Denbighshire
Contents
Llansannan
"A parish in the Union of St. Asaph, higher division of the hundred of Isaled, county of Denbigh; 8 miles (W) from Denbigh, containing 1383 inhabitants. ..... The village is pleasantly situated at the head of the river Aled, which rises in Llyn Aled at no great distance, and in its course through the vale forms some interesting and picturesque cascades. The parish comprises a very considerable tract of arable and pasture land, of which by far the greater portion is enclosed; the soil, though various, is tolerably fertile. The surrounding scenery is almost totally devoid of natural beauty, and the country adjacent presents little more than an uninviting prospect of dreary wastes and mountains beyond."
[
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]
The ancient parish of Llansannan comprised the townships of Treflach, Mostyn and Hendreunig, Llansannan, Rhydeidon, Beidiog, Penaled (or Pennant Aled), Llysaled, Archwedlog, Chwibren, Hescin, Deunant, Arllwyd, and Grugor; with a total area of 18,473 acres.
However, by an Order in Council on July 21st, 1855, the new parish of Bylchau was created; and the township of Grugor, with portions of Archwedlog and Deunant (a total area of 2873 acres) were transferred from Llansannan to Bylchau.
- Davies, Rhiannon. Llansannan born and bred
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 60 (Spring 2009), p. 8-15
- Edwards, Elwyn. Dafydd Jones, Llansannan, 1907-1994
Barddas (Cymdeithas Gerdd Dafod), Rhif 301 (Tachwedd/Rhagfyr 2008 / Ionawr 2009), p. 22-23
- Enwogion Plwyf Llansannan, Tudur Aled, William Salesbury, Henry Rees, Gwilym Hiraethog, Iorwerth Glan Aled : [1899?]
- Hanes cychwynol eglwysi Bedyddiedig Fforddlas, Llansannan, a Llanelian / dan olygiaeth R. P. Jones (Perorfryn), Ffestiniog. [Ffestiniog : Undeb Bedyddwyr Dyffryn Conwy a Ffestiniog], 1915.
- Jones, Emyr Wyn. Edward Parry, 1723-1786, Llansannan
Traethodydd (Denbigh, Wales), Cyf. 142 (1987), p. 23-37
- Jones, Gwyn. Llansannan church
Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 57 (2009), p. 50-55
- Jones, R.
Cofiant y diweddar Thomas Jones, Llansannan R. Jones (Trebor Aled). buddygol yn Eisteddfod Gadeiriol Llansannan, Mehefin 4ydd, 1900. Llangollen : Argraffwyd gan W. Williams, [1901?]
- Jones, Robert Wynne Llansannan. (Hedd Molwynog) dan olygiad R. Ellis.
Hanes hen furddynod plwyf Llansannan Conwy [Conway] : Argraffwyd gan R. E. Jones a'i Frodyr, 1910.
- Jones, R Wynn (Lloffwr Llen)
Plwyf Llansannan ; o dan olygiaeth R. Ellis. Conwy : R.E. Jones, 1911.
- Lowe, W. Bezant .
Llansannan Llanfairfechan : printed for the author [at the Caxton Press], 1915.
- Owen, Goronwy Prys. Edward Parry, Llansannan
Y Cylchgrawn Efengylaidd. 23/5 (Medi/Hyd. 1986), p. 12-14
- Owen, Robert. Llansannan fel y mae
Lleufer, Cyf. 11, rh. 2 (Haf 1955), t. 81-82.
- Parry, Rhiannon. Y diweddar Mrs Gwen Wyn Jones, Llansannan
Allwedd y tannau. Rhif 56 (Gwanwyn 1997), t. 64-65.
- Pedigree of the family of Myddelton of Gwaynynog, Garthgynan and Llansannan, all in the County of Denbigh / attempted by W.M. Myddelton. Horncastle, Lincs. : privately printed [by] W.K. Morton & Sons, 1910.
- The registers of the parish of Llansannan 1667-1812 [transcribed by Robert Ellis]. Liverpool : Printed by I. Foulkes, 1904.
- Wynne-Woodhouse, Bill.
Inscriptions in Llansannan churchyard 2nd ed. Llansannan : Eirlys Wynne-Woodhouse, 1994.
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SH 934658.
The church was founded by St. Sannan, an Irish saint and bishop; and was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. It was partly rebuilt in 1778. It was restored in 1878/1879, being re-opened on 12 June 1879.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Llansannan :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Bethania |
Baptists |
95 |
| Brynyrorsedd |
Calvinistic Methodists |
326 |
| Horeb |
Calvinistic Methodists |
130 |
| Penycefn |
Calvinistic Methodists |
64 |
| Tanyfron |
Calvinistic Methodists |
168 |
| Hiraethog |
Congregationalists |
59 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1727 - 1888 |
1727 - 1967 |
1727 - 1888 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1666 - 1812 |
1667 - 1812 |
1666 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1666 - 1832 |
1667 - 1832 |
I.G.I.
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
1666 - 1812
1818 - 1832 |
1818 - 1832 |
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llansannan was assigned to the No. 3 ("Denbigh") sub-district of the St. Asaph Registration District; which was co-extensive with the St. Asaph poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llansannan are in the format :
- Years 1837 - 1851: St. Asaph XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1851 - 1930: St. Asaph 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Llansannan - on BBC Wales
Llansannan - on wikipedia
Llansannan photographs - on geograph.org.uk
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Population
- In 1831- the population was 1383.
- In 1901- the population was 945.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
- Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 15,600 acres.
[
The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 27 Nov 2011 - Gareth Hicks