Downtime: The Genuki web service will be unavailable on Tues 24 Apr from 10:00 BST for approximately two hours whilst some software updates are installed.

Llantysilio

"A parish in the Union of Corwen, hundred of Yale, county of Denbigh; 2 miles (NW by W) from Llangollen, containing 842 inhabitants. ..... It is pleasantly situated on the river Dee, which forms its southern boundary, and is skirted on the north by the small river Merenion; on the west it is bounded by the parish of Corwen; and on the east by a small river running through the Vale of Crucis. The surface is boldy undulated, and in some parts mountainous; the soil, though various, is in general fertile, and the surrounding scenery is strikingly diversified, and in many parts beautifully picturesque. A chain of mountains of romantic appearance and rich in mineral wealth runs through the centre of the parish, which is also intersected by the turnpike road leading from Llangollen to Ruthin." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The parish contains the townships of Coedrwg, Maesyrychen (or Llanegwestl), Llandynnan, Cymodeuparth, and Cymotraean.

topup

Bibliography

  • Book of reference to the plan of the Parish of Llantysilio (Hundred of Yale) in the county of Denbigh : Major-General Sir Henry James, Director-General of the Ordnance Survey.   London : Eyre & Spottiswoode for H.M.S.O., 1875.
  • Coulter, Stan.   Early village life in Yr Heol - The Rhewl - Llantysilio          [Corwen] : Corwen Printing & Stationery, 1986.
  • Llantysilio Church    Gwernymynydd : Clwyd Family History Society, 2000.
  • The Spirit of Llangollen & Llantysilio : Llangollen Museum = Naws Llangollen & Llantysilio : y ganrif a hanner ddiwethaf mewn llun / Amgueddfa Llangollen.   Asbourne : Landmark, 2003 -  and part 2 in 2006
  • Ychydig o hanes bywyd a marwolaeth Elizabeth Jones, merch y Parch. Edward Jones, Llantysilio :   Llanidloes : Cyhoeddwyd ac ar werth gan Edward Jones, [18--?]
topup

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of ;

  • St Tysilio, Llantysilio
  • Bethesda, CM, Pentredwr

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 194435.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Tysilio, was mentioned in the Lincoln Taxation of 1291. It was rebuilt in 1869.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

 Llantysilio Church around 1900  -  on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llantysilio :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Bwlch, Tai Newyddion Calvinistic Methodists 63
Llanddynan Calvinistic Methodists 110
Pentredwr Calvinistic Methodists 100
Pentredwr Wesleyans 109
Rhewl Wesleyans 80
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1677 - 1992 1677 - 1970 1678 - 1969
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1671 - 1812 1671 - 1812 1671 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1671 - 1836 1675 - 1836

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Tysilio, Llantysilio.
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llantysilio was assigned to the No. 2 ("Corwen") sub-district of the Corwen Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Corwen poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llantysilio are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Corwen XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Corwen 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

Llantyslio - on wikipedia

Various landscapes/buildings   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see pictures of Llantysilio which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llantysilio to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llantysilio has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Occupations

Pentrefelin Slate Works,Llantysilio, around 1890   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 842.
  • In 1901- the population was 847.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Schools

Various items -  on the People's Collection Wales site

  • Pupils at Llantysilio C of E School No date) 
  • Pupils and Teachers at Llantysilio C of E School in 1929
  • At the end of the school year (summer term) the Misses Thomas Gave a party for children and parents of Llantysilio School at the Hall