We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

A Denbighshire Bibliography - Books of General Interest for Family Historians

 

                          It is acknowledged that one of the principal sources of the details of books etc included  on these pages is the online catalogues of the National Library of Wales

Biography

  • Eminent Welshmen of Denbighshire: by a 'Cambrian'    Carnarvon 1875/6
  • Hughes, H Ellis.  Eminent Men  of Denbighshire   Liverpool 1946

Church History

  • Deoniaethau gwlad Dinbych a Dyffryn Clwyd      The Church in Wales        2001
  • Evans, J Wyn    The early church in Denbighshire      Denbighshire Historical Society  35 (1986),
  • Lloyd-Williams & Underwood.  The architectural antiquities and village churches of Denbighshire   (facs)  Mold 1998
  • The village churches of Denbighshire illustrated by perspective geometrical and detail drawings    Denbigh  1872

Church Records

  • Handlist of Chapel Registers, Clwyd Record Office, 1993, 19p.
  • Veysey, A J. Guide to the Parish Records of Clwyd, Clwyd County Council, 1984, 123p.  ISBN 0-905349-98-9   This is the standard guide to Denbighshire's parish registers and other parish records. The former Clwyd Record Office has from time to time published "update" leaflets.

Court Records

  • Ellis, Bryn.   Denbighshire Quarter Sessions rolls in the eighteenth century, 1.    Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 50 (2001)        
  • Ellis, Bryn.   Denbighshire Quarter Sessions rolls in the eighteenth century. 2. 1751-1800: roads, bridges and public buildings       Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 51 (2002)
  • Veysey, A G. (ed)  A Handlist of the Denbighshire Quarter Session Records       Hawarden 1991

Description and Travel

  • Beazley, Elisabeth et al.  North Wales   Faber 1971
  • Bingley, W.  North Wales   Ruthin 1998
  • Cathrall, William.  A Guide through North Wales    London 1860
  • Evans, J.  A topographical and historical description of the counties of Carnarvon and Denbigh   London 1810
  • Jennett, Sean   North Wales   London 1972
  • Jones, Frank Price.  Crwydro Gorllewin Dinbych    Llandybie 1969
  • Matthews, E Gwynn.  Sir Ddinbych     Llanrwst 2001        
  • Roberts, Dewi.  The old villages of Denbighshire and Flintshire     Llanrwst : Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 1999.
  • Sir Ddinbych   Ruthin 2001
  • Sketches of some parts of Denbighshire and Flintshire  by M. L. L. ?    Liverpool : Printed by J. Tomlinson, Wapping, 1831        
  • Thompson, Peter.  Conwy, Denbighshire and Flintshire     Salisbury : Frith, 2005.

Directories

  • Davies, William.   Handbook for the Vale of Clwyd       facs ed 1988
  • Fraser, Maxwell.  Denbighshire Official County Handbook    London 1957
  • Porter, Frank.  Postal Directory of Flintshire and Denbighshire    Liverpool 1886
  • The Official County Handbook of Denbighshire   Glos 1972

Emigration and Immigration

  • Williams, John.   The Denbighshire Society in London  Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), 42 (1993)

Genealogy

  • Castledine, David,  Denbighshire constabulary records as sources for family history     Hel Achau 63   2000
  • Pink, William Duncombe.  Notes on the Middleton Family of Denbighshire & London    Chester 1891

History

  • Barrell, A D M. A settler community in post conquest rural Wales: the English of Dyffryn Clwyd, 1294-1399  Welsh History Review 17        Welsh Journals Online  
  • Evans, E. D.   The crown lordships of Denbighshire.      Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. (2001)
  • Gale, Fiona.   Archaeology of Denbighshire   Denbigh and its past 14   1999          
  • Gardner, J.   The Justices of the Peace and the repair and maintenance of bridges and highways in Denbighshire in the 17th century     Cambrian law review, No. 16 (1985)
  • Grose, Francis.  The antiquities of the county of Denbighshire       London 1849
  • Jones-Mortimer, H M C. A list of the names and residences of all the High Sheriffs of the county of Denbigh, from 1541 to 1970   Mold 1971(facs?)     & Wrexham 1860 by E Parry
  • Lynch, Frances.  The bronze age in Denbighshire     Denbigh and its past 8 (1993)         
  • Lynch, Frances.  Prehistoric funerary and ritual sites in Denbighshire and east Conwy       Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 51 (2002)
  • Morris, D Gwynne. The postal history of Denbighshire with special reference to Ruthin    Ruthin 1995
  • Notes and catalogue for the Flintshire and Denbighshire Historical Exhibition         1902?
  • The Story of Denbighshire through its Castles         Den. Educ. Comm. 1952
  • Williams, A H.  The early history of Denbighshire      Cardiff 1950
  • Williams, John.  The medieval history of Denbighshire, illustrated with many gems of Welsh medieval poetry never before published.  vol 1  Wrexham 1860  
  • Williams, Rowland      Capital offences in Denbighshire, 1801-18    Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 30 (Spring 1993)

Land and Property

  • Hubbard, Edward.  Clwyd: the buildings of Wales vol 2    1986
  • Palmer, Alfred N.  A history of ancient tenures of land in the marches of North Wales   Wrexham 1885

Military History

  • Freeman, B F M et al.   Historical records of the Denbighshire Hussars Imperial Yeomanry from their formation in 1795 till 1906   Wrexham 1909
  • Tucker, N.  Denbighshire Officers in the Civil War  Colwyn Bay  1964          
  • Williams, David.   The experiences of a Denbighshire yeomanry officer as a prisoner of war      Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 52 (2003)

Names, Geographical

  • Williams, Ifor        Rhai enwau lleoedd yn Ninbych         Journal of the Welsh Bibliographical Society  vol 5/5 1941              Welsh Journals Online

Occupations

  • Burt, Roger et al (eds)   Mines of Flintshire and Denbighshire   Exeter 1992
  • Connolly, Andrew      Life in the Victorian brickyards of Flintshire and Denbighshire         Llanrwst : Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 2003.
  • Ellis, Bryn.  Limestone quarrying in north east Wales before 1900    (NLW's site)   Welsh History Review 18
  • Francis, B.   Three notable lawyers of Denbighshire     Denbigh and its past 10 (1995)
  • Griffiths, Eric.   Denbighshire coalminers and their agent during the Great War, 1914-18     Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 50 (2001)
  • Jones, Philip Henry.  Two Denbighshire publishers  Denbigh and its past 8 (1993)
  • Lerry, G G.   The collieries of Denbighshire -  past and present  2nd ed by Ifor Edwards  Wrexham 1969

Politics and Government

Religion and Religious Life

  • Kennedy, Thomas.   Roman Catholic recusancy in Denbighshire      Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), 42 (1993)
  • Rogers, Graham.  The religious and social life of former days in the Vale of Clwyd   Wrexham  c 1986
  • The statistics of the nonconformist churches, county of Denbigh, for the year ending Dec 31st 1905.   Welsh Church Commission   1906?

Schools

  • Dodd, P C Llywarch.   A report on a language and cultural survey of schools in Denbighshire   Ruthin 1950          
  • Seaborne, Malcolm.     Day schools and Sunday schools in mid-nineteenth-century Denbighshire     Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), 39 (1990),       

Social Life and Customs

  • A short history of the Flint & Denbigh Hunt         London 1953
  • Cartrefi a chelfi y bonedd yn siroedd Dinbych a 'r Fflint, 1540-1640     Cof Cenedl  17   2002          
  • Gorst, Heather.    Wartime in rural Denbighshire   Country Quest 27/3 (1986)                
  • Masters, Ray.   Social conditions in Denbighshire and Flintshire in the 1840s       Hel achau, No. 85 (July 2005)
  • Matthews,  E. Gwynn.  Denbighshire's democratic druids     Denbigh and its past 8 (1994)
  • Powell, Nia M. W.  Crime and community in Denbighshire during the 1590s      Class, community and culture in Tudor Wales, edited by J. Gwynfor Jones (1989)
  • Rules and regulations for the government of the Denbighshire General Dispensary and Asylum for the Recovery of Health        Denbigh 1833
  • Williams, Owen. Awduron Sir Ddinbych a'u gweithiau   (Denbighshire authors and their works)   Wrexham 1937

Societies

  • Castledine,  David C.   The origins of the Denbighshire Historical Society     Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 50 (2001),