Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Cilcain
"Cilcain is a very ancient village, lying beneth Moel Fammau, the highest of the Clwydian Hills. ... This village lies in the midst, and commands an extensive range, of most beautiful scenery. The cottages and farmhouses are nearly all whitewashed or coloured, and look exceedingly picturesque."
[From
Handy Guide to Mold and the Neighbourhood , Tweddel, 1890]
Cilcain is one of the "ancient parishes" of Flintshire. It originally comprised the seven townships of Cefn, Llan (or Tre'r Llan), Llystynhunydd (or Glust), Llys y Coed, Maes y Groes, Mechlas (or Dolfechlas), and Trellyniau.
On 27 June 1848, the township of Trellyniau and part of the township of Llystynhunydd went to the new parish of Rhesycae.
On 31 March 1865, the remainder of Llystynhunydd, and parts of the townships of Cefn and Mechlas went to the new parish of Rhydymwyn.
- Bevan-Evans, M et al The
excavation of a cairn on Cefn-Goleu near Moel Fammau Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.13 1952/3 Welsh
Journals Online
and Second Report Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.15 1954/5 Welsh
Journals Online
- Cilcain. [Ruthin] : Clwyd Voluntary Services Council, [1985]
- Cilcain and its parish church. Chester [Eng., Printed and pub. for the Architectural, Archaeological, and Historic Society for the County and City of Chester, and North Wales] by G. R. Griffith, 1912.
- Edwards, Gwyneth. Crefftwyr Cilcain
Llafar Gwlad 33 (1991), p. 11-14
- Gruffydd, Eirlys.
Capel Gad, Cilcain Cilcain : swyddogion ac aelodau Capel Gad, 2006.
- 'Llythyr desgrifiadol Cilcain a'r amgylchoedd' ; gan R. Thos. Williams : am ba rai y derbyniodd yr awdwr y prif wobrau a gynygiesid gan bwyllgorau eisteddfod y lleoedd uchod, Llungwyn 1888 a Nadolig 1890; hefyd, y chwe' phenill buddugol i'r 'Foel Famau' o eiddo'r eisteddfod gyntaf. Pwllheli : Argraphwyd dros yr awdwr gan Richd. Jones, 1896.
- Roberts, Dewi. A Cilcain Christmas
Country Quest. December 2006, p. 24
- Simpson, Frank Cilcain and its parish church: being
an address to the Society given in the Town Hall, Mold, May 2nd 1912 Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.2 1912 Welsh
Journals Online
- Smith, P and P Hayes Brithdir
Mawr, Cilcain: a hall house of 1589 Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 21 1964 Welsh
Journals Online
Cemeteries
In addition to the churchyard of St. Mary's parish church, there is a public cemetery, administered by the local authority. The records are understood to cover the years 1896 to date, but they are not available for public inspection.
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 177652
The first recorded mention of the church at Cilcain dates from 1291.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Cilcain:
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Not named |
Calvinistic Methodist |
179 |
| Sardis |
Calvinistic Methodist |
158 |
| Salem, Rhydymwyn |
Congregational |
90 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1577 - 1875 |
1576 - 1970 |
1584 - 1875 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1577 - 1812 |
1583 - 1812 |
1576 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1662 - 1842 |
1662 - 1842 |
I.G.I.
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Baptisms |
1813 - 1875 |
C056551 |
| Marriages |
None |
- |
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Cilcain area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Pentre, but not Salem, has been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Pentre, Maes y Groes |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1812 - 1836 |
C098391 |
| Salem |
Independent |
Births and Baptisms |
1818-1837 |
- |
- The following nonconformist registers for the Cilcain area are held at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden.
They have not been filmed; and they have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| Garregboeth (later Sardis) |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1840 - 1944 |
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Cilcain was assigned to the No. 4 ("Mold") sub-district of the Holywell Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Holywell poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Cilcain are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: Holywell XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1946: Holywell 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundariesOn Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Population
- In 1831- the population was 1189.
- In 1901- the population was 362.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish as 5500 acres.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 3 Oct 2012 - Gareth Hicks