Denbighshire
Contents
Cerrig-y-Drudion
"A parish in the Union of Corwen, hundred of Isaled, ten miles (WNW) from Corwen on the old Holyhead road. ..... The parish contains about twenty thousand acres, including a large tract of dreary mountain and moorland. ..... The breeding of cattle and sheep, the diggging of peat for fuel, the spinning of wollen yarn, and the knitting of stockings form the principal occupations of the inhabitants. The neighbourhood abounds with good grazing land, a great portion of which is let by the proprietors to the Anglesey dealers, for the pasturage of cattle, on their way from that isle to the midland counties of England."
[
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]
This very extensive parish comprises the townships of Clust y blaidd, Cwmpenanner (or Tre'r Cwm), Hafod-y-maidd (or Tre-hafod-y-maidd), Llaethwryd, Trebrys Uchaf, Tre'rfoel, Tre'r Geifr, Tre'rllan, and Tre'r Abad Uchaf (also known as Tir yr abad Uchaf, Rhwyng Brenig ac Alwen, or Tre tu hwnt i Alwen).
- Atkinson, Marian. John Jones of Cerrigydrudion and Llangwm
Hel achau, No. 82 (October 2004), p. 14-15.
- Baron Price of Cerrigydrudion.
Hel achau, No. 103 (Rhagfyr / December 2009), p. 7-11
- Brush, Sally. Law and order in Cerrigydrudion in the 18th century
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 51 (Autumn 2003), p. 27-28
- Brush, Sally (Canon).
Cerrigydrudion 1661-1812 Thesis (Ph.D.) -- Aberystwyth University, 2008.
- Brush, Sally. The restoration of the plaque on the Baron Price Almshouses, Cerrigydrudion
Hel achau, No. 98 (September 2008), p. 39-41.
- Brush, Sally. Cerrigydrudion in the eighteenth century
Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 57 (2009), p. 40-49
- Canrif Capel Jerusalem Cerrigydrudion Cerrigydrudion : Jerusalem, Eglwys Bresbyteraidd Cymru, 2000.
- Stagg, Richard. The Ruthin and Cerrigydrudion Railway
Welsh railways archive. Vol. IV, no. 10 (November 2009), p. 231-238.
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SH 953487.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Mary Magdalene, is believed to have been founded as early as AD 440. It was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. It was repaired and enlarged in 1503, and restored in 1874.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Cerrig-y-Drudion :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Cefn Brith |
Calvinistic Methodists |
255 |
| Jerusalem |
Calvinistic Methodists |
224 |
| Ty Mawr, Cwmpenaner |
Calvinistic Methodists |
117 |
| Moriah |
Congregationalists |
50 |
| Pentrellyncymmer |
Congregationalists |
85 |
| Seion |
Wesleyans |
130 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1590 - 1988 |
1591 - 1970 |
1590 - 1988 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1590 - 1846 |
1591 - 1812 |
1590 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1665 - 1840 |
1665 - 1840 |
I.G.I.
- There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Mary Magdalene, Cerrig-y-drudion.
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Cerrig-y-Drudion was assigned to the No. 1 ("Gwyddelwern") sub-district of the Corwen Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Corwen poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Cerrig-y-Drudion are in the format :
- Years 1837 - 1851: Corwen XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1851 - 1930: Corwen 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Cerrig-y-Drudion - on wikipedia
Cerrig-y-Drudion - on the geograph site
Cerrigydrudion - on the Welsh Icons site
Cerrigydrudion - village site
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
On Clwyd
FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links
to pages for the parish church
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Population
- In 1831- the population was 1006.
- In 1901- the population was 1079.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
- Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 14,194 acres.
[
The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 9 Jan 2013 - Gareth Hicks