Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Marchwiel

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Marchwiel

"A parish in the Union of Wrexham, hundred of Bromfield, county of Denbigh; 2 miles (SE) from Wrexham, containing 553 inhabitants. ..... It is intersected by the road from Wrexham, which here branches off to Whitchurch and to Ellesmere, and consists of the townships of Marchwiel and Sontley, the former comprising 2691 acres, with a population of 466, and the latter, 585 acres, with a population of 87. The lands are enclosed and in a good state of cultivation; producing wheat, barley and oats; the prevailing timber is oak." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The ancient parish consisted of the two townships of Marchwiel and Sontley.

topup

Bibliography

  • Book of reference to the plan of the Parish of Marchwiel (Hundred of Bromfield) in the county of Denbigh : Major-General Sir Henry James, Director-General of the Ordnance Survey.     London : Eyre & Spottiswoode for H.M.S.O., 1873.         
  • Emery, Gordon.    Marchwiel         Chester : G Emery, 1999.
  • Rees, Cynthia.      A history of the parish of Marchwiel          Wrexham : Bridge Books, 1998.
  • Rees,Cynthia M.      Kenrick Edisbury of Marchwiel and Deptford (c.1580-1638), Surveyor of His Majesty's ships       Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 52 (2003), p.53-80.
topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 357477.

"The church, dedicated to St. Marcellus, was rebuilt in 1789, and enlarged and repaired in 1829."
[ A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Church of St Deiniol and St Marcella - on CPAT

 ST MARCELLUS'S CHURCH, MARCHWIEL   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Marchwiel :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Salem Chapel, Stryt yr Hwch Calvinistic Methodists (English language) 90
Cross Lanes Wesleyans (English language) 42
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at the A.N. Palmer Library, Wrexham, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1653 - 1942 1666 - 1970 1662 - 1908
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1652 - 1812 1665 - 1812 1662 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1662 - 1871 1667 - 1871

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Marcella's, Marchwiel.
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Marchwiel was assigned to the No. 2 ("Malpas") sub-district of the Wrexham Registration District; which, initially, was co-extensive with the Wrexham poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Marchwiel are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Wrexham XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Wrexham 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

Marchwiel - on wikipedia

Various landscapes/buildings   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see pictures of Marchwiel which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Marchwiel to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Marchwiel has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 499.
  • In 1901- the population was 626.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 3316 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]