Marchwiel

• Book of reference to the plan of the Parish of Marchwiel (Hundred of Bromfield) in the county of Denbigh : Major-General Sir Henry James, Director-General of the Ordnance Survey.     London : Eyre & Spottiswoode for H.M.S.O., 1873.         
• Emery, Gordon.    Marchwiel         Chester : G Emery, 1999.
• Rees, Cynthia.      A history of the parish of Marchwiel          Wrexham : Bridge Books, 1998.
• Rees,Cynthia M.      Kenrick Edisbury of Marchwiel and Deptford (c.1580-1638), Surveyor of His Majesty's ships       Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 52 (2003), p.53-80.

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 357477.

"The church, dedicated to St. Marcellus, was rebuilt in 1789, and enlarged and repaired in 1829."
[ A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Church of St Deiniol and St Marcella - on CPAT

 ST MARCELLUS'S CHURCH, MARCHWIEL   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Marchwiel :

Parish Registers

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
  They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at the A.N. Palmer Library, Wrexham, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

• Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Marcella's, Marchwiel.

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Marchwiel was assigned to the No. 2 ("Malpas") sub-district of the Wrexham Registration District; which, initially, was co-extensive with the Wrexham poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Marchwiel are in the format :

• Years 1837 - 1851: Wrexham XXVII. nnn
• Years 1851 - 1930: Wrexham 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Marchwiel - on wikipedia

Various landscapes/buildings   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Marchwiel to another place.

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Map of Marchwiel parish in the County of Denbigh   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ348470 (Lat/Lon: 53.016277, -2.972918), Marchwiel which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• In 1831- the population was 499.
• In 1901- the population was 626.
  [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

• Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 3316 acres.
  [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]