Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Llanfair Talhaiarn

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llanfair Talhaiarn

"A parish in the Union of St. Asaph, partly in the hundred of Isaled, and partly in that of Isdulas, county of Denbigh; 7 miles (S by W) from Abergele; containing 1414 inhabitants. ..... This parish, which lies on the road from Llangernyw to Abergele, is bounded on the north by the parish of Betws yn Rhos, on the south by that of Llansannan, on the east by the parishes of Abergele and Llannefydd, and on the west by that of Llangernyw. ..... The village is delightfully situated in a deep glen, along which flows the small river Elwy, to its junction with the Aled, one mile lower."
[A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The ancient parish was extensive, comprising the twelve townships of Barog, Bodrychwyn, Bont, Cynnant, Ciliau, Cornwal, Dolganner, Garthewin, Melai, Petrual, Prysllygoed, and Talhaearn, and covering approximately 20,000 acres.

Churches

  • St Mary, Church Street, Church in Wales

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llanfair Talhaiarn area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SH 927701.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Mary, was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. The present building is believed to date from about 1600, but was extensively repaired and restored in 1839 and 1876.
A daughter church, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, was opened at Pont-y-Gwyddel in 1882, and was closed in 1982.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Nonconformist Churches "Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanfair Talhaearn :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Salem Baptists 193
Soar Baptists 50
Garnedd Calvinistic Methodists 104
Soar Calvinistic Methodists 132
Tabor Calvinistic Methodists 184
Not named Wesleyans 60

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1669 - 1854 1671 - 1961 1669 - 1868
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1652 - 1812 1671 - 1812 1667 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1668 - 1852 1668 - 1851

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Mary's, Llanfair Talhaearn.

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanfair Talhaearn was assigned to the No. 2 ("Abergele") sub-district of the St. Asaph Registration District, which was co-extensive with the St. Asaph poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanfair Talhaearn are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: St. Asaph XXVII.nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: St. Asaph 11b.nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Description and Travel

Llanfair Talhaearn - on wikipedia

You can see pictures of Llanfair Talhaiarn which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanfair Talhaiarn has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanfair Talhaiarn to another place.

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH927702 (Lat/Lon: 53.217973, -3.608474), Llanfair Talhaiarn which are provided by:

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 1355.
  • In 1901- the population was 954.
    [Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 11,949 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]