Downtime: The Genuki web service will be unavailable on Tues 24 Apr from 10:00 BST for approximately two hours whilst some software updates are installed.

Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr

"A parish in the Union of Llanfyllin; Cynlleth and Mochnant division of the hundred of Chirk, county of Denbigh; 10 miles (W) from Oswestry, containing 164 inhabitants. This parish comprises an uneven but chiefly elevated tract near the southernmost extremity of the county. ..... The church, dedicated to St. Germanus, was formerly a chapel of ease to the mother church of Llanrhaiadr, only a mile and a half distant." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

In early times, Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr was part of the parish of Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant. The parish is not divided into townships.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 135279.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Garmon, was mentioned in the Lincoln Taxation of 1291. It was restored in 1886.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

St Garmon's Church - on the Mathrafal Deanery site

ST GARMON'S CHURCH, LLANARMON MYNYDD MAWR  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Hermon, Cymdu Calvinistic Methodists 89
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr was traditionally regarded as a chapelry of Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, and until 1720 the baptisms, marriages and burials were recorded in the registers of that church. They have since been kept separately.

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire, Flintshire and Powys Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1695 - 1987 1699 - 1923 1695 - 1989
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1681 - 1812 1683 - 1812 1681 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1672 - 1850 1672 - 1850

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Garmon's, Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr.
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr was assigned to the No. 3 ("Llanrhaeadr") sub-district of the Llanfyllin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Llanfyllin poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Llanfyllin XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Llanfyllin 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr - on wikipedia

You can see pictures of Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 164.
  • In 1901- the population was 112.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 2218 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]