We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llanelidan

"A parish in the Union and hundred of Ruthin, county of Denbigh, 5½ miles (S) from Ruthin, on the road to Corwen, containing 962 inhabitants. It is situated in the upper part of the Vale of Clwyd, where the mountains assume a bolder and more rugged character than in the lower section of that valley. The parishes of Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd and Clocaenog bound it on the north, Derwen parish on the west, and Bryneglwys on the south. The scenery from the heights is very fine, the Clwydian hills being in the distance on the one side, and those of Merionethshire on the other, with some intervening plantations, principally of oak. There are some quarries of limestone. The river Clwyd, whose source is about three miles distant, separates the parish from Clocaenog; and there are several other streams, celebrated for trout of very superior flavour."
[A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The ancient parish of Llanelidan comprised the townships of Nantclwyd, Llan, Bryncyme, Bodlywydd, and Garthneuoedd.

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of ;

  • Rhyd y meudwy, Capel Zion
  • St Elidan

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 110505.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Elidan, was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. It was restored in 1859, and again in 1890.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Church of St Elidan - on CPAT

Nonconformist Churches "Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanelidan :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Carmel Baptists 131
Brynybanadl Calvinistic Methodists 212
Zion Wesleyans 120

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

Baptisms Marriages Burials
1686 - 1995 1697 - 1970 1695 - 1862

  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Baptisms Marriages Burials
1686 - 1812 1696 - 1812 1695 - 1811

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1676 - 1871 1813 - 1871

I.G.I.

  • The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
    They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.

Baptisms Marriages
1813 - 1836 (98% extraction) 1813 - 1836

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanelidan was assigned to the No. 3 ("Llanelidan") sub-district of the Ruthin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Ruthin poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanelidan are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Ruthin XXVII.nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Ruthin 11b.nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanelidan which are provided by:

Llanelidan - on wikipedia

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanelidan has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ107504 (Lat/Lon: 53.043369, -3.333459), Llanelidan which are provided by:
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 749.
  • In 1901- the population was 670.
    [Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 5109 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]