We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


"A parish in the Union and hundred of Ruthin, county of Denbigh; 2 miles (S by W) from Ruthin, containing 234 inhabitants. ..... The land, the extent of which is about 1400 acres, consists chiefly of arable, pasture, and woodland, the portion under tillage being by far the largest, and in a state of high cultivation, producing excellent wheat, barley, oats, potatoes and turnips. The scenery is particularly picturesque and beautiful; the surface is boldly undulated, and ornamented in various parts with oak, ash, and poplar trees, and enlivened with several streams, the principal of which is the Clwyd, traversing the eastern boundary. ..... The village is beautifully situated in a sequestered vale abounding with pleasing scenery."
[ A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The parish of Efenechtyd was not divided into townships.


  • Fletcher, Allan  & D. Williams         "This sweet spot"       Efenechtyd : The Rector and Church Wardens of Efenechtyd Church, 1986.
  • Fletcher, Allan  & D. Williams         "This sweet spot"       2nd ed.     Ruthin : The Coelion Trust in association with the Rector and Churchwardens of Efenechtyd Church, 1996.


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Efenechtyd area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Efenechtyd, St Michael    Ordnance Survey reference SJ 112558.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Michael and All Angels, was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

St Michael, Efenechtyd  -  on the Denbighshire Churches Survey site

Nonconformist Churches "Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civilparish of Efenechtyd :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Rhiw Calvinistic Methodists 138
Pwllglas Congregationalists 105

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1693 - 1983 1693 - 1995 1694 - 1995
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1693 - 1812 1693 - 1811 1694 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1680 - 1864 1813 - 1864


  • The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
    They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
Baptisms Marriages
1813 - 1836
1856 - 1864
1813 - 1836

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Efenechtyd was assigned to the No. 2 ("Ruthin") sub-district of the Ruthin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Ruthin poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Efenechtyd are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Ruthin XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Ruthin 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Efenechtyd which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Efenechtyd has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

On Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ112557 (Lat/Lon: 53.091083, -3.327467), Efenechtyd which are provided by:


  • In 1831- the population was 242.
  • In 1901- the population was 213.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]