"It is at Brynmaen that the old parishes of Llandrillo, Colwyn and Llansantffraid converge, and of the extremeties of these parishes there has been formed, with the approval of the Bishop and of the interested clergy, the new parish of Brynmaen. ..... The charming prospect includes a splendid view of a broad expanse of the Irish Sea, with the picturesque islands of Anglesea and Puffin on the one hand and the town of Rhyl with its background of mountains on the other. In the mid-distance are Conway and its magnificent fortress, Great Orme's Head, Sychnant Pass and its Fairy Glen, as well as many other of those places of pictorial interest which attract and delight so many thousands of visitors to this district every year."
[From Colwyn Bay Weekly News, 29 September 1899]
The new parish of Bryn-y-Maen was officially created by an Order in Council, on 15 May 1900. According to Archdeacon Thomas, it comprises parts of the parishes of Colwyn; Colwyn Bay; Llanelian, and Llansanffraid Glan Conwy.
In 1937, part of the township of Mochdre, from the parish of Llandrillo yn Rhos, was added to Bryn-y-Maen.