Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Cyffylliog or Y Gyffylliog

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Cyffylliog or Y Gyffylliog

"A parish in the Union and hundred of Ruthin, county of Denbigh. ..... It is situated in the southern portion of the county, and is intersected by several small streams, which, rising in the circumjacent hills, unite within the parish, and, flowing in a north-easterly direction, fall into the river Clwyd. It comprises a moderate extent of arable and pasture land in a good state of cultivation." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

Cyffylliog was a chapel of ease to Llanynys until 26 January 1874, when it was established as a separate parish, comprising the townships of Bontuchel, Trefor (or Cefntrefor), Treganol (or Fachlwyd), Ffiddoedd and Tre'r Parc; which until then had been in the parish of Llanynys.
To all intents and purposes, Cyffylliog had already functioned as a separate parish for many years.
In 1878, a further 2007 acres were added to Cyffylliog from the parish of Llanrhaeadr yng Nghinmeirch.

topup

Bibliography

  • Williams, David.  The high life ... in Cyffylliog?    Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 40 (Spring 1998), p. 22-27
topup

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Cyffylliog, Capel Salem

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 059578.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Mary, is believed to date from the late twelfth century. The present building was erected in the fifteenth century; and was restored in 1876 and 1904.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site

  • Bontuchel Chapel (CM) group, Y Gyffylliog 
  • Inn and chapel, Bontuchel, Y Gyffylliog 
  • Church, Y Gyffylliog
  • Minister and deacons, Bontuchel Chapel (CM), Y Gyffylliog

 

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Cyffylliog :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Bontuchel Calvinistic Methodists 168
Cyffylliog Calvinistic Methodists 261
Hiraethog Calvinistic Methodists 63
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1617 - 1851 1617 - 1967 1617 - 1953
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1617 - 1812 1617 - 1812 1617 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1663 - 1861 1663 - 1861

I.G.I.

  • The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
    They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
Baptisms Marriages
1796 - 1800
1813 - 1861
None
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Cyffylliog was assigned to the No. 4 ("Gyffylliog") sub-district of the Ruthin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Ruthin poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Cyffylliog are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Ruthin XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Ruthin 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Cyffylliog or Y Gyffylliog which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cyffylliog or Y Gyffylliog to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Cyffylliog or Y Gyffylliog has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Occupations

Margaret Evans and her spinning wheel, Cyffylliog, near Ruthin, c. 1885 on the People's Collection Wales site

topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 636.
  • In 1901- the population was 484.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Schools

The pupils of Cyffylliog School with their teacher (1897) -  on the People's Collection Wales site

topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 10,187 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]