Denbighshire
Contents
Parishes
Llysfaen
"A parish in the Union of Conway, forming a detached portion of the hundred of Creuddyn, county of Carnarvon, and locally within the shire of Denbigh; 4 miles (W) from Abergele, containing 679 inhabitants. This parish, which is extremely mountainous, comprises 1772 acres. ..... A considerable quantity of limestone is quarried from the rocks here, and shipped at Llandulas Bay for Liverpool. The village consists of five houses only."
[A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]
The ancient parish comprised the townships of Isallt, Isyffordd, Pant (or Tre'r Pant), Penmaen and Rhwngyddwyffordd.
Historically, until 1 April 1923, it was a completely detached portion of the commote of Creuddyn (Caernarfonshire).
In 1872, part of the parish was lost to Colwyn; but, at the same time, it gained part of the township of Twynnan, from the parish of Llanelian yn Rhos.
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SH 893775.
Tradition states that the church was founded by St. Cynfran in AD 777. It was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. There have been several churches on the same site - the present building is believed to date from about 1377, incorporating stones from the original building. It was extensively restored in 1870.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
Nonconformist places of worship for Llysfaen were included in the "Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" under the Civil parish of Colwyn Bay. Details will be found on the parish page for Colwyn Bay.
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
The Baptism and Burial Registers covering the period 1761 - 1809 were recorded as being in Llysfaen Church in 1831; but they now appear to be lost.
Fortunately, the Bishop's Transcripts for most of that period have survived, and have been deposited in the National Library of Wales.
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials |
1661 - 1760 1809 - 1857 |
1663 - 1753 1755 - 1938 |
1661 - 1760 1809 - 1931 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials |
| 1661 - 1812 |
1662 - 1812 |
1661 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1662 - 1844 |
1662 - 1844 |
I.G.I.
-
There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Cynfran's, Llysfaen.
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llysfaen was assigned to the No. 2 ("Creuddyn") sub-district of the Conwy Registration District;
which was co-extensive with the Conwy poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llysfaen are in the format :
- Years 1837 - 1851: Conway XXVII.nnn
- Years 1851 - 1930: Conway 11b.nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Population
- In 1831- the population was 585.
- In 1901- the population was 1489.
[Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
- Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 1879 acres.
[ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
| Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes; and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future. |
Last Updated 5 May 2004 - Vic Roberts