Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Minera

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Minera

"An extensive chapelry, in that part of the parish of Wrexham which is in the hundred of Bromfield, county of Denbigh, in the Union of Wrexham, 4 miles (W by N) from Wrexham; containing, in 1841, 628 inhabitants. The chapelry comprises the western portion of the parish, and abounds with mineral wealth. ..... It is bounded on the north by the river Alyn, which rises in this hilly district. The greater portion of the inhabitants are engaged in the mines, consisting of iron, lead and coal, the last wrought to a considerable extent." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The new parish of Minera was formed by an Order in Council on 23 May 1844 (gazetted on 6 December 1844) from the townships of Minera and Esclusham Above, which until then had been in the parish of Wrexham.
In 1865, another Order in Council added to Minera that part of the township of Bersham which lay west of Offa's Dyke.
In 1879, a large part of the township of Esclusham Above was transferred from Minera to the new parish of Esclusham.

topup

Bibliography

  • Bennett, John (ed).     Industrial Minera : produced by the Welsh Mines Preservation Trust in acknowledgement of the restoration of the Minera Mines by Wrexham Maelor Borough Council Wrexham : Wrexham Maelor Borough Council, 1995.
  • Burtch, Ruth.   More on Minera Moors         Hel achau, No. 102 (Medi / September 2009), p. 28
  • Christiansen, Rex.    The Wrexham & Minera Joint Railway          Railway World 48 (1987), p. 87-90
  • Cliffe, Tom.    The limestone trail, Minera        Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (1990), p. 45-47
  • Davies,  Clifford J.    Minera victory celebrations       Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 44 (Spring 2000), p. 18-20
  • Davies, Glyn.    Minera     New ed.         Wrexham : Bridge Books, [1994?]
  • Davies, J C.     Minera         Clwyd Veteran & Vintage Machinery Society, 1981.
  • Harrison, Julie.   The William and John Jones Convalescent Home, Minera, Wrexham         Hel achau, No. 106 (Medi / September 2010), p. 12-14
  • Porter, Jane.      Bats, mines and triffids [Minera Lead Mines reclamation scheme]         Landscape Design 181 (1989), p. 45-7
  • Silvester, R J.   The Minera Halvans site      Industrial Archaeology Review 15 (1993), p. 208-10
topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 269519.
It is believed that there was a Chapel of Ease (to Wrexham) on the present site as early as 1577. In 1730, the district was combined with Berse, which was also a Chapel of Ease to Wrexham., an arrangement which stayed in force until Minera became a parish in its own right in 1844.
The original Chapel was probably constructed of wood. It was reconstructed between 1728 and 1733; and a gallery was added in 1815. It was demolished in 1864, and a new Church was built in 1865, preserving the shape and interior of the old building. The new Church was opened in September 1866.
Archdeacon Thomas notes that : "On the entrance step the height of the Church above sea level has been carved in the stone - 838 feet 4 inches above sea level".

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

A district church (or chapel of ease) to Minera was opened at Coedpoeth  (see under Wrexham) in 1894,  dedicated to St. Tudfyl.

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Minera :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Gwynfryn Wesleyans 194
Hermon, New Brighton Wesleyans 132
Penybryn, Mynglawdd Wesleyans 160
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at the A.N. Palmer Library, Wrexham, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1786 - 1894 1845 - 1927 1847 - 1915
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1772 - 1820 None None

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1772 - 1859 None

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Mary's, Minera.
topup

Civil Registration

Having been formed from townships of the ancient parish of Wrexham, the parish of Minera was assigned to the Wrexham Registration District.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Minera are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Wrexham XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Wrexham 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

Minera - on wikipedia

Various landscapes/buildings   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see pictures of Minera which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Minera to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Minera has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup
topup

Occupations

The Story of Minera Lead Mines - on Wrexham.gov.uk

 Various items -  on the People's Collection Wales site

  • Minera Lead Mines  
  • Minera Quarry
  • Limekilns in Minera Quarry
  • Minera Lead Miners
  • Meadow Shaft engine house
  • Olwen, Minera Quarry shunting engine
  • William Davies - last man killed at the Minera Lead Mines [1908] 
topup

Population

  • In 1831- this was not a separate parish.
  • In 1901- the population was 5826.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Social life and Customs

Minera Football Club 1930-1935   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 5455 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]