Denbighshire
Contents
Parishes
Llanelian yn Rhos
"A parish in the Union of Conway, Uchdulas division of the hundred of Isdulas, county of Denbigh; 6 miles (W by S) from Abergele, containing 604 inhabitants. It is situated in the midst of a very mountainous district, and agriculture affords the principal employment."
[A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]
The ancient parish had four townships - Bodlennyn (otherwise known as Tre'r Llan), Llaethfaen, Teyrdan, and Twynnan (otherwise known as Dolwen).
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SH 864764.
The church is believed to have been founded in the sixth century by St. Elian. It was restored in 1859 and 1903.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanelian yn Rhos :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Ebenezer
|
Baptists
|
142
|
| Nant
|
Calvinistic Methodists
|
63
|
| Dawn
|
Wesleyans
|
62
|
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials |
| 1589 - 1987 |
1589 - 1981 |
1589 - 1992 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials |
| 1589 - 1812 |
1591 - 1812 |
1589 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1666 - 1840 |
1672 - 1840 |
I.G.I.
-
There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Elian's, Llanelian.
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanelian yn Rhos was assigned to the No. 2 ("Creuddyn") sub-district of the Conwy Registration District;
which was co-extensive with the Conwy poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanelian yn Rhos are in the format :
- Years 1837 - 1851: Conway XXVII.nnn
- Years 1851 - 1930: Conway 11b.nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Population
- In 1831- the population was 604.
- In 1901- the population was 378.
[Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
- Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 3487 acres.
[ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
| Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes; and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future. |
Last Updated 5 May 2004 - Vic Roberts