We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Rossett

The new parish of Rossett was formed by an Order in Council on 30 June 1840, from the townships of Allington (Trefalyn), Burton, and Marford & Hoseley, which until then had been in the parish of Gresford. At that time, the area of the parish was 6780 acres.
In November 1851, part of the township of Gwersyllt was transferred from Rossett to the new parish of Gwersyllt.

Bibliography

  • A late Bronze Age hoard from Trevalyn Farm, Rossett, Wrexham Adam Gwilt et. al.       Studia Celtica, Vol. 39, (2005), p. 27-61.
  • Brown, Roger L.    Mr Stone of Rossett          Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), 44 (1995), p. 61-73
  • Jones, Helen Maurice.    The spirit of Rossett Marford and Gresford :           Ashbourne : Landmark, 2002.

Church History

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Rossett Christ Church

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 365572.
There is believed to have been a chapel of ease in Rossett by the early seventeenth century.
The new parish church was built in 1841, and was consecrated as Christ Church. It was apparently of somewhat eccentric design, both inside and outside - Archdeacon Thomas describes its alleged defects in considerable detail.
The foundation stone of a completely new building was laid on 1 May 1891, after the Vicar (Rev. Vowler Wickham) had spent many years in attempting to have something done. He died just before the church was due to be consecrated; and he was buried in the churchyard on the day of the consecration - All Saint's Day, 1892.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Nonconformist Churches "Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civilparish of Rossett ( orAllington) :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Not named Calvinistic Methodists (English language) 300
Lavister and Trevalyn
(worked jointly)
Congregationalists (English language) 90
Not named Primitive Methodists (English language) 70

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at the A.N. Palmer Library, Wrexham, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1840 - 1944 1841 - 1939 1841 - 1916

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1847 - 1857 1847 - 1857

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for Christ Church, Rossett.

Civil Registration

The new parish of Rossett was assigned to the Wrexham Registration District.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Rossett are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Wrexham XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Wrexham 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Rossett which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Rossett has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ369572 (Lat/Lon: 53.108226, -2.944066), Rossett which are provided by:

Population

  • In 1831- this was not a separate parish.
  • In 1901- the population was 1426.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 4483 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]