Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Llanddulas

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Llanddulas

Until 1878, Llanddulas consisted of the two townships of Tre'r Llan and Tre'r Cefn, containing 606 acres. In 1878, by an Order in Council, 636 acres were taken from the parish of Abergele and added to the parish of Llanddulas.

topup

Bibliography

  • Ellis, Bryn.  A brief history of Llanddulas and Llysfaen quarries  Part 1.       Abergele Field Club and Historical Society Review 17 (1998), p. 3-10
  • Hughes, Edward.  A short history of the parish of Llanddulas (Denbighshire) with special reference to St Cynbryd's church        Colwyn Bay : Leigh and Williams Ltd, 1939.
  • Jones,  Brian  and Margaret Rawcliffe.       Llanddulas     : illustrations by Kim Harley; cartography by R. G. Cross.    Denbigh : Gee and Son, 1985.
topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SH 908782.
The church was founded by St. Cynfryd; and was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254.
The list of Rectors dates from 1284.
The early church building was ruined by a great storm in 1732; when a new building was erected. By 1868, this was itself "in a ruinous state", and was demolished.
The foundation stone of the present church was laid on 2 July 1868, and the Bishop of St. Asaph consecrated the church on Monday, 24 May 1869.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Church, [Internal/external] Llanddulas  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanddulas :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Bethesda Baptists 78
Beulah Calvinistic Methodists 92
Caersalem Congregationalists 157
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1761 - 1947 1755 - 1971 1761 - 1941
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1665 - 1812 1665 - 1812 1665 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1665 - 1839 1682 - 1839

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Cynfryd, Llanddulas.
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanddulas was assigned to the No. 2 ("Abergele") sub-district of the St. Asaph Registration District, which was co-extensive with the St. Asaph poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanddulas are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: St. Asaph XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: St. Asaph 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

Llanddulas Hidden History

Llanddulas - on wikipedia

Pictorial History of Llanddulas Quarries

Various landscapes  - on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see pictures of Llanddulas which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanddulas to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanddulas has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Merchant Marine

The life boat, Llanddulas, c. 1885 - on the People's Collection Wales site

topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 307.
  • In 1901- the population was 788.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 606 acres until 1878, in which year 635 acres were added from the parish of Abergele.
[ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]