Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Llanrhydd

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

Llanrhydd

"A parish in the Union, partly within the limits of the borough, and partly in the hundred of Ruthin, county of Denbigh, 1 miles (E) from Ruthin. The village is pleasantly situated in a fertile vale near the Clwydian mountains, and the neighbourhood abounds with pleasing and finely varied scenery." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The parish comprises the two townships of Llanrhydd Ucha and Llanrhydd Isaf.

topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 140577.
Historically, the church at Llanrhydd, which is dedicated to St. Meugan, was the mother church of Ruthin, although it lies some distance outside the present town of Ruthin. It is believed to date from the sixth century, and was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. The church was repaired in 1626, and restored in 1852.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

St Meugan - on the Medieval Wales site

 St. Meugan’s Church, built in the 15th Century  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

Nonconformist places of worship for Llanrhydd were included in the "Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" under the Civil administrative district of Ruthin Borough. Details will be found on the parish page for Ruthin

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1608 - 1954 1610 - 1970 1610 - 1991
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1608 - 1812 1610 - 1812 1610 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1676 - 1861 1813 - 1861

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Meugan's, Llanrhydd.
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanrhydd was assigned to the No. 2 ("Ruthin") sub-district of the Ruthin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Ruthin poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanrhydd are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Ruthin XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Ruthin 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanrhydd which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanrhydd to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanrhydd has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 777.
  • In 1901- the population was 752.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 2071 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]