Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Buckley
"Buckley is in the County of Flint, North Wales. The neighbouring towns are Chester, 8 miles, Flint 6, Mold 3, and Hawarden 2. It is situated on an eminence about 500 feet above sea level. The River Dee flows 3½ miles below, and the mouth of the Dee and Irish Sea are in view to the North-west. As the breezes blow mainly from that point, its position is rendered very healthful and invigorating. Looking west and south there is a splendid view of the Clwydian range of mountains, Caergwrle castle, etc. The population is about 7000, and its industries are coal-mining, the manufacture of fire-clay bricks, tiles, etc., and pottery earthenware. A century ago it was but a straggling village of a score or so of mud and stone straw-thatched cottages, but coal was mined here 200 years since. ..... With one or two honourable exceptions, the district has never received the assistance it might have had from its absentee landlords and employers. But there are some in its midst, possessed of considerable influence and ability, who are devoting themselves loyally to its needs. May they long remain in its service."
[From
Official Programme - Buckley Jubilee Day Festivities, 8 July 1902]
The town of Buckley developed rapidly during the nineteeth century, straddling the boundary between the ancient parishes of Mold and Hawarden.
For ecclesiastical purposes, the town is now divided between the parishes of Buckley and Bistre.
N.B. The entries below represent only a selection of articles published in
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society -
for further material search the NLW Book catalogue
- Altounyan, Caroline A. Buckley : Part I
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 22 (Spring 1998) p. 12-23
- Altounyan, Caroline A. Buckley : Part II
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 23 (Spring 1999), p. 8-14
- Bentley, James. Buckley bedroom furniture
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 20 (April 1988), p. 15-18
- Bentley, James. 'The Butcher's Pit', Buckley
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 24 - Millennium issue (Spring 2000) p. 34.
- Bithell, Sid. A Buckley man
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 34 (Spring 2010) p. 60-76.
- Buckley pottery : [text by Sheila Tyler]. Llandudno : Mostyn Art Gallery, 1983.
- Chesters, J I. The Buckley Art Society
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 16 (Spring 1992), p. 36-46
- Cole, J. R. and Derrick Pratt. Capel Spon, Buckley, Clwyd
Archaeology in Wales, Vol. 33 (1993), p. 25-30
- Connolly, Andrew. Buckley through the eyes of newspapers
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 31 (Spring 2007) p. 3-7.
- Cropper, Thomas.
Buckley & district New. [Mold] : Clwyd Library and Museum Service, 1987.
- Davies, P.G., C.J. Dawson, J.R. Thomas.
The Buckley Railway album and associated industries [S.l.] : Buckley Society, c2007.
- Dawson, Chris. The barbers of Buckley
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 32 (Spring 2008) p. 10-13.
- Duckworth, Charles. Bringing water to Buckley
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 20 (Spring 1996) p. 24-25
- Duckworth, Charles. Bygone Buckley and the outside world
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 10 (Apr. 1985), p. 8-9
- Dunn, Neville. The Buckley
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 35 (Spring 2011) p. 9-14
- Dunn, Neville. A Buckley hymnist and other family composers
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 33 (Spring 2009) p. 41-48
- Dunn, Neville. Buckley's Duke of York Inn tunnel
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 29 (Spring 2005), p. 58-68
- Ellis, Bryn. The Buckley Brick and Tile Company
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 10 (Apr. 1985), p. 10-13
- Foulkes, J. Buckley Brickyards in the 1880s
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 30 (Spring 2006), p. 14.
- Gregory, Harold The
Little Mountain colliery, Buckley Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 23 1967/8 Welsh
Journals Online
- Gregory, Harold G The
distillation of oil from cannel coal and shales Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 25 1971/72 Welsh
Journals Online
- Gruffydd, K. Lloyd. A brief study of some early Buckley families
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 23 (Spring 1999), p. 24-33
- Gruffydd, K. Lloyd. Aspects of Buckley's social history as seen through school log books. Part I, (1863-1870)
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 24 - Millennium issue (Spring 2000) p. 94-96
- Gruffydd, K. Lloyd. Aspects of Buckley's social history as seen through school log books. Part 2, (1871-1884)
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 27 (Spring 2003), p. 3-8
- Gruffydd, K. Lloyd. Aspects of Buckley's social history as seen through school log books. Part 3, (1885-99)
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 28 (Spring 2004), p. 49-53
- Gwyndaf, Robin [and] Eirlys Gruffydd. A Buckley pot used as a charm
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 10 (Apr. 1985), p. 14-16
- Hodges, Phil. A brief history and development of the Buckley Heritage Trail
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 25 (Spring 2001), 61-64
- Hodnett, Brian D. Buckley's forgotten cemetary
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 31 (Spring 2007) p. 8-11.
- Hodnett, Brian D. Buckley's royal connection
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 24 - Millennium issue (Spring 2000) p. 97
- Jackson, Ephraim. Buckley Bakeries, 1929-1939
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 29 (Spring 2005), p. 51-54.
- Johnson, G. The Buckley telephone exchange, 1896-1936
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 29 (Spring 2005), p. 17-18
- Jones, J Clifford A
history of the schools and education in Buckley Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.15 1954/5 Welsh
Journals Online
- Kelsall, Charles. The Buckley Junction Metallic Brick Company
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 33 (Spring 2009) p. 53-56
- Kelsall, P. Buckley soldiers from the Great War. Part 1
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 29 (Spring 2005), p. 36-46
- Kelsall, Peter. Buckley soldiers from the Great War. Part 2
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 30 (Spring 2006), p. 21-32
- Kelsall, Richard. Buckley boy who 'showed' the way
Country Quest 29/8 (1989), p. 36-7
- Kinnear, John. The Buckley dialect
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 12 (July 1987), p. 29-33
- Lewis, Geraint. Buckley - before her pride
Country Quest 26/9 (1986), p. 36
- Messham, J E The
Buckley Potteries Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.16 1956 Welsh
Journals Online
- Messham, J E A
Ewloe bailiff's account and the origins of the Buckley pottery industry
Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 32 1989 Welsh
Journals Online
- Messham. J E Conflict
on Buckley Common Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 32 1989 Welsh
Journals Online
- Messham, J E Conflict at Buckley
collieries; the strike at the Elm and Maesygrug, 1884/5 Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 33
1992 Welsh
Journals Online
- Roberts, Dewi. Beautiful Buckley
Country Quest. (February 2005), p. 12-13
- Roberts, Gladys Lloyd. Buckley Council School, Padeswood Road, Buckley
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society. No. 30 (Spring 2006), p. 49
- Stanley, Gerald. The butchers' shops of Buckley
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 34 (Spring 2010) p. 48-49.
- The Buckley dialect
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 32 (Spring 2008) p. 16-18.
Cemeteries
In addition to the churchyard of St. Matthew's parish church, and the churchyard of Emmanuel parish church, Bistre, there is a public cemetery in Elfed Road (OS ref. SJ 276642).
The cemetery, which was opened about 1891, is still in use, and is administered by Flintshire County Council. The opening time is 8.00 a.m. until sunset.
The cemetery records, from 1891 to date, are held at the Flintshire County offices in Flint.
Researchers who wish to see the cemetery records
mustmake a prior appointment, by contacting :
A copy of the burial register from 1928-1982 has also been deposited in Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden.
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 284648.
By the early nineteenth century, the Buckley district of the parish of Hawarden was becoming heavily industrialised, with a rapidly increasing population. In 1818 the Rector of Hawarden, Rev. George Neville, decided that the district should have its own church, and launched an appeal for funds. Sufficient funds were quickly raised to build the church, a parsonage, and two schools. The foundation stone of the church was laid on Friday 14 December 1821, with considerable ceremony, and the church was completed within nine months:
"A plain but handsome Gothic structure, embracing an area within sixty-eight feet, by forty-four feet, without pillars, which is divided into three aisles, Middle, North, and South .....
On Wednesday the 25th of September, 1822, the ceremony of consecration took place at this Church; the day was favourable, and from the best observations it was calculated that near two thousand people were assembled ....."
[From
A Memoir of Hawarden Parish, Richard Willett, 1822]
Buckley church remained as a district church within the parish of Hawarden until 12 December 1874, when the parish of Buckley was established in its own right. The new parish comprised the township of Ewloe Wood and parts of the townships of Ewloe Town and Pentrobin.
The church was extensively rebuilt during the early years of the twentieth century, and was re-consecrated on 11 January 1905.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the "Urban District of Buckley". This was a
Civiladministrative district, which included parts of the Ecclesiastical parish of Buckley :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Nantmawr - English |
Baptist |
100 |
| Daisy Hill - English |
Baptist |
100 |
| St. John - English |
Congregational |
550 |
| Mold Road |
Calvinistic Methodist |
140 |
| Zion |
English Presbyterian |
140 |
| Bistre |
Methodist New Connexion |
400 |
| Pentrobin |
Methodist New Connexion |
250 |
| Alltami |
Primitive Methodist |
138 |
| Drury |
Primitive Methodist |
176 |
| Tabernacle |
Primitive Methodist |
500 |
| Not named |
Salvation Army |
100 |
| Brunswick - English |
Wesleyan |
130 |
| Mold Road - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
35 |
| The Square - English |
Wesleyan |
150 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1822 - 1966 |
1841 - 1992 |
1822 - 1978 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1867 - 1872 |
None |
I.G.I.
- There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Matthew's, Buckley.
It should be noted that until 1874, when it became a separate parish, the ecclesiastical district of Buckley did not have specifically defined boundaries within the parish of Hawarden, and its parishioners had the option to be baptised, married or buried in any church of the parish of Hawarden, subject to the consent of the incumbent.
When researching the years 1822 to 1874, a thorough search of all the registers of the parish of Hawarden, especially those of the nearby church of Pentrobin and the parish church in Hawarden, is therefore advisable!
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Buckley and Bistre area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
They have also been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| Buckley Mountain |
Independent |
Births and Baptisms |
1820 - 1836 |
- The following nonconformist registers for the Buckley and Bistre area are held either at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden (FRO), at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin (DRO), or at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth (NLW).
They have not been filmed; and they have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
Held at |
| St. John's |
Congregational |
Baptisms, Marriages and Burials |
1946 - 1982 |
FRO |
| Zion |
English Presbyterian |
Marriages |
1899 - 1966
1973 - 1974 |
NLW |
| Providence, Bistre |
Methodist New Connexion |
Baptisms |
1893 - 1948 |
FRO |
| Providence, Bistre |
Methodist New Connexion |
Baptisms |
1950 - 1977 |
DRO |
Alltami / Drury / Tabernacle, Buckley
("Circuit") |
Primitive Methodist / Methodist |
Baptisms |
1902 - 1989 |
FRO |
| (Not named) |
Wesleyan Methodist |
Baptisms |
1893 - 1948 |
FRO |
| (Not named) |
Wesleyan Methodist |
Baptisms |
1950 - 1977 (photocopies) |
FRO |
| Brunswick |
Wesleyan Methodist |
Baptisms |
1885 - 1935 |
FRO |
| Square |
Wesleyan Methodist |
Baptisms |
1885 - 1933 |
FRO |
- Note - many of the Methodist chapels were grouped into "Circuits", with one set of registers serving the Circuit; and it may not always be possible to identify the particular chapel in which the ceremony was performed.
Over the years, there have been several re-organisations of these Circuits in the eastern part of Flintshire. It is therefore advisable to also search the Methodist registers for the Connah's Quay and Connah's Quay and Hawarden areas.
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced in July 1837, Buckley (being part of Hawarden parish) was assigned to the No. 4 ("Hawarden") sub-district of the Great Boughton Registration District (Cheshire).
On the 1st January 1870, the Great Boughton registration district was re-named as Chester.
On 1 January 1903, the sub-district of Hawarden was upgraded to a Registration District in its own right.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Buckley are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: Gt. Boughton XIX.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1869: Gt. Boughton 8a.
nnn
- Years 1870 - 1902: Chester 8a.
nnn
- Years 1903 - 1946: Hawarden 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Buckley - on wikipedia
Buckley Town Council
Buckley - on BBC Wales
Buckley photographs - on geograph.org.uk
Buckley Society
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Population
- In 1831- Buckley was not a separate parish.
- In 1901- the population was 2949.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish as 2048 acres.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 16 April 2012 - Gareth Hicks