Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Llangernyw

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

Llangernyw

"A parish in the Union of Llanrwst, partly in the hundred of Isaled, and partly in that of Isdulas, county of Denbigh, 8 miles (W by N) from Denbigh, containing 1036 inhabitants. This parish is situated on the banks of the river Elwy, and comprises a large portion of one of the most rugged and mountainous parts of the county. ..... Several attempts to procure lead and copper-ore have been made, but the quantity found has been considered insufficient to afford an adequate remuneration to the adventurers." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The ancient parish of Llangernyw originally comprised the nine townships of Bodrach, Nannerth, Pantymanus, Pentrewern, Rhanhir, Hafodunos, Dwyafon, Branar, Marchaled and Bodgynwch, with a total area of 7200 acres. In 1867, the first three, and parts of the next three, with an area of 3100 acres, went to create the new parish of Llanddewi.

topup

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of St Digian Llangernyw Ordnance Survey reference SH 875674.

The church, which is dedicated to St. Digain, is believed to date from the thirteenth century. Considerable restoration work took place in 1849, and again in 1881.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Various items   - on the People's Collection Wales site

  • Y Cwm Chapel, Llangernyw
  •  St. Digain's Church, Llangernyw 
  •  Eglwys Llangernyw
  •  Llangernyw chapel (CM) and deacons, Llangernyw (1895)
  •  Calvinistic Methodist deacons, Llangernyw (1895)
  •  St. Digain’s Church Sunday School Trip, circa 1930s
  • St. Digain’s Church Choir, ...circa 1930s. The church ground contains one of the 50 oldest trees known in the world; it's a 4000 year old Yew tree, planted during the Bronze age

 

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llangernyw :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Bethebara Baptists 70
Bodgynwch Baptists 50
Cefn Coch Calvinistic Methodists 100
Not named Calvinistic Methodists 130
Pandy Tudur Calvinistic Methodists 246
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1570 - 1896 1570 - 1897 1570 - 1897
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1569 - 1812 1570 - 1812 1570 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1667 - 1842 1672 - 1842

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Digain, Llangernyw.
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llangernyw was assigned to the No. 1 ("Llanrwst") sub-district of the Llanrwst Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Llanrwst poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llangernyw are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Llanrwst XXVII.nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Llanrwst 11b.nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

Various landscapes/buildings  - on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see pictures of Llangernyw which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llangernyw to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llangernyw has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Occupations

Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site

  • Robert Manod Owen, Director of Llangernyw Cheese Factory and Staff, circa 1910 (yn y canol gyda gwallt gwyn) 
  • Workmen fixing Cefn Coch road, circa 1910s 
topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 1036.
  • In 1901- the population was 398.
    [Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Schools

Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site

  • Children of Llangernyw School, circa 1930s
  •  School, Llangernyw
  •  Pupils, Llangernyw school [1899]
  •  Hafodunos Hall Boarding School [various]
topup

Social life and Customs

Nash, Roy.  Family and Economic Structure in C19th Wales : Llangernyw and Gwytherin in 1871   (NLW's site)  Welsh History Review 11

Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site

  • Llangernyw Cricket Team, circa 1930s 
  • Hendre Ddu, Llangernyw, circa 1930s [Group] 
  • Llangernyw T-Total Society with their President Mrs Manod Owen, circa 1920s
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 4100 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]