Denbighshire
Contents
Eglwysbach
"A parish in the Union of Llanrwst, chiefly in the hundred of Isdulas, county of Denbigh, but comprising also the township of Maenan in the hundred of Llechwedd Isaf, county of Carnarvon. ..... Its length from north to south is seven miles, and its breadth, in a transverse direction, four: the surface is very hilly, which circumstance causes a great variety of soil, some being extremely barren, and some, on the contrary, tolerably fertile, yielding good crops of corn. The village is situated in a pleasing and fertile vale watered by the river Conway, and the vicinity abounds with agreeable and richly varied scenery."
[
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]
The parish of Eglwysbach comprises the townships of Maenan (in Caernarfonshire); and Esgair Ebrill, Pennant, Cefn y Coed and Bodnod, in Denbighshire.
- Edwards, Eric. John Evans, Eglwysbach
Cristion, (Medi/Hyd. 1993), p. 11-13
- Evans, John.
Pulpud J. E. Eglwysbach Treffynnon : Argraffwyd fros yr awdur gan P. M. Evans and Son, [1887]
- Hughes, John et. al.
John Evans, Eglwysbach Bangor: Samuel Hughes, Argraffydd, 45 High Street, Pendref, 1897.
- Roberts, J. Alun. John Evans, Eglwysbach (1840-97)
Bathafarn. Cyf. 30 (1989-90), t. 27-29
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SH 803705.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Martin, was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. It was rebuilt in 1782, and restored in 1882.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
St Martins Church, Eglwysbach site
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Eglwysbach :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Bryn Seion |
Baptists |
119 |
| Bethania |
Calvinistic Methodists |
160 |
| Bryndaionyn |
Calvinistic Methodists |
89 |
| Gosen |
Calvinistic Methodists |
54 |
| Pwllterfyn |
Calvinistic Methodists |
25 |
| Ebenezer |
Wesleyans |
150 |
| Nebo |
Wesleyans |
76 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at Conwy Archive Services, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1601 - 1872 |
1601 - 1837 |
1601 - 1929 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1601 - 1812 |
1601 - 1812 |
1601 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1666 - 1850 |
1670 - 1850 |
I.G.I.
- There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Martin's, Eglwysbach.
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Eglwysbach was assigned to the No. 1 ("Llanrwst") sub-district of the Llanrwst Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Llanrwst poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Eglwysbach are in the format :
- Years 1837 - 1851: Llanrwst XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1851 - 1930: Llanrwst 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Eglwysbach - on wikipedia
Eglwysbach photographs - on geograph.org.uk
Eglwys Bach - on Vision of Britain
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Population
- In 1831- the population was 1460.
- In 1901- the population was 1286.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
- Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 9738 acres.
[
The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 14 Dec 2010 - Gareth Hicks