We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


"LLANEGWAD (LLAN-EGWAD), a parish, in the union of Llandilo-Vawr, partly in the lower division of the hundred of CATHINOG, and partly in the higher division of that of ELVET, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 7 1/2 miles (W. by S.) from Llandilo-Vawr; containing 2113 inhabitants. This parish derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Egwad, who is said to have lived here in seclusion and devotional retirement, probably near the spot still called "Eisteddva Egwad," where are the ruins of an ancient and very extensive mansion. The parish extends for nearly seven miles from north to south, and about four from east to west, and is intersected by the river Cothy, which falls into the Towy at this place. The lands, which with the exception of a very small portion, are inclosed, are fertile, and in a good state of cultivation; and the village is pleasantly situated. Search was made by N.B. Jones, Esq., within the last few years, for copper-ore, of which a vein was discovered, but it dipped so considerably below the bed of the river as to render the working of it altogether impracticable. . . There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Welsh and Wesleyan Methodists. . . A day school, containing 50 boys and 20 girls, is partly supported by endowment, and partly by voluntary contributions . . ." [From A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (S. Lewis, 1844).]


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llanegwad area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Some church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,   Cardiff, 1976. The names are those of the informants

  • Llanegwad, an ancient Parish Church of the Norman Gothic style & rebuilt on the same foundations & in the same style, 1849    Situated in the Hamlet of Egwad         ".....There are three Schools in different Parts of the Parish in connection with the Established Church"         Eleazer Evans, Vicar
  • Horeb Chapel, Hamlet of Miros    Ind      Erected in 1830       "The attendance on March 30th was much less than usual owing to the Inclemency of the weather"            John Richards, Deacon, Penrhiwgale, Llanegwad. At the King's Arms, Carmarthen
  • Pont Yr Ynyswen chapel, Lechgron Hamlet    CM          Rich. Thomas, Steward, Waingranod, Llanegwad
  • Cwmbran    WM       Erected in 1812                   Joseph Jones, Wesleyan Minister
  • Siloam    Independent Society Dissenting Party        Erected in 1826       David Williams, Daecon (sic), Llwchgwyn

Griffiths, G. Milwyn. A Visitation of the Archdeaconry of Carmarthen, 1710   National Library of Wales journal. 1974, Summer Vol XVIII/3. Includes the parish of Llan Egwod

Parish entry from The Welsh Church Year Book, 1929 (Cd by (Archive CD Books)).

  • St Egwad
  • &
  • Holy Trinity, Alltyferin
  • &
  • St John's, Felingwm
  • Incumbent and Curates; E L Hamer (D A E Jones)
  • Rural Deanery of  Llandilo
  • Acreage 12,454 ; Population 1,236

Church Records

Dyfed FHS have photographs and data relating to various churches and chapels on their site

Parish registers: Christenings (1701-1901), Marriages (1701-1953), Banns (1849-1976) and Marriages for Alltyferin (1900-70) and St. John (1901-70), Burials (1701-1905), and are at the National Library of Wales with Mf copies [except Banns] at Carm.RO

Copy ts PR index C (1813-1901) M (1701-1913) Banns (1849-1945) Alltyferin (1900-70) St John (1901-70)  B (1813-1905) at NLW and Carm.RO

Bishops' Transcripts, covering the period (1679, 1681-2, 1686-7, 1690, 1701-3, 1707, 1716-20, 1725-31, 1733-62, 1764-91, 1793-1800, 1802-81) are at the National Library of Wales, and have been microfilmed by the LDS.

Marriage index for this parish - see Dyfed Marriages, 1813-1837, Vol. 17 - Cathinog Hundred (Dyfed Family History Society, c1989)

See Bap/Mar/Bur data on FreeReg

Nonconformist Chapels:

  • Capel Elim (Baptist, c1815), Felingwm isaf                   On Dyfed FHS
  • Pont-yr-ynyswen (Calvinistic Methodist, bef 1809), Pontynyswen        Births and baptisms (1820-37) PRO RG4/3814, LDS 828108, IGI               SN52992501    Built 1808; rebuilt/modified 1856 & 1897.    Still open 2000          Coflein    
  • Nantgaredig (Calvinistic Methodist, bef 1750?), Nantgaredig (south west border of parish)              Births and baptisms (1810-37) PRO RG4/3814, LDS 828108, IGI                  SN49352177   Built in 1760 or 1765, rebuilt 1817; restored 1893 and 1988             Coflein                        Nantgaredig CM chapel - still open in 2006 
  • Horeb (Independent, 1830), Felingwm / Meiros        Records with those for Pantteg (Abergwili) and Capel Isaac (Llandeilo Fawr)        SN51412776   Built 1830 & [re]built 1853, renovated 1891 Coflein          Horeb Ind chapel, Felingwm shown as still open on the Union of Welsh Independents site (Dec 2006)
    Rees, Thomas & John Thomas.   Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches),4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for this chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation by Gareth Hicks (Nov 2008)
  • Siloam (Independent, 1822), Pont-ar-gothi                   On Dyfed FHS                Siloam Ind chapel, Pontargothi shown as still open on the Union of Welsh Independents site (Dec 2006)
    Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for this chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation by Gareth Hicks (Nov 2008)
  • Mynydd bach/Mynydd-llech (Wesleyan Methodist, c1806), near Court Henry                    Attendance and subscriptions (c1830-90) NLW Ms 680A; and records with those of Wesleyan Chapel (Llandeilo Fawr)              SN55162379     Built 1812/3; rebuilt/modified 1832 & 1859.            Closed 1969          Coflein  

Parish Church photograph and basic information from Dyfed FHS.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanegwad which are provided by:

The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales., byJones, I.G. & Williams, D.   UWP,   Cardiff, 1976.  These statistics for this parish are extracted from this book which in turn got them from the 1851 census itself;

  • Area 12330 acres; Population 945 males, 1063 females, total 2008

Places, villages, farms etc within Llanegwad  as shown on the online parish map from the CD of   Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. (Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.). (Extracted by Gareth Hicks)

  • Llanegwad (32); Aber Cothi; Afon Cothi; Afon Pib; Allt-goleu; Allt-y-ferin; Allt-y-ferin Fm.; Banc y Daren; Blaen-nant-y-mab; Bryn-Dawe; Bryn-melyn; Byrgwm-mawr; Cerbynau; Cloidach (river); Coed-saithpren; Cwm-twrch; Daren-fawr; Dol gafros; Dol-werdd; Eisteddfa Egwad; Felin-gwm-isaf; Felin-gwm-uchaf; Feren; Ffos-y-gaseg; Glan-carw; Glan-Cothi; Glan-rhyd; Glan Towy; Godor; Hafod; Hafod-y-grugyn; Kincoed; Lan; Llain-dderwen-lwyd; Llandilo-yr-ynys; Llanegwad (village); Llwyn fortune; Llwyn-gwyn; Llwyn-Walter; Maes-gwyn; Maes-y-pant; Mill; Nantgaredig (village); Nantgaredig Sta.; Nant-y-mab-isaf; Nant-y-paen; Pan-teg; Parc-Henri; Penllwyni; Pen rhiw Goleu; Pen rhiwiau; Pen y Cnap; Pen-y-goyallt; Pont ar Gothi; Pwll; River Towy; Tannerdy; The Grove; Tir-bach; Twyn; Ty-coch; Ty llwyd; Ty picca; Waun-garanod; Wern-ddu; Ynys-rhyd; Ynys-wen; Yspytty Evan; Ystrad; Ystrad Wrallt;


Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Daniel Jones, farmer, records      "Deeds relating to Manor of Widigada, and to Cefn, Llanegwad, 1825,1894; letters in Welsh from America, 1838-1875; miscellaneous bills, receipts; auction book of Ffoesygareg Acution, 1867 and other items, 1857-1917; diaries of Daniel Jones, 1883-1904, and musical scores, [mid 19th century], of Daniel Jones; and farming accounts, 1872-1913."

The Baths of Alltyferin, origin, estate, mansion etc

Reader, Jean. DAVIES of Llanegwad. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 7/30.  A copy of an old newspaper obituary, a 1906 letter, and a photograph of a young soldier, led to the discovery of more than one Davies ancestor.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanegwad has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Brunker. John   Llanegwad. John Brunker was the Headmaster at Llanegwad School, and a member of the Carmarthenshire Antiquarian Society. His great interest in the parish led him in 1937 to publish Brunker's Llanegwad. See the Llanegwad site link above for more details.

Lloyd, Sir John E., (Ed.). A History of Carmarthenshire (2 vols.), Cardiff, London Carmarthenshire Society (1935, 1939). Extracts from this book can be accessed on some parish pages, see here for this parish

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Court Henry estate, records      "Deeds of the Court Henry estate, mainly in Llangathen and Llanegwad, Carmarthenshire, 1770-1905"  
  • Glyneiddan [Llanegwad] estate, papers  "Deeds and documents relating to Glyneiddan, Nantgaredig, and other premises in Carmarthenshire, 1785-1955, and papers of Henry Jones-Davies, relating to local government in Carmarthenshire, 1895-1950; and to agriculture, 1910-1945, especially to agricultural co-operatives in Wales."

Documents at the National Library of Wales:

  • Deeds and documents relating to Glyneiddan, Nantgaredig, Carmarthenshire, and elsewhere in the county, C18-C20, and papers of Henry Jones-Davies (1870-1955) relating to local government and agriculture in the area.


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SN519215 (Lat/Lon: 51.872316, -4.152710), Llanegwad which are provided by:

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Llanegwad Parish Council Records 1845-1846

Held at Carmarthen Archives;

  • Llanegward records including; vestry books 1704-89, poor rate book 1847-48, Charity  books 1848-1959, copies from parish registers C18.

[Gareth Hicks: 12 Sept 2013]