, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 39 miles (E. by N.) from Cardigan, and 202 (W. by N.) from London, comprising the chapelry of Caron-Uwch-Clawdd, or Strata Florida, and containing 2282 inhabitants. This place is said to derive its name from being the burial-place of Caron, a Welsh king, who, from a low situation in life, raised himself, by his bravery and generous deportment, to the sovereignty, which he held for seven years ..."
[From Samuel Lewis's A Topographical Dictionary of Wales 1833]

Census

1891 census ; Tregaron, Gwnnws sub district , and , Tregaron, Llangeitho sub district ; searches  within  their Research Service from   Cardiganshire Family History Society

Church History

St Caron - photograph on Dyfed FHS TREGARON, St. Caron 1876-1878 - on the Church plans online site

Some church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,   Cardiff, 1976. The names are those of the informants

 

Parish entry from The Welsh Church Year Book, 1929 (Cd by Archive CD Books).

Evans, William. Saint Caron's Church, Tregaron .Tregaron : 196-?

Powell, S M.            The Vestry Book of Caron Lower.         Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society    Vol 11  1936   Welsh Journals Online

Church Records

See Notes on Church/Chapel Records page

Parish Register;
Baptisms 1653-1931. Marriages 1653-1979 [Banns 1830-1915]. Burials 1653-1937 NLW/Cer.RO
Copy ts PR M 1653-1837 with index  NLW/Cer.RO
Bishops Transcripts;
1678, 1680, 1700, 1811-17, 1828-9, 1831-9, 1841-66, 1869-79, 1882 NLW

See Bap/Mar/Bur data on FreeReg

Nonconformist Chapels;  see Chapels database

Description and Travel

Having difficulty in finding references to this parish ? It is referred to as "Caron" in early documents such as the Crosswood Deeds and all the census returns including 1891. It will be interesting to see how the parish is denoted in the 1901 census.It seems to be much later, possibly this century, when the whole parish became known as Tregaron, rather than just the town. The leather covers of the parish register have "Tregaron" inscribed on them as the church is, of course, in the town of Tregaron. The registers for the parish are listed under Tregaron in the NLW list of parish registers. Strata Florida/ Ystrad-fflur/Caron uwch clawdd parish records follow a similar pattern; older documents are under "Caron" or "Caron uwch clawdd". Extract from Cardiganshire FHS journal Vol 2-No 6, Oct 2000.

The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales., by Jones, I.G. & Williams, D.   UWP,   Cardiff, 1976.  These statistics for this parish or chapelry are extracted from this book which in turn got them from the 1851 census itself;

Places, villages, farms etc within Tregaron parish   as shown on the online parish map from the CD of Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. (Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.). (Extracted by Dewi Evans)

Description of the parish of Tregaron  from A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1833) by Samuel Lewis.

Descriptions of Townships in Tregaron parish  from Samuel Lewis's A Topographical Dictionary of Wales 1833

Tregaron - on Wikipedia

 

Davies, R Isgarn.     Old roads in the parish of Caron.  Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society    Vol 11  1936   Welsh Journals Online

Jones, Emrys.  Tregaron, a Welsh market town.    Geography, Vol XXXV

Jones, Ieuan Gwynedd.   The Tregaron of Henry Richard  (NLW's site)    Ceredigion XI

Powell, S.M. etc. Tregaron, Cardiganshire, Rural District. [With a map and illustrations.].London, 1949

Tregaron : the W.I. looks around it's town and country. Tregaron Women's Institute.Tregaron, 1984.The more recent  version published in 2000 is available for lookups on the Wales Lookup Exchange.

Return to top of page

Directories

Pigot & Co. South Wales Directory for 1844. Here are some Extracts relating to Tregaron

Kelly's Directory South Wales 1895

Genealogy

Unveiling of the Henry Richard monument, Tregaron, 1893   - on the People's Collection Wales site
"Henry Richard (1812-88) was born in Tregaron, Cardiganshire. He was a Nonconformist minister in London before being elected the Liberal Member of Parliament for Merthyr Tydfil in 1868................."

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Hart, Alan H. A Tregaron family with links to St Caron's Church and the Church of England. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 8/9 Aug 2005. The Rees family

Usoro, J M Mrs.  David Roderick Jones, Operatic Baritone (1910-1992). Cardiganshire FHS journal vol 3/8 June 2004. Born in Ferndale but 'from' Tregaron. Follow up article by Shirley Martin in vol 3/9 Oct 2004

Wilson, Delyth. The Hughes Family of Tregaron. Cardiganshire FHS journal, vol 3/4 Feb 2003. Features Richard/Anne Hughes of Pensarnhir and Pwllswyddog in Tregaron, married in Lampeter in 1818.

History

Jones, Ieuan Gwynedd. The Tregaron of Henry Richard[1812-1888] .In Ceredigion 11 (1990), p.147-69

Martin, Shirley A.  Sir Bulstrode Whitelocke , his connections with Hersham, Surrey and Tregaron, Cardiganshire, involving Sir Richard Pryse of Gogerddan, William Lilly and Carleton Whitelocke of Hersham, Surrey : Walton and Weybridge Local History Society,Year: 1996.

Meyrick, Sir Samuel Rush.(1783-1848) The History and Antiquities of the county of Cardigan. Collected from the few remaining documents which have escaped the ravages of time, as well as from actual observation. Longman: London ,1810. The history and antiquities of the County of Cardigan ... to which are now added a parliamentary history, list of High Sheriffs, some notes on the present county families, &c., &c. repr. Brecon: 1907. This 1907 print  has now been reprinted. The section relating to this parish is on pages 240/49; mentioned is Pentre Rhydfendigaid( also known as the village of Blessed Ford, partly in Gwnnws parish).

Morgan, M.E. Cipdrem ar Hanes Tregaron a'r Cylch . Llanbedr:  1910

Rees, Rev.D.C. Tregaron-Historical and Antiquarian. Llandyssul :1936. (includes extracts from the parish vestry book from 1786 to 1833; lists of incumbents, parish clerks & schoolmasters; a chapter called 'Ancient Families & Notabilities' with sections on the Shelby, Herbert, Powell & Stedman families; also a full list of subscribers.) Here  is a Contents listing and  other data

Rees, Rev D Caron.    'A reverie' among the upper reaches of Blaencaron, four miles from Tregaron       Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society    Vol 7  1930     Welsh Journals Online

Tregaron : taith drwy'r oesoedd [a journey through time]. Publisher [Tregaron] : Curiad Caron, [1995]

Land and Property

Held at Ceredigion Archives;

 

Martin, Shirley A. The Valuation Office Property Survey, 1910-1915 (also known as the Lloyd George Survey) for Tregaron and Strata Florida. Cardiganshire FHS journal, vol 4/3 Oct 2005

Language and Languages

Aitchison, J.W. Immigration and the Welsh language : a case study of Tregaron and its region[Mewnfudo a'r iaith Gymraeg ]Publisher Aberystwyth :University College of Wales, 1989.

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Names, Personal

Held at the NLW ;

Occupations

Colyer, Richard. Welsh Cattle Drovers in the Nineteenth Century - 1 National Library of Wales journal. 1972, Winter Volume XVII/4. Here is a short extract; - "On his return to Tregaron from England via Abergwesyn, Williams could see Tregaron from Cwmberwyn. The view inspired him to pen the following lines:
  'Mae Tregaron fach yn mwgu
 Nid oes fater ta hi'n llosgi
 Os bydd newydd drwg ar gerdded
 Yn Nhregaron cewch ei glywed'.

 [See D. L. Rees Tregaron, Historical and Antiquarian. Llandyssul 1936].."

Markey, Margaret.   In the footsteps of Tregaron drovers. In Country Quest 26/1 (1985), p. 32-3

Huws, Richard. Argraffwyr Tregaron (NLW's site)   Ceredigion: Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society. Vol. VIII, No. 2 (1977)

Poorhouses, Poor Law etc

Tregaron Workhouse - on Peter Higginbotham's site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Schools

Here is an extract from The Reports of the Commissioners appointed to enquire into the state of Education in Wales.1 847

Social Life and Customs

Jones, Emrys. 'Tregaron: the Sociology of a market town in Central Cardiganshire ', in Welsh Rural Communities, see below

Jenkins, David ; Jones, Emrys ; Hughes-Jones, T ; Owen, Trefor M.    Welsh Rural Communities. [Edited by  Davies, Elwyn and Rees, Alwyn]. Cardiff, UWP, 1960.
Edited description of this book from Cardiganshire FHS Journal Vol 2~No 6, Oct 2000.
" Four communities are described in this book, two of which are located within our area, namely Aberporth and Tregaron ........... In the second study, Emrys Jones describes everyday life in the market town of Tregaron. It begins with an useful map of the village showing its development during the years 1840 onwards. The town's population of 600 was divided into five well defined localities or 'neighbourhoods', each of which is described in this essay. The town's earliest phase of growth was linked to the cattle trade ; later the hosiery trade and wool manufacture were significant. During the third phase the town reverted to its basic function as a market .......... A sociological analysis illustrates the town's economic activity and the fields of education, religion and family and kindred make this essay essential reading for anyone with ancestors from this part of the country."

Societies

Cymdeithas Hanes Cylch Tregaron (Tregaron and District History Society)  - for details see Ceredigion Local History Forum

 

This page has been partly compiled from material previously published in their journal
by kind permission of Cardiganshire Family History Society

Return to top of page

[Gareth Hicks: 11 Dec 2012]

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

Copyright © GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.