We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

A Flintshire Bibliography - Books of General Interest for Family Historians

 

It is acknowledged that one of the principal sources of the details of books etc included  on these pages
is the online catalogues of the National Library of Wales

Bibliography

  • Bibliography             Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.8  1921   Welsh Journals Online
  • Harries, E R.       Bibliography of the county of Flint. Part I, Biographical sources          Mold : Flint County Library, 1953.

Biography

  • Ellis, Mary              Angharad Llwyd 1780-1866           Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.26  1973/74     Welsh Journals Online   and Part II      Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 27  1975/76   Welsh Journals Online
  • Jones, W Bell         An autobiography of John Boydell, the engraver           Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.11  1925    Welsh Journals Online
  • Mostyn, Lord      Piers Mostyn, the First, of Talacre          Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.11  1925    Welsh Journals Online
  • Thomas, Ben Bowen Sir            Sir John Herbert Lewis           Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 18 1960   Welsh Journals Online
  • Veysey, A Geoffrey              Sit Stephen Glynne, 1807-94          Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 30  1981/2      Welsh Journals Online  

Church History

  • Brooke, Christopher Prof.       The Church and the Welsh border in the tenth and eleventh century           Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 21 1964     Welsh Journals Online
  • Jones, Ieuan Gwynedd              Church-building in Flintshire in the mid-nineteenth century           Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 29  1979/80    Welsh Journals Online  
  • Jones, W Bell           Ancient stained and painted glass in Flintshire         Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.11  1925    Welsh Journals Online
  • Jones-Pierce, T            Einion ap Ynyr (Anian II); Bishop of St Asaph        Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.17  1957     Welsh Journals Online
  • Seaborne, Malcolm.   Early Flintshire chapel plans     Capel, 18 (1992), p. 10-14
  • Seaborne, Malcolm         Victorian and later stained glass in Flintshire churches        Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 35  1999   Welsh Journals Online   
  • Some early Flintshire chapels.    Capel, 17 (Hydref / Autumn 1992), p. 5-7
  • Statistics of the churches in the Cheshire, Denbighshire, Flintshire and Lancashire Presbytery.      Liverpool : Isaac Foulkes, Printer, [1888?]

Church Records

  • A.J. Veysey. Guide to the Parish Records of Clwyd, Clwyd County Council, 1984, 123p.
    This is the standard guide to Flintshire's parish registers and other parish records. The former Clwyd Record Office has from time to time published "update" leaflets.

Court Records

  • A table of fees, to be taken by clerks to the justices of the peace, within the County of Flint.      Mold : Albion-Press, 1843.
  • Ellis, Bryn.  Coroners inquests in Flintshire 1810-1829. Part 1        Hel achau, No. 63 (Feb. 2000), p. 28-31.
  • Ellis, Bryn.  Coroners inquests in Flintshire 1810-1829. Part 2        Hel achau, No. 64 (May 2000), p. 4-8.
  • Ellis, Bryn.  Flintshire Quarter Sessions rolls, 1752-1830     Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 36    2003   Welsh Journals Online  
  • Pratt, Derrick.   A calendar of the Flintshire Quarter Sessions Rolls 1747-1752        Hawarden : Clwyd Record Office, 1983.

Description and Travel

  • Beazley, Elisabeth et al.  North Wales   Faber 1971
  • Bingley, W.  North Wales   Ruthin 1998
  • Cathrall, William.  A Guide through North Wales    London 1860
  • Edwards, J M.    Flintshire    Cambridge : University Press, 1914.
  • Evans, J. A topographical and historical description of Flintshire    London : Printed for Sherwood, Neely, and Jones, 1810.
  • Evans, Saml.   The hundreds of Englefield otherwise Tegeingl              Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.3  1913   Welsh Journals Online
  • Flintshire Roads.   London 1833
  • Flintshire Towns: Connah's Quay, Holywell, Mold     Fourth revision.  Tenterden : Estate Publications, 2000.
  • Fraser, Maxwell.      The official guide to the County of Flint       London : County Associations Ltd., [1950]
  • Jennett, Sean   North Wales   London 1972
  • Lloyd, George     Flintshire pack-horse bridges         Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.17  1957     Welsh Journals Online
  • Lloyd, George        The canalisation of the river Dee in 1737         Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 23 1967/8      Welsh Journals Online
  • Note on the boundaries of medieval Flintshire         Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.8  1921   Welsh Journals Online
  • Potts, Henry     Archaeological notes; an ancient track along the Clwydian hills
  • Pratt, Derrick           The topographical prints of Flintshire          Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 22 1965/6     Welsh Journals Online    
  • Pratt, Derrick.  The Duke of Beaufort's progress through north Wales (1684). Part III, Through Flintshire     Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 25 (October 1990), p. 3-10
  • Pritchard, R T              The roads and turnpike trusts of Flintshire            Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 21 1964     Welsh Journals Online
  • Roberts, Dewi.  The old villages of Denbighshire and Flintshire     Llanrwst : Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 1999
  • Samworth, Donna (ed).     Hidden treasures : Flintshire    Peterborough : Young Writers, 2002.
  • Sketches of some parts of Denbighshire and Flintshire  by M. L. L. ?    Liverpool : Printed by J. Tomlinson, Wapping, 1831        
  • Taylor, M V       Roman Flintshire: with a note on a road from St Asaph to Holywell              Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.9  1922   Welsh Journals Online
  • The county handbook of Flintshire. [1970].       Cheltenham : Burrow, [1970]
  • Thompson, Peter.  Conwy, Denbighshire and Flintshire     Salisbury : Frith, 2005.
  • Tout, T F.   Flintshire   Mold : Flintshire Historical Society, 1911?
  • Varley, W J          Wat's Dyke at Mynydd Isa, Flintshire         Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 27  1975/76   Welsh Journals Online
  • Williams,  Peter Howell (ed) A visit to north-east Wales, 1798 / Henry Jones  Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 30 (Spring 1993), p. 7-15

Directories

  • Porter, Frank.  Postal Directory of Flintshire and Denbighshire    Liverpool 1886       

Emigration and Immigration

  • Jenkins, Geraint H      From Ysgeifiog to Pennsylvania; the rise of Thomas Wynne, Quaker Barber-Surgeon      Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 28  1977/78   Welsh Journals Online  
  • Jones, Maldwyn A              From the old country to the new: the Welsh in nineteenth-century America       Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 27  1975/76   Welsh Journals Online

History

  • Bevan-Evans, M            Industrial archaeology in Flintshire            Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 20 1962     Welsh Journals Online
  • Edwards, J G     Flintshire since 1801          Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.15  1954/5   Welsh Journals Online  
  • Edwards, Goronwy             Flintshire 100 hundred years ago            Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.17  1957     Welsh Journals Online
  • Evans, R Paul           The Flintshire Loyalist Association and the Loyal Holywell Volunteers      Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 33  1992    Welsh Journals Online  
  • Forde-Johnson, J         Fieldwork and the hillforts of north Wales             Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 21 1964     Welsh Journals Online
  • Foulkes, F J Prof.           Glimpses of Hanoverian Flintshire          Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 24 1969/70      Welsh Journals Online
  • Grose, Francis.   The Antiquities of the County of Flintshire      London : John Gray Bell, 1849.
  • Gruffydd, K Lloyd          The vale of Clwyd corn riots of 1740        Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 27  1975/76   Welsh Journals Online
  • Gruffydd, R Geraint           A Welsh poet falls at the Battle of Coleshill, 1157: Cynddelw Brydydd Mawr's elegy for Bleddyn Fardd o Powys        Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 36    2003   Welsh Journals Online  
  • Jones-Mortimer, H M C  L/Col        Some notes on Sheriff's expenses past and present         Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 21 1964     Welsh Journals Online
  • Lloyd, J E Prof.    Edward 1. and the county of Flint            Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.6  1917   Welsh Journals Online
  • Lynch, Frances.  Prehistoric funerary and ritual monuments in Flintshire and Wrexham      Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 36    2003   Welsh Journals Online  
  • Messham, J E         The County of Flint and the rebellion of Owen Glyndwr in the records of the Earldom of Chester, Part I ; the course of the rebellion           Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 23 1967/8      Welsh Journals Online
  • Notes and catalogue for the Flintshire and Denbighshire Historical Exhibition         1902?
  • Parry, Edward.     Historical researches on the Flintshire castles         Chester : T. Griffith pr., 1830.
  • Pratt, Derrick          Marford and Hoseley; a fifteenth-century's minister's accounts        Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.26  1973/74     Welsh Journals Online
  • Richards, P S             Sudies of Flintshire in university theses        Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 24 1969/70      Welsh Journals Online
  • Taylor, A J      The events of Palm Sunday, 1282  (a further record)             Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.13  1952/3   Welsh Journals Online
  • Taylor, Henry     The arms of Flintshire          Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.11  1925    Welsh Journals Online
  • Tout, TF         Flintshire: its history and its records        Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 1 1911   Welsh Journals Online
  • Williams, C R.(ed)   The History of Flintshire vol I   From Earliest Times to the Act of Union .  Denbigh 1961

Land and Property

  • Carr, A. D.    Lineage, power and land in Medieval Flintshire        Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 36    2003   Welsh Journals Online  
  • Palmer, Alfred N.  A history of ancient tenures of land in the marches of North Wales   Wrexham 1885
  • Tait, James Prof.     Flintshire in Domesday book              Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.11  1925    Welsh Journals Online

Language and Languages

  • Breton,  Marie-Catherine le.   Bilingualism in Flintshire     Rennes : [Université de Haute-Bretagne], 1972.

Maps

  • Map of Flintshire in 1285         Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.8  1921   Welsh Journals Online
  • Map to illustrate the Roman antiquities of Flintshire             Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.9  1922   Welsh Journals Online
  • Pratt, Derrick              A local border dispute             Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 21 1964     Welsh Journals Online

Military History

  • Evans,  R. Paul.  The Flintshire Loyalist Association and the Loyal Holywell Volunteers     Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 33, (1992), p. 54-68
  • Hughes, Eric.    The Flintshire Territorial Regiment       Rhyl : Eric Hughes, [2002?]
  • Metcalfe,  Peter R.   Memoir of the Flintshire Yeomanry Cavalry 1838. Part 1     Hel achau, No. 59 (Feb. 1999), p. 37-40         
  • Metcalfe, Peter R.     Memoir of the Flintshire Yeomanry Cavalry 1838. Part 2       Hel achau, No. 60 (May 1999), p. 13-17
  • Wallis, Gillian        North Wales receives; an account of the first Government Evacuation Scheme, 1939/40          Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 32  1989     Welsh Journals Online  

Names, Geographical

  • Gruffydd, K. Lloyd.   Flintshire place-names       Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 31 (Autumn 1993), p. 14-21
  • Gruffydd,  K. Lloyd.   Some Flintshire place-names revisited    Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 39 (Autumn 1997), p. 19-21
  • Gruffydd, : K. Lloyd.  Flintshire place-names       Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 40 (Spring 1998), p. 15
  • Gruffydd,  K. Lloyd. Flintshire place-names     Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 44 (Spring 2000), p. 28-29
  • Owen, Hywel Wyn.  The Place Names of East Flintshire  UWP  1994

Newspapers

  • Tennant, Rowland.    The history of the Flintshire County Herald     Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 53 (Spring 2005), p. 20-22

Occupations

  • Bevan-Evans, M           Gadlys and Flintshire lead-mining in the eighteenth century         Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 18 1960   Welsh Journals Online     and Part II   Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 19 1961   Welsh Journals Online   and Part III     Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 20 1962     Welsh Journals Online
  • Burt, Roger et al (eds)   Mines of Flintshire and Denbighshire   Exeter 1992
  • Connolly, Andrew      Life in the Victorian brickyards of Flintshire and Denbighshire         Llanrwst : Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 2003.
  • Ellis, Bryn.  Limestone quarrying in north east Wales before 1900    Welsh History Review 18 on Welsh Journals Online
  • Ellis, Bryn                 Vim, the Flintshire connection       Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 34  1996   Welsh Journals Online  
  • Foulkes, Edward J            The cotton spinning factories of Flintshire, 1777-1866         Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 21 1964     Welsh Journals Online
  • Gildart, Keith.   Militancy, moderation and the struggle against company unionism in the north Wales coalfield (1926-44) [Point of Ayr]   Welsh History Review 20 on Welsh Journals Online
  • Gruffydd, K. Lloyd.  The export of Flintshire coal before the industrial revolution        Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 34  1996   Welsh Journals Online  
  • Gruffydd, K Lloyd        Coal-mining in Flintshire during the later Middle Ages       Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 30  1981/2      Welsh Journals Online  
  • Hughes, D R.    Post-war industry in north-east Flintshire   Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 26 (April 1991), p. 2-10
  • Hughes, D. R.  The London Lead Company in Flintshire 1692-1730     Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 51 (Autumn 2003), p. 20-26
  • Linnard, William            A Swedish visitor to Flintshire in 1760            Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 30  1981/2      Welsh Journals Online  
  • Neaverson, E           Medieval quarrying in north eastern Wales      Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.14  1953/4   Welsh Journals Online
  • Richards, Peter S        Viscose rayon manufacture on Deeside       Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 23 1967/8      Welsh Journals Online
  • Rogers, Emlyn            Labour struggles in Flintshire, 1830/50         Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.14  1953/4   Welsh Journals Online  and Part II    Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.15  1954/5   Welsh Journals Online
  • Sharp, John.   Sergeant Sharp, a Flintshire policeman     Hel achau, No. 78 (Oct. 2003), p. 22-25
  • Thomas, Colin     Seasonality in agricultural activity patterns; examples from estates in the vale of Clwyd, 1815-71   Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.26  1973/74   Welsh Journals Online
  • Veysey, A Geoffrey      The early years of the Flintshire Constabulory, 1856-88          Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 35  1999   Welsh Journals Online  
  • Webster, Graham            The lead mining industry in north Wales in Roman times           Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.13  1952/3   Welsh Journals Online
  • Wicklen, Stan.  History of papermaking in Flintshire       Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 31 (Autumn 1993), p. 2-5, 26

Politics and Government

  • A list of the names and residences of all the high sheriffs of the County of Flint from 1300 to 1963 / as prepared by the late Edward Breese. With additions from subsequent authorities prepared by H.M.C. Jones-Mortimer         Aylesbury, Eng. : H. Watson & Viney], 1964.
  • Dodd, A H     Flintshire politics in the seventeenth century         Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.14  1953/4   Welsh Journals Online
  • Evans, D G         The Hope Enclosure Act of 1791            Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 31  1983/4     Welsh Journals Online  
  • Jones, J Graham.   George Bernard Shaw and Flintshire politics   Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 36    2003   Welsh Journals Online  
  • Jones, T L.   A comparative study of local authority preparations for nuclear war in north-eastern Wales, 1948-68      Welsh History Review 20 on Welsh Journals Online
  • Morgan, Kenneth O         Lloyd George's Flintshire loyalist: the political achievement of John Herbert Lewis          Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 36    2003   Welsh Journals Online  
  • Taylor, Henry & others            Sir George Wynne Baronet, MP (Flint District Boroughs 1727-41)          Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.9  1922   Welsh Journals Online & Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.11  1925    Welsh Journals Online

Public Records

  • Flint Pleas 1283-1285    [+ extract for 1310]    Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.8  1921   Welsh Journals Online
  • Ministers' Accounts, Chester, bundle 771; Chamberlains' Accounts - various 1301-1327    Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.3  1913   Welsh Journals Online
  • The palatinate of Chester and Flint             Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.9  1922   Welsh Journals Online

Religion and Religious Life

  • Jones, Arthur.(ed)   Flintshire Ministers' accounts.     Prestatyn, 1913. 
  • Richards, Thomas Dr.           Flintshire and the puritan movement               Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.13  1952/3   Welsh Journals Online

Schools

  • Griffith, D Geraint.  The plus and minus of being in adult classes before the war (1939) in Flintshire. [Part 1]    Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 28 (Spring 1992), p. 20-22
  • Griffith, D. Geraint.   Adult education in post war Flintshire : [Part 1]      Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 29 (Autumn 1992), p. 14-17
  • Griffith, D. Geraint.   Adult education in post war Flintshire : [Part 2]   Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 30 (Spring 1993), p. 16-18
  • Griffith,  D. Geraint.  Some constraints and challenges facing adult education in Flintshire during the war and immediate post-war years (1939-48)  Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 33  1992    Welsh Journals Online  
  • Seaborne, M V J.   Education and school building in Flintshire during the early Victorian period    Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 33  1992    Welsh Journals Online  

Social Life and Customs

  • A short history of the Flint & Denbigh Hunt         London 1953
  • Briggs, Stephen           Captain William Latham, topographical artist in Flintshire, 1816-25       Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 28  1977/78   Welsh Journals Online  
  • Carr, A D      Some seventeenth-century remedies           Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 24 1969/70      Welsh Journals Online
  • Cartrefi a chelfi y bonedd yn siroedd Dinbych a 'r Fflint, 1540-1640     Cof Cenedl  17   2002   
  • Davies, K      The growth and development of settlement and population in Flintshire, 1801 - 1851           Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 25 1971/72     Welsh Journals Online
  • Davies, K        The growth and development of settlement and population in Flintshire, 1851 - 1891         Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.26  1973/74   Welsh Journals Online
  • Davies, K        The growth and development of settlement and population in Flintshire, 1891 - 1931               Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 27  1975/76   Welsh Journals Online
  • Hughes, T. Wesley.   Effect of the depression in Flintshire, 1920s-1930s   Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 32 (Spring 1994), p. 2-8
  • Lloyd, George              Flintshire Dovecotes              Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 22 1965/6     Welsh Journals Online    
  • Mason,  Paul F.  The winter of 1947 in Flintshire   Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 38 (Spring 1997), p. 14-16
  • Masters, Ray.   Social conditions in Denbighshire and Flintshire in the 1840s       Hel achau, No. 85 (July 2005)
  • Pryce, W T R    The census as a major source for the study of Flintshire society in the nineteenth century        Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.26  1973/74   Welsh Journals Online
  • Roberts, Enid     The Renaissance in the vale of Clwyd      Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.15  1954/5   Welsh Journals Online
  • Sylvester, Dorothy.   From tribalism to the landed gentry of Flintshire               Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 31  1983/4     Welsh Journals Online  
  • Sylvester, Dorothy            Settlement patterns in rural Flintshire (excluding Maelor Saesneg)          Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.15  1954/5   Welsh Journals Online
  • Teale, Adrian              The battle against poverty in north Flintshire, c 1660-1714         Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 31  1983/4     Welsh Journals Online  
  • The thirty-seventh annual report of the Flintshire Dispensary...1861.    Holywell : James Davies and Son, [1862]
  • Walls, Shirley.    Women's Land Army in Flintshire     Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 35 (Autumn 1995), p. 5-12
  • Williams, J Gwynn     Witchcraft in seventeenth-century Flintshire            Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.26  1973/74   Welsh Journals Online   and Part II  Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 27  1975/76   Welsh Journals Online

Societies

  • Flintshire Historical Society publications.         Caernavorn, Wales : The Society, -1976.
  • Indexes, various          Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol.8  1921   Welsh Journals Online