Denbighshire
Contents
Llandegla
"A parish in the Union of Ruthin, hundred of Yale, county of Denbigh; 6 miles (SE) from Ruthin, containing 378 inhabitants."
[
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]
The ancient parish at one time comprised the three townships of Llandegla, Trefydd Bychain, and Bodlywydd; however, Bodlywydd has long since been incorporated into the parish of Llanelidan.
By an Order in Council, gazetted on 11 March 1887, part of the parish of Llanarmon yn Iāl was transferred to the parish of Llandegla. Archdeacon Thomas defines the area transferred thus :
"That portion of Llanarmon lying south of a line drawn from Pont Ystyllod through Rhos Isa and Perthichwareu, and taking in also a portion of Bodidris township (including the Hall) and the Gwernoliaid, as far as Llyn Maelor."
-
Llandegla then and now Llandegla Millenium Action Group ; [editor: Phil Clark]. Llandegla, Wrexham : Llandegla Millenium Action Group, 2003.
Church History
See Welsh
Chapels and Churches for a photograph of St Tegla, Llandegla
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 196524.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Tecla, was completely rebuilt in 1866.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Llandegla :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Bethania |
Calvinistic Methodists |
188 |
| Pisgah |
Congregationalists |
100 |
| Sion |
Wesleyans |
25 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1710 - 1896 |
1710 - 1970 |
1710 - 1881 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1710 - 1812 |
1710 - 1812 |
1710 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1663 - 1851 |
1663 - 1851 |
I.G.I.
- There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Tecla's, Llandegla.
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llandegla was assigned to the No. 1 ("Llanarmon") sub-district of the Ruthin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Ruthin poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llandegla are in the format :
- Years 1837 - 1851: Ruthin XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1851 - 1930: Ruthin 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Llandegla - on wikipedia
Llandegla - on geograph.org.uk
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Population
- In 1831- the population was 378.
- In 1901- the population was 483.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
- Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 3390 acres.
[
The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 18 Nov 2011 - Gareth Hicks