We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr

"A parish in the Union of Corwen, partly in the hundred of Edeyrnion, county of Merioneth, and partly in that of Isaled, county of Denbigh, 10 miles (NW by W) from Corwen; containing 428 inhabitants. ..... The village, consisting of only four houses, is situated on the small river Alwen, a rapid stream issuing from Llyn Alwen, in the mountains, about five miles north-west of the village, and forming, for the greater part of its course, the north-eastern boundary of the parish. ..... There are some excellent meadows on the banks of the Alwen, affording pasturage to some herds of black cattle peculiar to this part of the principality, which are kept chiefly for the dairy; and the mountain lands, covered with fine heath, are depastured by numerous flocks of sheep of the small Welsh breed."
[ A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The parish comprises the township of Cefn Post (in Merionethshire); and the townships of Maes yr Odyn, Llysan, and Cysilog (or Llysyllog) in Denbighshire.

Bibliography

  • Book of reference to the plan of the Parish of Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr (part of), hundred of Isaled, in the County of Denbigh, containing 3717.822 acres.     London : Printed by E. Eyre and William Spottiswoode, 1876.
  • Brush, Sally.  William Hughes, rector of Llanfihangel-Glyn-Myfyr, 1729-1753      Hel achau, No. 50 (Nov. 1996), p. 18-19.
  • Smith, J.A.  and R.G. Livens.    Excavations at Caer Caradog, Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr, Clwyd, 1963-64    Archaeologia Cambrensis, Vol. 140 (1991), p. 77-101

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SH 989495.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Michael, was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. It was partly rebuilt in 1853; and was "sympathetically" restored in 1901 / 1902.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Church of St Michael - on CPAT

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP,   1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Parish statistics

  • In MER Area 3538 acres; Population 44 males, 40 females, total 84
  • In DEN Area 664 acres; Population 193 males, 211 females, total 404
  • Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr Parish Church     Attendance - morning 28, afternoon 13     "The attendance, owing to the very mountainous nature of this part of Wales, the paucity of Inhabitants, the distance from Church, the Prevelance of Dissent, varies according to the season of the year and the weather, ranging from  25 to 50"     Services in Welsh        William Lewis, Minister
  •  
  • Gro Chapel, Calvinistic Methodist             Erected c 1814            Attendance - morning 50, afternoon 115 scholars, evening 87            Robert Jones, Elder, Bryncras, Bettws, nr Corwen
  • Llanfihangel Chapel, Welsh Calvinistic Methodist          Erected 1816, rebuilt 1837              Attendance - morning 57, afternoon 79 scholars, evening 176           Hugh Thomas, Deacon, Pen y Bont, Llanfihangel

 

Nonconformist Churches "Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Not named Calvinistic Methodists 186
Gro Calvinistic Methodists 222

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1662 - 1991 1663 - 1960 1662 - 1991
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1662 - 1812 1663 - 1812 1662 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1663 - 1843 1663 - 1843

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Michael's, Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr.

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr was assigned to the No. 1 ("Gwyddelwern") sub-district of the Corwen Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Corwen poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Corwen XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Corwen 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH992492 (Lat/Lon: 53.030540, -3.504557), Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr which are provided by:
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

On Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 452.
  • In 1901- the population was 370.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish "which was subject to tithes" as 3759 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]