Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Llanelian-yn-Rhos

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

Llanelian-yn-Rhos

"A parish in the Union of Conway, Uchdulas division of the hundred of Isdulas, county of Denbigh; 6 miles (W by S) from Abergele, containing 604 inhabitants. It is situated in the midst of a very mountainous district, and agriculture affords the principal employment." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The ancient parish had four townships - Bodlennyn (otherwise known as Tre'r Llan), Llaethfaen, Teyrdan, and Twynnan (otherwise known as Dolwen).

topup

Bibliography

  • Llanelian-Yn-Rhos, and its ancient church. [With photographs, including portraits.].     Bangor : [s.n.] , [1954?]
topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SH 864764.
The church is believed to have been founded in the sixth century by St. Elian. It was restored in 1859 and 1903.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

St Elian Church - on CPAT

 ST EILIAN'S CHURCH; ST HILARY'S CHURCH;LLANELIAN-YN-RHOS CHURCH  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanelian yn Rhos :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Ebenezer Baptists 142
Nant Calvinistic Methodists 63
Dawn Wesleyans 62
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1589 - 1987 1589 - 1981 1589 - 1992
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1589 - 1812 1591 - 1812 1589 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1666 - 1840 1672 - 1840

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Elian's, Llanelian.
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanelian yn Rhos was assigned to the No. 2 ("Creuddyn") sub-district of the Conwy Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Conwy poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanelian yn Rhos are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Conway XXVII.nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Conway 11b.nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanelian-yn-Rhos which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanelian-yn-Rhos to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanelian-yn-Rhos has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 604.
  • In 1901- the population was 378.
    [Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 3487 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]