We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

A Carmarthenshire Bibliography

Books of General Interest for Family Historians

It is acknowledged that the principal source of the details of books etc included  on these pages is the online catalogues of the National Library of Wales


Archives and Libraries

  • Beckley, S. The Carmarthenshire Record Office: a survey of archive holdings, Carmarthen, Dyfed County Council Archive Service (1980) 36 p.


  • Gibson, J.S.W. and Medlycott, M.T. Local Census Listings 1522-1930 (2nd ed.), Birmingham, Fed. of Fam. Hist. Soc. (1994) 52 pp. [ISBN 1-872094-75-9]. Extracted  are details of local censuses in Wales, listed by county

Church History

  • An Account of the Nonconformist Chapels in the Upper Cothi and Teifi valleys, 1751-1875. NLW Manuscript [LDS GS 829066].
  • Barrow, Julia. [Ed]. St Davids Episcopal Acta 1085-1280. South Wales Record Society, 1998. Contains the Latin text of all the charters known to have been issued by the bishops of St Davids down to the death of Richard de Carew in 1280, with English summaries and notes.
  • Carmarthenshire Baptists. The Carmarthenshire Antiquary. 1942, Vol i, Pt 2
  • Gray, Madeleine. The diocese of St Davids in 1563. Journal of Welsh Religious History 5 (1997), p. 29-56
  • Greenway, W. The Election of David Martin, Bishop of St David's, 1293-6 .Journal of the Historical Society of the Church in Wales Vol. X, No. 15 (1960)
  • Griffiths, G. Milwyn. A Visitation of the Archdeaconry of Carmarthen, 1710   National Library of Wales journal. 1974, Summer Vol XVIII/3
  • Jones, Francis. Departed glories of the Grey Friars. Carmarthenshire Historian 20 (1986), p. 65-71
  • Morgan, W T. Disciplinary Cases against Churchwardens in the Consistory Courts of St David's .Journal of the Historical Society of the Church in Wales Vol. X, No. 15 (1960)
  • Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The CMN section of these books (in Welsh) is being extracted - some with translations
  • Salter, Mike . The Old Parish Churches of South-West Wales. Malvern, 1994 .
  • Saunders, Erasmus. A view of the state of religion in the diocese of St.David's about the beginning of the 18th century : with some account of the causes of its decay,together with considerations of the reasonableness of augmenting the revenues of impropriate churches . Cardiff : University of Wales Press, 1721
  • The Episcopal Registers of the Diocese of St.Davids, 1397-1518 : from the original registers in the Diocesan Registry of Carmarthen.   London : The Honourable Society of Cymmrodorion, 1917. 3 v ; 25cm. Series title Cymmrodorion Record series ; No.6
  • The Welsh Church Year Book 1929. Published by The Representative Body of The Church in Wales. Cardiff, 1928. pp 624 including over 130 pages of biographies of clergy. A Cd containing a scanned copy of the book was published by Archives CD Books in 2002. With the permission of the latter part of the statistical data for parishes in the counties of Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire has been extracted onto those GENUKI parish pages. The Explanatory notes state that;
    • Where parishes have been grouped or divided then the acreage is unreliable, some town figures are not given.
    • Population figures are according to the 1921 census returns.

Church Records

  • Ifans, Dafydd [ed]. Cofrestri Anghydfurol Cymru/ Nonconformist Registers of Wales. Aberystwyth, 1994. This book includes Ordnance Survey references for listed chapels.
  • Jones, I.G. & Williams, D. The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales.   Cardiff, 1976
  • MacDonald, R W. The Parish Registers of Wales, National Library of Wales journal. 1976, Winter. Volume XIX/4
  • Rawlins, B.J. The Parish Churches and Nonconformist Chapels of Wales: Their Records and where to Find them, Vol. One, Cardigan - Carmarthen - Pembroke. P.O. Box 510652, Salt Lake City, UT 84151-0652, Celtic Heritage Research (1987). [Provides details of  [ but no personal names] parish registers at the National Library of Wales and at the Carmarthenshire Record Office, and very extensive details of the various types of nonconformist records, mainly held at the PRO or at the chapel concerned.This book has been used as a source of data of nonconformist records on the Genuki parish pages. Copies of this book can be purchased from Dyfed FHS
  • Williams, C.J. and Watts-Williams, J. Cofrestri Plwyf Cymru: Parish Registers of Wales (National Index of Parish Registers, Vol. 13).Aberystwyth: National Library of Wales, Second edition,2000. This book has been used as a source of data of parish records and bishop's transcripts on the Genuki parish pages

Correctional Institutions

  • Ireland, Richard W. Breay, Claire. Hard labour on a hard disk: Carmarthen's register of felons on computer. Carmarthenshire Antiquary 29 (1993), p. 61-6
  • Loxdale, Alasdair. May, Bruce. Transportation 1800 - a sequel 1996. Carmarthenshire Antiquary 32 (1996), p. 126-7

Court Records 

  • Foley, R. The Practice of the Court of Great Sessions for Carmarthen, Pembroke and Cardigan. 1792
  • James, David. Gleanings from consistory court records. Carmarthenshire Antiquary 28 (1992), p. 104-7
  • Pre-1858 Welsh probate jurisdictions.South Wales & Monmouthshire : a genealogical research guide to probate courts having jurisdiction in the counties of Brecon, Cardigan, Carmarthen, Glamorgan, Monmouth (England), Pembroke, and Radnor .Salt Lake City, Utah, U.S.A. : Genealogical Society of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Inc., 1970

Description and Travel

Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.

  • *Davies, A.T. Crwydro Sir Gâr, Llandebie, Llyfrau'r Dryw (1955) 320 p., ill., map.
  • Davies, Paul. A Company of Forts, A Guide to the Medieval Castles of West Wales. Published by Gomer, site intro; "As in the rest of Wales, the western counties of Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and Ceredigion abound with reminders of a turbulent medieval past, - magnificent castles which grace the landscape, their inherent menace only somewhat subdued by the passing years. Paul R. Davies provides us here with an introduction to the history which led to the building of the medieval castles, and then divides the fortresses into three types - motte and bailey sites, stone-built castles and fortified manor-houses. The text is lavishly illustrated with photographs and line-drawn reconstructions, which vividly show the range of castles, both large and small, in West Wales, from mighty Pembroke and Carreg Cennen to the fortified manor-houses of Green Castle and Eastington and the atmospheric mounds such as Pencader and Llangadog......."
  • Images of West Wales. Carmarthen Journal, 1999. Here is an index by Ruth Broad
  • Lewis, A.H.T. Carmarthenshire Highways of the Late Eighteenth Century, Carmarthenshire Antiquary, vol. 7, (1971) pp.41-47.
  • Lewis, Brian. The Amman Valley and District. A Photographic Portrait (1996). Here is an Index by Gareth Hicks
  • Lewis, T.H. Some Tourists in Carmarthenshire (1797-1847), Carmarthenshire Antiquary, vol. 3, no. 1, (1959) pp.102-104.
  • Richards, Alan            Great Walks in Carmarthenshire 2 (with notes of interest)      Published  2012
  • Victorian and Edwardian Wales from old photographs.Introduction and commentary by E D Jones. Batsford 1972. Here is a brief introduction and an index of the 154 photographs.


  • Kelly's Directory of South Wales  1884 ,1910 , 1920
  • Kelly's Directory of South Wales  1904.
  • Pigot's Directory of South Wales  1835 . A classified directory of Nobility, Gentry, Clergy, Merchants, Bankers, Professional Gentlemen, Manufacturers and Traders - Not a listing of all residents or households.
  • Pigot's Directories of North Wales, South Wales and Monmouthshire 1822-3
  • Slater's Directory of South Wales and Monmouthshire  1850
  • Slaters Directory of North and South Wales 1858-1859.
  • Worrall's Directory of South Wales : comprising the counties of Glamorgan Carmarthen, Pembroke, Cardigan, Brecknock and Radnor, with Newport, Monmouthshire. Oldham : John Worrall, 1875. [18],436,174p. Includes 178p of advertisements.Includes index.

Emigration and Immigration

  • Carter Knuth, Jill. REES of Ohio, USA . Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5/239 . How the relationship between Theophilus Thomas Rees and the Rev. Theophilus Rees, who both emigrated in 1796 from Carmarthenshire, was researched and confirmed.


Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.

  • Bridgeman, Rev. The Hon. George T. O. History of the Princes of South Wales. 1976 (Wigan) 310pp. + intro. 11 genealogical tables
  • Green , Francis [Ed] . West Wales Historical Records The Annual Magazine of the Historical Society of West Wales. c 1920 in 14 volumes.  Here is a listing of Contents
  • *Jones, Francis. Historic Carmarthenshire homes and their families. Dinas, Newport: Brawdy Books, 1997. xxxvi, 247p: ill, coats of arms, maps; 26cm. [ISBN 0952834413]
  • Lloyd, Howell A.  The Gentry of South-West Wales 1540-1640.   Cardiff, 1968
  • Phillips, Sir Thomas (ed.) Pedigrees of Caermarthenshire, Cardiganshire, and Pembrokeshire, in continuation of Lewis Dwnn [i.e. of the pedigrees recorded by him in his Heraldic Visitations], to about the years 1700-10, from the MS. of John P. A. L. Philipps, etc. Jacobus Rogers, Middle Hill (1859) pp. 4. 44. fol. [BM Tab.436.b.4.(3.)]
  • Theakston, Lucy E. Lloyd & Davies, John.   Some family records & pedigrees of the Lloyds of Allt yr Odyn, Castell Hywel, Ffos y Bleiddiaid, Gilfach Wen, Llan Llyr, Waun Ifor.Oxford: Fox, Jones & Co (1913). Counties - Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. Family names - Lloyd, Philipps, Allen Estates/properties - Allt yr Odyn, Castell Hywel, Ffos y Bleiddiaid, Gilfach  Wen, Llan Llyr, Waun Ifor, Llanfair Clydogau, Maes y Felin, Highmead, Pantstreimon.


Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.

  • Barnes, Tudor and Yates, Nigel (eds.) Carmarthenshire Studies: Essays presented to Major Francis Jones to mark his retirement as County Archivist. 1974 (Carmarthenshire C. C.) 266pp.16 plates. 18 figs. 14 maps. Main articles:
    • 'Recent Advances in the Archaeology of Roman Carmarthenshire' [John Little]
    • 'Carmarthenshire Records and their Custody' [Tudor Barnes]
    • 'Historical Domestic Architecture in Dyfed: an Outline' [Peter Smith]
    • 'The Carmarthenshire Possessions of Tylyllychau' [Melville Richards]
    • 'English Place-names in Laugharne' [Bertie Charles]
    • 'Carmarthen and the Reformation, 1536-58' [Glanmor Williams]
    • 'Pembrokeshire Gentry in the 18th Century' [David Howell]
    • 'Coedmore Forge, Llechryd' [Michael Evans]
    • 'Hugh William Jones ('Yr Utgorn Arian', 1802-73)' [Benjamin Owens]
    • 'The Parochial Impact of the Oxford Movement in South-West Wales' [Nigel Yates]
    • 'The Heraldry Society' [John Brooke-Little]
  • Cragoe, Matthew. The Golden Grove interest in Carmarthenshire politics, 1804-1821. Welsh History Review 16 (1993), p. 467-93
  • Cragoe, Matthew. Carmarthen county politics, 1804-37. Carmarthenshire Antiquary 30 (1994), p. 70-8
  • Davies, D J. The Economic History of South Wales prior to 1800, Cardiff, 1933
  • Davies, Roger W. Old Pembrokeshire & Carmarthenshire. Llandysul: Gomer, 1991. [130]p: ill, maps, ports; 20x23cm. [ISBN 0863837263]
  • *Davis, Paul.R. Historic West Wales.Christopher Davies, 1992. Another book about West Wales, covering Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. It is mainly a tour about 150 places such as prehistoric monuments, churches, castles,wells and old houses.
  • Green , Francis [Ed] . West Wales Historical Records The Annual Magazine of the Historical Society of West Wales. c 1920 in 14 volumes.  Here is a listing of Contents .
  • Griffiths, Ivor.(tr.) The History of the Gwendraeth Valley by Ap Huw 1873. Here is an Index by Elizabeth Rees.
  • Griffiths, Ivor. The Rebecca Riots. Journal of Dyfed FHS, Vol 5, no 2, Dec 1994, pp 60-68
  • Hughes, L. A Carmarthenshire anthology, Llandybie, C. Davies (1984) xxiii, 470 p.: p., ill., 1 map, ports.; [ISBN: 0715406434]
  • James, Terrence. Medieval Carmarthen and its burgesses: a study of town growth and burgess families in the later thirteenth century. Carmarthenshire Antiquary 25 (1989), p. 9-26
  • *John, A H. The Industrial Development of South Wales, 1750-1850. UWP, 1950
  • Mathews, A W [ed]. Carmarthenshire Taxation 1560-1, Eastern District. Trans Carmarthenshire Antiquarian Society, 7, 1911/12
  • Mathews, A W [ed]. Carmarthenshire Accounts of Poll Tax for 1689-90. Trans Carmarthenshire Antiquarian Society 6, 1910-11
  • Mee, A.E., (Ed.). Carmarthenshire Notes (Facsim. of 1889,1890,1891 editions), Dyfed County Council, Cultural Services Dept. (1997) 496 p.
  • Moore, D[ed]. The Land of Dyfed in Early Times. Cardiff, 1964.
  • Morgan, D. The Story of Carmarthenshire. Educational Publishing Co, Cardiff, nd. c 1910 ?.  240pp, 32 sepia photos, 3 maps. One of "Welsh County" series.
  • Morus, Cenydd. The Fates of the Princes of Dyfed.1914
  • *Prys-Jones, A.J. The Story of Carmarthenshire (2 vols), Llandybie, Christopher Davies (1959, 1972). Vol 1 contains the ancient and medieval history of the county, Vol 2 covers the period from the C16 to 1832.
  • Rebecca Riots .  Commissioners Report (1844) into the conditions in South Wales which contains a lot of background evidence and comment by Dyfed people. Backed by contemporary press extracts relating to the Rebecca Riots in the Llanelly, Llannon and Pontardulais areas. Indexed by witnesses.
  • Rees, David. Sir Rhys ap Thomas. Gomer, Llandysul. (0 86383 744 1). Gomer 2002 Catalogue;- "Sir Rhys ap Thomas (1449-1525) was one of the most interesting and influential men in Welsh history.............besides being an estate owner, an influential Crown servant and a warrior subject of the first two Tudor monarchs.....was also a leading bardic patron of his age.............whose fame lives on in the poetry of that turbulent era."
  • Rees, S. A Guide to Ancient and Historic Wales : Dyfed. HMSO/CADW, 1992. 241p. A guide to c 150 archaelogical sites in the counties of Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire.
  • Rowlands, J. Historical Notes of the Counties of Glamorgan, Carmarthen, & Cardigan, and a list of the Members of Parliament for South Wales, from Henry VIII, to Charles II., Cardiff, Hugh Bird (1866) 135 p. [BL 10109.t.51.]
  • Sir Gâr: studies in Carmarthenshire history: essays in memory of W. H. Morris and M. C. S. Evans. Carmarthen: Carmarthenshire Antiquarian Society, 1991. xi, 284p: ill; 25cm. [ISBN 0906972035 (pbk)].One of the articles from the book can be found on  the Kidwelly History site - Kidwelly Priory by Glanmor Williams
  • The Cambrian Journal   Volume 1 , 1854. Published under the auspices of the Cambrian Institute. London, Longmans & Co; Tenby, R Mason. Includes an extracted article styled 'The Industrial Capacities of South Wales'.

Land and Property

  • Cragoe, M. An Anglican aristocracy: the moral economy of the landed estate in Carmarthenshire, 1832-1895, Oxford, Clarendon Press (1996) x, 280 p. [ISBN: 0198205945]
  • Hassall, C. General view of the agriculture of the county of Carmarthen with observations on the means of its improvement, London, Printed by W. Smith (1794) [2], iii, 52 p. [ Microfilm ed. : Goldsmiths'-Kress library of economic literature; no. 15972 (1976)]
  • James, Brian Ll. The Great Landowners of Wales in 1873. National Library of Wales journal. 1966, Summer Volume XIV/3
  • Vincent, J E. The Land Question in South Wales. London, 1897

Language and Languages

Merchant Marine 

  • Campbell-Jones, Susan. Welsh Sail.Gomer 1976. Here is an index by Mary Jane Stephenson
  • Craig, R. Carmarthenshire Shipping in the 1840s, Carmarthenshire Antiquary, vol. 23, (1987) pp.13-18. Also Vol 21 page 49.
  • Evans, M.C.S. Carmarthen and the Welsh Port Books, 1550-1603, Carmarthenshire Antiquary, vol. 3, no. 1, (1959)
  • Heaton , P.M. Welsh Shipping - Forgotten Fleets  1989. Biographical details restricted mainly to owners & managers, and details of ships owned. Here is an index by David Webb . 
  • James, Terence. Shipping and the River Towy-Problems of Navigation. Carmarthenshire Antiquary Vol 22, p 27-27
  • Jenkins, David [principal author]. The Maritime Heritage of Dyfed . NLW: 1982
  • Matthews, M D.  Mercantile shipbuilding activity in south-west Wales, 1740-1829    (NLW's site)    Welsh History Review 19
  • The People of Dyfed and the sea. Dyfed FHS journal  Vol 6/4 Aug 1998. An extensive article, pp 134/142 describing resources available and several examples found at the various county Archives. Other headings include ; Steam Packets, Pembroke Dockyard and Pembrokeshire Lighthouse Keepers on the 1891 census.
  • Williams, M.I. Carmarthenshire's Maritime Trade in the 16th and 17th Centuries, Carmarthenshire Antiquary, vol. 14, (1978) pp.61-70.

Military History

  • Carmarthen Militia Men at Newcastle-on-Tyne (1805-12). Dyfed FHS journal Vol 5, no 2, Dec 1994, p 81/3.
  • Davies, Reginald[Dr]. Welshmen at the Battle of Trafalgar Was your ancestor a one legged survivor of the Battle ?. Part I. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5/5 Dec 1995. Concentrates on  the story of one man, James Davis of Pembroke.
  • Davies, Reginald[Dr]. Welshmen at the Battle of Trafalgar [21 Oct 1805]. Part II. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5/6 April 1996. The author refers to the index he has produced of all Welshman at the battle.
  • John, Steven. Carmarthen Pals. This book  covers the history of the 15th Battalion, Welsh Regiment during the Great War, which was raised as the Carmarthenshire Battalion of the Regiment. Published by Pen & Sword, 2009
  • Owen, Bryn. History of the Welsh militia and volunteer corps, 1757-1908   Wrexham, Clywd: Bridge Books, 1989. Vol 4, pt. 2. Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire & Cardiganshire
  • Retallack, John . The Welsh Guards Foreword by H R H The Prince if Wales.Published (1981) by Frederick Warne (Publishers) Ltd. London. Here is an index by Allen Powell .
  • Sinnett, R J M[Lt Col]. The Royal Welch Fusiliers at the Battle of Waterloo. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5/4 Aug 1995. Lists 50 names of soldiers who came from the 3 Dyfed counties.

Names, Geographical

  • Gameson, John. The Place Names of  Seventeenth Century Carmarthenshire. Dyfed FHS journal  Vol 5, no 4, Aug 1995, p 151-156

Names, Personal

  • Celtic Educational Ltd.  Welsh First Names for Children - Their meanings explained . 1978
  • Lloyd, Annie. Welsh Surnames and Given Names, 1996
  • Morgan, T J/Morgan, Prys. Welsh Surnames. UWP, 1985.


  • A Guide to Local Newspapers in Dyfed. Dyfed County Council Archives Department.


Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.

  • Colyer, Richard. The Welsh Cattle Drovers (1976). Here is a contents listing/introduction and  an Index by Catherine Davies-Shiel. Reissued in 2002 by Landmark Publishing Co, with  revision of some chapters, now p192.
  • Colyer, R. J. Moore.Further References to the Welsh Cattle Trade. National Library of Wales journal. Volume XXV/3 Summer, 1988. Extract of this article by Bill Griffith-Jones 2002  
  • Colyer, Richard. Welsh Cattle Drovers in the Nineteenth Century - 1   National Library of Wales journal. 1972, Winter Volume XVII/4
  • Colyer, Richard. Welsh Cattle Drovers in the Nineteenth Century - 2   National Library of Wales journal. 1974, Summer. Volume XVIII/3
  • Colyer, Richard. Welsh Cattle Drovers in the Nineteenth Century - 3 National Library of Wales journal. 1975, Summer. Volume XIX/1
  • Craig, Robert. R J Nevill and the Early Welsh Coal Trade - A Comment   National Library of Wales journal. Volume X/4 Winter 1958
  • Davies, Alun Eirug. Paper-Mills and Paper-Makers in Wales 1700-1900. , National Library of Wales journal. 1967, Summer Volume XV/1
  • Davies, J Ll. The Livestock Trade in West Wales in the C19th. Aberystwyth Studies, XIV, 1936, pp99 and 108
  • Evans, G. On the Farm a Century Ago. Carmarthenshire Historian, vol VIII, 1971, p72
  • Evans, M C S. The Pioneers of the Carmarthenshire Iron Industry, Carmarthenshire Historian, 1967
  • Hall, G W. Metal Mines of Southern Wales, Kington, 2nd. edn., published privately, 1993 - A detailed account of mining in the pre Carboniferous rocks of south Cardiganshire, Pembrokeshire, Carmarthenshire and Brecknockshire
  • Hassall, C. A General View of the Agriculture of Carmarthenshire. London, 1794.
  • Jenkins, D. The Agricultural Community in South-West Wales at the turn of the 20th Century. Cardiff, 1971
  • Joners-Davies, H. The History of the Agricultural Cooperative Movement in Carmarthenshire. The Carmarthenshire Antiquary, 1942, Vol i, Pt 2
  • Matthews, Ioan. Before the Federation: Trade Unionism in the anthracite coalfield c.1870-1898 Carmarthenshire Antiquary 32 (1996), p. 80-91
  • Morris, J H/Williams,L J. The South Wales Coal Industry 1841-1875. 1958.
  • Morris, J H & L J Williams. R J Nevill and the Early Welsh Coal Trade. National Library of Wales journal. 1957, Summer Volume X/1.
  • Thomas, S. The agricultural labour force in some south Carmarthenshire parishes in the mid-nineteenth century  (NLW's site)   The Welsh History Review, iii, no 1, 1966
  • *Toulson, Shirley/Forbes, Caroline. The Drovers' Road of Wales. II Pembrokeshire and the South. Whittet Books Ltd, 1992  This is the second book in the series and covers from the Englishry of Pembrokeshire around Angle and Castlemartin up through Carmarthenshire, across from Ceredigion through Gower into Glamorgan and over the Black Mountains into the Welsh Marches.
  • Tucker, Gordon and Mary. The Old Slate Industry of Pembrokeshire and Other Parts of South Wales. National Library of Wales journal. 1983, Winter. Volume XXIII/2. Extract by Bill Griffith-Jones
  • Williams, D J. The Old Farmhouse 1961.Describes life on a farm in Carmarthernshire in the C19. Translation of Hen Dy Ffarm. 1953 (Llandyssul) .189pp.
  • Williams, James . Give Me Yesterday. 3rd imp. 1972 (Gomer Press, 1st pub. Nov. 1971) 154pp. reminiscences of the author's life during childhood and youth on the family farm in remote part of West Wales around the turn of last century (1900).
  • *Williams, D Trevor. The Economic Development of Swansea and of the Swansea District to 1921.University College of Swansea Pamphlet 4. 1940.There is coverage of the  coal mining and smelting industries  in south east Carmarthenshire e.g lists /details of the various works. There is a substantial extract on Not everyone knows this..


Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.

  • *The Carmarthenshire Antiquary, Carmarthen, The Carmarthenshire Antiquarian Society. (1905-1977). [Originally called Transactions of the Carmarthenshire Antiquarian Society and Field Club]
  • *The Carmarthenshire Historian: journal of the Local History Committee, Carmarthenshire Community Council, Dark Gate Chambers, Carmarthen, Dyfed Rural Council (1961-)

Politics and Government

Public Records

  • Daniel-Tyssen, J R. Royal Charters and historical documents relating to the town and county of Carmarthen and the abbeys of Talley and Tygwyn-ar-Daf. Spurrell, 1878

Religion and Religious Life

Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.

  • *Barnes, David Russell. People of Seion: patterns of nonconformity in Cardiganshire and Carmarthenshire in the century preceding the Religious Census of 1851. [Cardiff]: David Russell Barnes, 1995. 186p: ill, maps; 21cm. ISBN 1859022715 (pbk)].
  • Himbury, D.M. Churches in fellowship: a short history of the English Baptist Associations in South Wales, Priory Press (1960) 27, [1] p.
  • Jenkins, R T. The Moravian Brethren in Carmarthenshire. Journal of the Calvinistic Methodist Church History Society, XXI/2 June 1936
  • Jones, David. Hanes y Bedyddwyr yn Neheubarth Cymru [History of the Baptists in South Wales].Carmarthen, 1839 [ LDS GS 994005]
  • Morris, James.[Rev] . Hanes Methodistiaeth Sir Gaerfyrddin [The History of the Methodists in Carmarthenshire] Published 1911. Translated by Ivor Griffiths, 1994,  244p. Contains a huge amount of information on ministers and chapels. The translation by Ivor Griffiths is available for purchase, see Gareth's Help Page. Here is a list of names in the book compiled by Pat Powell
  • Randall, Alan. Recusancy in Carmarthenshire. Carmarthenshire Antiquary 33 (1997), p. 55-87


Social Life and Customs

Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.

  • Brazell, J. Phyllis. Some remembrances of a Victorian childhood. Carmarthenshire Antiquary 28 (1992), p. 113-16
  • Brennan, T et al. Social Change in South-West Wales. (First half of C20th). 1954, p200.
  • Davies, J C. The Folklore of West and Mid Wales. 1911
  • Davies, John (Archivist). In Sickness and in Health. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 8/9 Aug 2005. Medical advertisements in the Carmarthen Journal
  • Davies, R. Secret Sins - Sex, Violence and Society in Carmarthenshire 1870-1920, University of Wales Press (1996) 327 p. [ISBN 0-7083-1367-1, CAM 1998.9.1315]. Here is an Index by Angela Davies and a contents listing/introduction
  • *Grenfell-Hill, Jeffrey . Growing up in Wales 1895 - 1939. Gomer Press, Llandysul. ISBN: 1 85902 349 5
  • Griffiths, M. Shades of green (new ed.), Broad Haven, Moira Hoffman (1992) 82 p., ill.; [ISBN: 095166882X (pbk)]
  • Howell, David W. Patriarchs & Parasites: The Gentry of South-West Wales in the 18th Century. 1986 (Cardiff: University of Wales Press) ix + 310pp. inc. appendixes, bibliography, notes and index. 2 maps - 1 foldout. the area covered is Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. an examination of the fortunes and character of the ruling class but much else besides.
  • Hughes, Lynn. A Carmarthenshire Anthology. Dinefwr Publishers, Llandybie, 2002. ISBN 1 904323 02 2. A new and revised edition ---first published by Christopher Davies in 1984 with a foreword by Francis Jones. 444 pages with black and white photographs and drawings. Headings include: the land and early people, some legends and customs, saints and sinners, heroes and the crachach, characters, ancient monuments, holy places, houses, war, work, play, everyday life, wildlife, husbandry, rivers, lakes, estuary, coast.
  • Jones, David J V. Crime and Policing in the Twentieth Century (The South Wales Experience). UWP
  • Jones, Evan D. A File of Rebecca Papers. The Carmarthenshire Antiquary, 1943/4, Vol i, Pts 3 & 4.
  • *Jones, Francis [Major]. Journal of a Young Lady of Fashion. Taken from four journals of the Carmarthen Historian(1865 - 1872) written by Agnes Hermione Jennings of Gellideg and preserved in the Carmarthenshire Records Office.
  • G Penrhyn Jones, Cholera in Wales. National Library of Wales journal Vol X/3 Summer 1958.
  • Jones, T Gwyn.  Rebeccasium - Bibliography. The Carmarthenshire Antiquary, 1943/4, Vol i, Pts 3 & 4.
    And from same source Rebecca Notes by multiple authors; --- D G Griffiths, T Gwyn Jones, Ieuan Phillips, George Roblings, Dr J W W Stephens
  • Lewis , D . Pobl Wrth Eu Gwaith/People at Work . Llandysul 1987. Here  is an index by Jill Smith
  • Lloyd, H A. The Gentry of South-West Wales 1540-1640. Cardiff, 1968
  • Lewis, T H. The Rebecca Movement in Carmarthenshire:  Its Social and Economic Background. The Carmarthenshire Antiquary, 1943/4, Vol i, Pts 3 & 4
  • Parry-Jones, D. A Welsh Country Upbringing. 1948 (Batsford) 139pp. + index. 88 b/w photo. illus. frontispiece in colour. views of Cards./Carms. border in early years 20th cent.
  • Peate, Iorwerth C. The Welsh House A Study in Folk Culture First published in 1940, reprinted by Llanerch Publishers, Felinfach in 2000. ISBN 1 86143 112 0. Here is a review and  a listing of Contents, Illustrations, Figures and houses/sites mentioned, from the 1940 edition.
  • Price, Cecil. Some Welsh Theatres, 1844 - 1870, National Library of Wales journal. 1961, Winter Volume XII/2. The towns featured are; Aberystwyth, Abergavenny, Brecon, Carmarthen, Merthyr, Monmouth, Newport, Tredegar and Wrexham.
  • Scourfield , Elfyn . Welsh Rural Life in Photographs. Barry, 1979. Here is an index by Jill Smith
  • Vaughan, H M. The South Wales Squires. London, 1926



(Gareth Hicks:  updated  7 Oct 2013)