Denbighshire
Contents
Parishes
Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd
"A parish in the Union and hundred of Ruthin, county of Denbigh; 2 miles (NE) from Ruthin, on the road to Chester, containing 527 inhabitants. This parish is about three miles in length, and two in breadth: its surface is partly hilly and partly flat."
[A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]
The ancient parish comprised the four townships of Llwynedd, Treganol, Trerhiwiau, and Trebod Elgar.
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 144594.
The old church, which was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254, was demolished in 1862; and a new church, a few hundred yards away, was opened in 1863. The dedication is to St. Peter.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Llwynedd
|
Calvinistic Methodists
|
76
|
| Hirwaen
|
Wesleyans
|
80
|
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials |
| 1650 - 1894 |
1683 - 1968 |
1650 - 1888 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials |
| 1605 - 1812 |
1654 - 1812 |
1632 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1676 - 1860 |
1813 - 1860 |
I.G.I.
-
The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
| 1813 - 1860 (96% extraction) |
1813 - 1836 |
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd was assigned to the No. 2 ("Ruthin") sub-district of the Ruthin Registration District;
which was co-extensive with the Ruthin poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd are in the format :
- Years 1837 - 1851: Ruthin XXVII.nnn
- Years 1851 - 1930: Ruthin 11b.nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Population
- In 1831- the population was 527.
- In 1901- the population was 285.
[Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
- Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 2900 acres.
[ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
| Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes; and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future. |
Last Updated 5 May 2004 - Vic Roberts