Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Llanbedr Dyffrin Clwyd

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Llanbedr Dyffrin Clwyd

"A parish in the Union and hundred of Ruthin, county of Denbigh; 2 miles (NE) from Ruthin, on the road to Chester, containing 527 inhabitants. This parish is about three miles in length, and two in breadth: its surface is partly hilly and partly flat." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The ancient parish comprised the four townships of Llwynedd, Treganol, Trerhiwiau, and Trebod Elgar.

topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 144594.
The old church, which was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254, was demolished in 1862; and a new church, a few hundred yards away, was opened in 1863. The dedication is to St. Peter.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Llwynedd Calvinistic Methodists 76
Hirwaen Wesleyans 80
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1650 - 1894 1683 - 1968 1650 - 1888
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1605 - 1812 1654 - 1812 1632 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1676 - 1860 1813 - 1860

I.G.I.

  • The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
    They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
Baptisms Marriages
1813 - 1860 (96% extraction) 1813 - 1836
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd was assigned to the No. 2 ("Ruthin") sub-district of the Ruthin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Ruthin poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Ruthin XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Ruthin 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd - on wikipedia

Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd - on the CPAT site

You can see pictures of Llanbedr Dyffrin Clwyd which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanbedr Dyffrin Clwyd to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanbedr Dyffrin Clwyd has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 527.
  • In 1901- the population was 285.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 2900 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]