Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Llangollen

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


"A market town and parish, in the Union of Corwen, in the Nant Heudwy division of the hundred of Chirk, county of Denbigh, 21½ miles (SE by S) from Denbigh, 13½ (SE by S) from Ruthin, and 183 (NW) from London; comprising the two principal divisions of Glyn Traian and Llangollen Traian with Trevor Traian, each supporting its own poor by a separate assessment, and containing 4498 inhabitants. ..... The parish is very extensive, and the Vale of Llangollen is deservedly celebrated as containing, in proportion to its extent, a greater variety of interesting objects, and a more beautiful and striking combination of the milder and nobler features of pleasing and majestic scenery, than probably any other in the Principality."
[ A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The ancient parish of Llangollen was divided into three parts : Llangollen Traean, Trefor Traean, and Glyn Traean.
Llangollen Traean contained the townships of Bachau, Cysylltau, Llangollen Abad, Llangollen Fawr, Llangollen Fechan, Feifod, Pengwern and Rhisgog.
Trefor Traean contained the townships of Cilmediw, Dinbren, Eglwysegl, Trefor Isaf and Trefor Uchaf.
Glyn Traean contained the townships of Cilcochwyn, Crogeniddon, Crogenwladus, Erwallo, Hafodgynfor, Nantygwryd, Pennant and Talygarth.
On 15 April 1848, the whole of Glyn Traean, together with the township of Cysylltau from Llangollen Traean, went to form the new parish of Pontfadog.
Cysylltau returned to Llangollen in 1870.


  • Bodlander, Adrian  and Dave Southern.     Llangollen railway revival .       [Wallasey] : Llangollen Railway Society, 1988.
  • Boswell, William A.    Llangollen town trail     Rev ed.      [Hawarden] : [Clwyd County Council], 1985
  • Emery, Gordon     Llangollen - the high path to Froncysyllte     Chester : Gordon Emery, 1989.  + various other titles inc.  Llangollen - Horseshoe Falls & Valle Crucis  &    Llangollen - Llandyn Hall & Castell Dinas Bran     &      Llangollen- Llangollen canal & Trevor mills   &           Llangollen - Pen-y-coed & Pengwern Vale
  • Grenter,  Stephen  and André Berry.     Castell Dinas Brân, Llangollen   Mold : Clwyd Archaeology Service,, 1991.        
  • Hayes, Cliff and Sylvia.     Looking back at...Llangollen : a pictorial history of the area.         Llangollen : Books, [1994]         
  • Hayes, Cliff.    Old Llangollen and the river Dee     Llangollen : Books, 1994.
  • Jones, C. Delyth R.  (edited by Neil Thomson.)     Llangollen-Chirk canal      [Clwyd] : Clwyd County Council, 1980.
  • Jones, T B. Aberavon (Bleddyn Morganwg).      The Maid of Llangollen     Aberavon: Printed by David Davis, High Street. [18--]         
  • Lovely Llangollen         Cheltenham : Ed. J. Burrow & Co., [1921?]
  • Mavor, Elizabeth.      The ladies of Llangollen      London : Joseph, 1971.    
  • Official Llangollen town guide.    Llanymynech : Fairbrook Publications, [1994?]       
  • Palmer, Verna.     Llangollen and district       Loggerheads : S. B. Publications, 1990.
  • Pearson, Michael and Jackie.      Llangollen and Shropshire Union     2nd ed.   Burton-on-Trent : J.M. Pearson & Son, 1986,1987(printing)
  • Pellow, Thomas  and Paul Bowen.        Canal to Llangollen      Crewe : Landscape Press, [1988]    
  • Sherratt, Gordon.   A hurried history of Llangollen           Capel Garmon : Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 1990.
  • Simpson, W T.      Some account of Llangollen and its vicinity :  facsim ed.     Mold : Clwyd Library and Museum Service, 1989.           
  • Simpson, William Tomisman.    Llangollen and its vicinity   [1827?]      
  • Southern, Dave  and Mark Hambly.(edited by Adrian Bodlander)     Llangollen Railway stock book       2nd ed.         Llangollen : Llangollen Railway Society, 1990.
  • The beautiful Vale of Llangollen official guide.    Llangollen : Llangollen Publicity Association, [1984?]     
  • The Parish Church, Llangollen :   Llangollen : Saint Collen's Parish Church, [198-?]
  • The Spirit of Llangollen & Llantysilio : Llangollen Museum = Naws Llangollen & Llantysilio : y ganrif a hanner ddiwethaf mewn llun / Amgueddfa Llangollen.   Asbourne : Landmark, 2003 -  and part 2 in 2006
  • Veysey, A. Geoffrey [additions by David Freeman].       Plas Newydd and the Ladies of Llangollen      Ruthin : Glyndwr District Council, 1988.
  • Williams,  H. Cernyw : Corwen.           Cofiant y Parch. Hugh Jones, D.D., Llangollen yn nghyda rhai o'i bregethau    Llangollen : W. Williams, 1884.
  • Wilson, E A.     The Ellesmere and Llangollen canal       London ; Chichester : Phillimore, 1975.


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llangollen area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of ;

  • Llangollen St Collen Church
  • Llangollen, Valle Crucis Abbey
  • Baptist Chapel, Llangollen

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 217419.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Collen, probably dates from the sixth or seventh centuries. A new building was erected in the thirteenth century; and again, probably in the early sixteenth century, following a fire. The tower was built circa 1750. The church was restored and extended between 1876 and 1883.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

There are two district churches - at Froncysyllte and Trevor.

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of "Llangollen Urban" :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Castle Street Baptists 500
Dr. Prichard Memorial Baptists (English language) 105
Penllyn Calvinistic Methodists 300
Rehoboth Calvinistic Methodists 450
Glan'rafon Congregationalists 170
Zion Wesleyans 250
Not named Wesleyans (English language) 117

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of "Llangollen Rural" :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Carmel, Froncysyllte Baptists 420
Noddfa, Garth Baptists 227
Broncyssyllte (sic) Calvinistic Methodists 220
Brynhyfryd, Garth Calvinistic Methodists 236
Brynseion, Pontcysyllte Calvinistic Methodists 195
Eirianallt, Berwyn Calvinistic Methodists 52
Trefor Calvinistic Methodists (English language) 80
Seion, Froncysyllte Congregationalists 247
Soar, Trefor Congregationalists 81
Mount Zion, Fron Primitive Methodists (English language) 186

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at the A.N. Palmer Library, Wrexham, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1623 - 1964 1587 - 1986 1597 - 1971
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1670 - 1812 1670 - 1754 1670 - 1791

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1662 to 1835 have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth; and those for the years 1836 to 1846 have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1662 - 1835 1662 - 1835
Deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin Microfilmed copies
1836 - 1846 None


  • The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
    They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
Baptisms Marriages
1813 - 1852 1813 - 1835

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llangollen was assigned to the No. 2 ("Corwen") sub-district of the Corwen Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Corwen poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llangollen are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Corwen XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Corwen 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Description and Travel

Llangollen - tourist site

Llangollen - tourist site

Llangollen - on wikipedia

Llangollen Museum

You can see pictures of Llangollen which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llangollen has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

On Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ215420 (Lat/Lon: 52.969571, -3.170362), Llangollen which are provided by:


  • In 1831- the population was 4498.
  • In 1901- the population was 5704.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]


  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 13,076 acres titheable, and the same again non-titheable.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]