Denbighshire
Contents
Wrexham / Wrecsam
"A market town, a parliamentary borough, the head of a Union, and a parish, chiefly in the hundred of Bromfield, county of Denbigh; 26 miles (SE by E) from Denbigh, 18 (ESE) from Ruthin, and 187½ (NW) from London; ..... and containing 12,921 inhabitants, of whom 5818 are in the townships of Wrexham Abbot and Wrexham Regis, forming the town."
[
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1849, Samuel Lewis]
The ancient parish of Wrexham comprised the townships of Abenbury Fawr, Abenbury Fechan, Acton, Bersham, Bieston, Broughton, Brymbo, Borras Hwfa, Esclusham Above, Esclusham Below, Gourton, Minera, Stansty, Wrexham Abbot and Wrexham Regis.
The townships of Erddig and Erlas, which were surrounded by other Wrexham townships, were in fact detached parts of the parish of Gresford.
On 23 May 1844, by an Order in Council (gazetted on 6 December 1844) the townships of Minera and Esclusham Above went to the new parish of Minera.
On 6 December 1844, by an Order in Council, the township of Brymbo and part of the township of Broughton went to the new parish of Brymbo.
In 1851, the township of Borras Hwfa was transferred to Gresford; and the townships of Erddig and Erlas were transferred from Gresford to Wrexham.
In November 1851, part of the township of Stansty went to the new parish of Gwersyllt.
In 1865, by an Order in Council, that part of the township of Bersham which lay west of Offa's Dyke was added to the parish of Minera.
In 1879, by an Order in Council, the townships of Erddig, Esclusham Below, and a portion of Esclusham Above went to the new parish of Esclusham.
In 1886, by an Order in Council, the townships of Acton, Bieston and Gourton went to the new parish of Rhosddu.
On 15 February 1909, by an Order in Council, part of the township of Broughton went to the new parish of Broughton.
On 7 May 1921, parts of the townships of Bersham and Stansty went to the new parish of Southsea.
In 1934, further parts of the same townships went to the new parish of Bersham.
Archives
Wrexham Archives and Local Studies Service
- Blackwell, Colin. From Wrexham to Fromelles (a Boy Soldiers short life)
Hel achau, No. 104 (Mawrth / March 2010), p. 54-59.
- Bordessa, D.
Old Wrexham [S.l.] : Adebo Press, c2008.
- Boyd, James I. C.
The Wrexham, Mold and Connah's Quay railway Oxford : Oakwood Press, 1991
- Brooks, Ron. Rochdale, Wrexham, and the University tutorial class movement in north-west Wales, 1907-14 (NLW's site)
Welsh History Review 20
- Byrne, Kathryn.
St Mary's Cathedral Wrexham Werxham : Bridge Books, 2007.
- Chaloner, Joan.
Wrexham hospitals Wrexham : Bridge Books, 2005.
- Chirk Castle, Wrexham / Ymddiriedolaeth Genedlaethol = The National Trust. Rev. ed [Swindon?] : National Trust, 2007 [reprinted 2009]
- Cliffe, Vic. Helping the needy in Wrexham
Hel achau, No. 93 (July 2007), p. 14-15
- Crocker's Wrexham directory and postal guide for 1881-82, ... Shrewsbury : Crocker, [1881]
- Davies, Gareth M. and Peter Jones.
Wrexham Football Club, 1872-1950 Stroud, Gloucs. : Tempus, 2000.
- Davies, Grahame.
Real Wrexham Bridgend : Seren, 2007.
- Davies, Jonathan. John Bury and the emerging middle class of Victorian Wrexham
Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 55 (2007), p. 144-164.
- Dodd, A H (ed).
A History of Wrexham, Denbighshire Wrexham 1990 (& 1957)
- Early Methodism in and around Wrexham c.1750-1805 / by the editor.
Bathafarn, Vol. 18 (1963), p. 22-41
- Fletcher, Allan. Richard Gwyn - Wrexham's martyr
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 49 (Autumn 2002), p. 10-12
- Herbert, Reg.
Wrexham and district Wrexham : Wrexham Advertising Services, [1996?]
- Hornsey, Brian.
Ninety years of cinema in Wrexham [Wrexham] : Brian Hornsey, 1990.
- Jones, Beryl M. The clockmakers and watchmakers of Wrexham 1650-1900
Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 56 (2008), p. 101-120
- Jones, Derek M. and Beryl M.
Wrexham breweries and inns Wrexham : Bridge Books, 2001.
- Jones, John Solicitor, Wrexham.
Wrexham and its neighbourhood 2nd ed. Wrexham : R. Potter, 1868.
- Jones, Peter.
Wrexham Derby : Breedon, 1992.
- Jones, Russell H.
Wrexham villages Volume 1, West. Wrexham : Bridge Books, 1991.
- Linnard, William. Richard Joynson and Thomas Hampson of Wrexham, clockmakers
Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 57 (2009), p. 56-63.
- Lloyd, H A (ed)
Wrexham and District Wrexham 1970
- Lloyd, Terry.
Wrexham and district guide Wrexham : Wrexham Advertising Services, 1989.
- Nineteenth century Wrexham : Ltd ed: 400 copies. Wrexham : Wrexham Library & Information Service, 1997.
- Palmer, Alfred N.
A history of the older nonconformity of Wrexham and its neighbourhood Wrexham 1888
- Palmer, Alfred Neobard.
History of the town of Wrexham Wrexham : Bridge Books, 1997.
- Palmer, Alfred Neobard.
History of the thirteen country townships of the old parish of Wrexham, and of the townships of Burras Riffri, Erlas, & Erddig Wrexham : Printed for the author by Hughes and Son, 1903.
- Pratt, Derrick. Memories of the Wrexham and Ellesmere Railway, 2, a personal odyssey
Denbighshire Historical Society 48 1999
- Pratt, Derrick. One small corner of Wrexham
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 48 (Spring 2002), p. 1-4
- Pratt, Derrick. Wrexham area Home Guard, 1940-44. [Part 2], Dad's Army
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 37 (Autumn 1996), p. 26-32
- Pratt, Derrick. Fourteenth-century Wrexham
Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 55 (2007), p. 19-65.
- Pratt, Derrick. Towards mapping the Wrexham coalfield
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 61 (Winter 2009/10), p. 14-22
- Pratt, Derrick. A Wrexham Castle?
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 62 (Spring 2010), p. 23-29
- Roberts, John Howell. Lost houses in and about Wrexham
Hel achau, No. 104 (Mawrth / March 2010), p. 33-35
- Shone, Arthur N.
Wrexham races Wrexham : Snowy Publications, 1991.
- Shone, Isaac.
Wrexham: its present sanitary condition Wrexham : Bayley and Bradley, Printers and Publishers, 1876.
- Smith, Gillian.
Guide to Wrexham Parish Church Wrexham : St. Giles Parish Church, Wrexham, 1988.
- The late Mr Alfred Neobard Palmer, of Wrexham : Wrexham : Wrexham Advertiser, 1915.
- The Official Guide to Wrexham Ed J Burrows & co Ltd 19??
- Wicklen, S I.
History of Wrexham printing Conwy : Cader Idris Books, [1988]
- Williams, Gwyneth.
Wrexham and district Loggerheads : S.B. Publications, 1990
- Williams, W. Allister.
Old Wrexham Wrexham : Bridge Books, 1988; and several other vols
- Williams, W. Allister.
The encyclopaedia of Wrexham Wrexham : Bridge Books, 2001.
- Williamson, Val.
Wrexham's railway ; illustrations by Norah Sakwa ; photographs by Mandy Bainbridge. Mold : Clwyd Centre for Educational Technology, c1984.
- Wrexham Directory 1886 Hawarden 1981
- Wrexham illustrated : Brighton : Robinson, Son and Pike, [1892?]
- Wrexham in the Welsh Marches of Denbighshire 8th ed Cheltenham 1954
Church History
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civiladministrative district of Wrexham Regis :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Bradley Road |
Baptists (English language) |
100 |
| Chester Street |
Baptists (English language) |
180 |
| Penybryn |
Baptists |
200 |
| Rhosddu |
Baptists |
58 |
| Bersham Road |
Calvinistic Methodists (English language) |
320 |
| Hill Street |
Calvinistic Methodists (English language) |
300 |
| Smithfield Road |
Calvinistic Methodists (English language) |
150 |
| Victoria Hall |
Calvinistic Methodists (English language) |
420
(plus 68 at Pentrefelin) |
| Zion |
Calvinistic Methodists |
500 |
| Chester Street |
Congregationalists (English language) |
235 |
| Pen y Bryn, Salusbury Park |
Congregationalists (English language) |
400 |
| Queen Street |
Congregationalists |
350 |
| Lord Street |
FC
(sic) (English language) |
100 |
| Brynyffynnon |
Wesleyans (English language) |
375 |
| Hampden Road |
Wesleyans |
95 |
| Hightown Mission |
Wesleyans (English language) |
221 |
| Jerusalem, Egerton Street |
Wesleyans |
258 |
| Talbot Road |
Primitive Methodists (English language) |
130 |
| King Street Mission House |
Christians (English) |
70 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at the A.N. Palmer Library, Wrexham, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| |
Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| All Churches |
1618 - 1988 |
1632 - 1989 |
1620 - 1977 |
| St. John's |
1977 - 1985 |
1975 - 1985 |
|
| St. Mark's |
1870 - 1930 |
|
|
St. Michael's
(Renamed as All Saints in 1986) |
|
1979 - 1986
1986 - 1992 |
|
| St. Peter's |
1973 - 1985 |
1979 only |
|
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1618 - 1812 |
1632 - 1813 |
1620 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1662 - 1858 |
1711 - 1823 |
- Bishop's Transcripts for 1858 to 1870 have been deposited in the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
I.G.I.
- There are no official I.G.I. entries for Wrexham.
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Wrexham area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Denbighshire Record Office, the Flintshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
The baptisms have also been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| Abbot Street |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1811 - 1837 |
Old Meeting House,
Chester Street |
Independent / Baptist |
Births and Baptisms |
1779 - 1837 |
| Pentrefelin |
Independent |
Births and Baptisms |
1832 - 1837 |
| Pen y Bryn |
Independent |
Baptisms |
1784 - 1837 |
| Wern |
Independent |
Births and Baptisms |
1808 - 1837 |
| Brynffynnon |
Wesleyan |
Births and Baptisms |
1818 - 1837 |
| Salop Road |
Wesleyan |
Baptisms |
1813 - 1837 |
- The following nonconformist registers for the Wrexham area are held either at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin (DRO) or at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth (NLW).
The Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices have photocopies of those registers which have been deposited in the National Library.
These registers have not been filmed; and they have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
Held at |
Rhosddu Cemetery,
Chester Street |
Baptist |
Burials |
1864 - 1904 |
DRO |
| Abbot Street |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Baptisms |
1811 - 1888 |
|
| Seion, Regent Street |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Baptisms |
1707 - 1718 |
NLW |
| Seion, Regent Street |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Baptisms |
1811 - 1960 |
|
| Seion, Regent Street |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Burials |
1715 - 1718 |
NLW |
| Victoria Hall |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1958 - 1981 |
|
| Ebeneser, Queen Street |
Congregational |
Marriages |
1982 - 1984 |
DRO |
| Poyser Street |
Methodist |
Baptisms |
1965 - 1966 |
DRO |
| Poyser Street |
Methodist |
Marriages |
1912 - 1972 |
DRO |
| "Circuit" |
Primitive Methodist |
Baptisms |
1843 - 1884 |
DRO |
| "Circuit" |
Wesleyan |
Baptisms |
1855 - 1896 |
DRO |
| Brynffynnon |
Wesleyan |
Marriages |
1863 - 1889
1899 - 1970 |
DRO |
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Wrexham was assigned to the No. 4 ("Wrexham") sub-district of the Wrexham Registration District; which, initially, was co-extensive with the Wrexham poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Wrexham are in the format :
- Years 1837 - 1851: Wrexham XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1851 - 1930: Wrexham 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Wrexham County Borough Council
Wrexham - on wikipedia
Welcome to Wrexham
Wrexham.com - "Independent local
news, reviews, information and forums"
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
On Clwyd
FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links
to pages for the parish church
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Population
- In 1831- the population was 11,521.
- In 1901- the population was 15,821.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 9 Jan 2013 - Gareth Hicks