We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llanynys

"A parish in the Union of Ruthin, partly in the hundred of Isaled, but chiefly in that of Ruthin, county of Denbigh; 3 miles (NNW) from Ruthin, containing 784 inhabitants. This parish, which is situated on the river Clwyd, and is intersected by the turnpike road leading from Ruthin to Denbigh, extends nearly eight miles in length, and one mile and a half in mean breadth. ..... The surrounding scenery is pleasingly diversified, and the views from the higher grounds, extending over the adjacent country, embrace some interesting features."
[ A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The ancient parish of Llanynys consisted of the townships of Bachymbyd ( or Machymbyd), Bontuchel, Bryncaredig, Ffiddoedd, Maesmaencymro, Rhydonnen, Trefechan, Trefor ( or Cefn Trefor), Treganol ( or Fachlwyd), Tre'r Parc, and Ysgeibion ( or Esgeibion).
It was the mother parish of Cyffylliog until 26 January 1874, when the townships of Bontuchel, Trefor, Treganol, Ffiddoedd and Tre'r Parc were transferred from Llanynys to the new parish of Cyffylliog. However, to all intents and purposes, Cyffylliog had already functioned as a separate parish for many years.

Bibliography

  • Book of reference to the plan of the Parish of Llanynys (Hundreds of Ruthin and Isaled) in the county of Denbigh : Lieut.-General Sir Henry James, Director-General of the Ordnance Survey.  London : Eyre & Spottiswoode for H.M.S.O., 1875.
  • Jones, L. Parry.    Llanynys Church : ; foreword by the Bishop of St. Asaph.  4th ed.    [Llanynys] : [Llanynys Church], 1988.

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 103627.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Saeran, was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254; although there is believed to have been a church on the site since the fifth century.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

St Saeran - on CPAT

St Saeran - on medieval-wales

Nonconformist Churches "Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist place of worship in the Civilparish of "Llanynys Rural" :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Rhewl Calvinistic Methodists 180

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1626 - 1891 1626 - 1971 1626 - 1903
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1626 - 1812 1626 - 1812 1626 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1686 - 1866 1813 - 1866

I.G.I.

  • The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
    They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
Baptisms Marriages
1813 - 1867 1813 - 1837

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanynys was assigned to the No. 5 ("Llanrhaeadr") sub-district of the Ruthin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Ruthin poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanynys are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Ruthin XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Ruthin 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanynys which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanynys has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ103627 (Lat/Lon: 53.153839, -3.342862), Llanynys which are provided by:
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

On Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 808.
  • In 1901- the population was 594.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 4922 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]