"A parish in the Union, partly within the limits of the borough, and partly in the hundred of Ruthin, county of Denbigh, 1 miles (E) from Ruthin. The village is pleasantly situated in a fertile vale near the Clwydian mountains, and the neighbourhood abounds with pleasing and finely varied scenery."
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]
The parish comprises the two townships of Llanrhydd Ucha and Llanrhydd Isaf.
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 140577.
Historically, the church at Llanrhydd, which is dedicated to St. Meugan, was the mother church of Ruthin, although it lies some distance outside the present town of Ruthin. It is believed to date from the sixth century, and was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. The church was repaired in 1626, and restored in 1852.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
St Meugan - on the Medieval Wales site
Nonconformist places of worship for Llanrhydd were included in the
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"under the
Civiladministrative district of Ruthin Borough. Details will be found on the parish page for Ruthin.
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
|1608 - 1954
||1610 - 1970
||1610 - 1991
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
|1608 - 1812
||1610 - 1812
||1610 - 1812
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
|Deposited at the National Library of Wales
|1676 - 1861
||1813 - 1861
- There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Meugan's, Llanrhydd.
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanrhydd was assigned to the No. 2 ("Ruthin") sub-district of the Ruthin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Ruthin poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanrhydd are in the format :
- Years 1837 - 1851: Ruthin XXVII.
- Years 1851 - 1930: Ruthin 11b.
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Llanrhydd - on Vision of Britain
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links
to pages for the parish church
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
- In 1831- the population was 777.
- In 1901- the population was 752.
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
- Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 2071 acres.
The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 9 Jan 2013 - Gareth Hicks