Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Flint / Y Fflint
"Flint, the nominal county town of the Shire of that name .... is beautifully situated on the estuary of the Dee, about 5 miles E.S.E. of Holywell (opposite Parkgate) and is 203 miles distant from London. It was formerly a place of considerable importance, on account of its maritime situation and its extensive fortress."
[From
Gleanings of the histories of Holywell, Flint, St. Asaph and Rhuddlan, J. Poole, 1831.]
There is reason to believe that at one time Flint was a chapelry within the parish of Northop, but it has functioned as a separate parish for at least 400 years.
The townships of Leadbrook Major and Leadbrook Minor were added to the parish of Flint (from the parish of Connah's Quay) in 1872.
- A short history of the Flint & Denbigh Hunt. London: Published and produced for The Flint and Denbigh Hunt by Reid-Hamilton, [1953]
- An early Flint deed Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.11 1925 Welsh
Journals Online
- Burgess, John.
Denbigh and Flint Carlisle : John Burgess, 2000.
- Courtaulds and the Flint connection :
Country Quest 29/1-2 (1988), p. 26
- Crasters, O E The supposed outer ditch of Flint
Castle Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 22 1965/6 Welsh
Journals Online
- Davies, Huw Powell
Fflam y ffydd yn y Flint
Cristion. Rhif 142/143 (Haf 2007), p. 14-15
- Edwards, J Goronwy Prof. The
building of Flint Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.12 1951 Welsh
Journals Online
- Eisteddfod swydd y Flint : Chester : M. Galway, pr., [1823]
- Erasmus, T P. The Flint Boroughs by-election of January 1913
Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 31 1983/4 Welsh
Journals Online
- Fawcett, William.
The Flint and Denbigh Hunt London : The Hunts Association, 1936.
- Flint Castle & environs : 1987.
- Flint Old Parish Church :
Hel achau, 40 (1993), p. 8
- Flint excavation report [+ second report] Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.10 1924 Welsh
Journals Online
- Hannaford, H R. Flint Castle, Clwyd :
Archaeology in Wales, Vol. 33 (1993), p. 30-33.
- Hurst, J G Early
eighteenth-century pottery from Flint Castle Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 22 1965/6 Welsh
Journals Online
- Jones, Arthur Petitions
to King Edward I, by the Burgesses of Flint, 1295-1300 Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.9 1922 Welsh
Journals Online
- Jones, Thomas Rees (Senior). Memories of Flint. Part One
Hel achau. 42 (1994), p. 5
- Jones, Thomas Rees (Senior). Memories of Flint. Part Two
Hel achau, 43 (1994), p. 12-13
- Miles, Trevor J. Flint: excavations at the castle and on the town defences 1971-1974
Archaeologia Cambrensis, Vol. 145 (1996), p. 67-151
- Old Flint. Mold : 1980
- O'Leary, T.J. with Kevin Blockley and Chris Musson.
Pentre Farm, Flint 1976-81 : Oxford : B.A.R., 1989.
- O'Neill, Eric. Flint beginnings and Salford endings
Hel achau, No. 83 (January 2005), p. 15-18
- Poole, J.
Gleanings of the histories of Holywell, Flint, Saint Asaph, and Rhuddlan Holywell : J. Davies, 1831.
- Renn, Derek and Richard Avent.
Flint Castle, Ewloe Castle Cardiff : Cadw: Welsh Historic Monuments, 1995.
- Taylor, A J The earliest burgesses of
Flint and Rhuddlan Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 27 1975/76 Welsh
Journals Online
- Taylor, A J. Scorched earth at Flint in 1294
Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 30 1981/2 Welsh
Journals Online
- Taylor, A J The building
of Flint: a post script Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.17 1957 Welsh
Journals Online
- Taylor, Henry Flint borough election 1697
Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.11 1925 Welsh
Journals Online
- Taylor, Henry Articles for
the surrender of Flint Castle to the parliamentary forces in 1646 Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.6 1917 Welsh
Journals Online
- Taylor, Henry.
Notes upon some early deeds relating to Chester and Flint [S.l, : s.n., 1889]
- Taylor, Henry.
A few notes upon the history of the county town of Flint Chester : Printed by G. R. Griffith, 1875.
- Taylor, Henry.
A guide to Flint Castle 2nd ed. Flint : Borough Printing Works, [1899].
- Taylor, Henry.
Historic notes of Flint Mold : Clwyd County Council Library and Information Service, 1994.
- Taylor, Henry.
Historic notices, with topographical and other gleanings descriptive of the borough and county-town of Flint; with illustrations by Miss Louise Rayner, Mr. Randolph Caldecott, and others. London : Elliot Stock, 1883.
- The ancient market town of Flint, Flintshire. Wyn Williams (Publishers) Ltd., 1968
- The official guide to the county of Flint. 2nd ed. London : County Associations, 1953.
- The register of electors, entitled to vote in the choice of a member to serve in parliament for the borough of Flint, and the several contributing boroughs sharing therewith...1852. Mold : Pring & Price, pr., [1851]
- The story of Flint Evangelical Church.
Evangelical Magazine of Wales. Vol. 31, no. 3 (June/July 1992), p. 19-21
- Thomas, I D Representation
and borough opinion: Liberal parliamentary politics in the Flint district
of boroughs, 1852/74 Flintshire Historical
Society journal, Vol. 34 1996 Welsh
Journals Online
- Thomas, Peter D G Sir George Wynne and
the Flint Borough Elections of 1727/41 Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 20 1962 Welsh
Journals Online
- Tucker, Norman The
final sieges of Flint Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 24 1969/70 Welsh
Journals Online
- Wilkes, D R.
Flint in old photographs Chorley, Lancs. : Countryside Publications, 1986.
Cemeteries
St. Mary's churchyard was closed in 1856, by an Order in Council, and a cemetery, complete with chapel, was opened off Northop Road, a short distance to the south-west (OS ref. SJ 242728). The first burial in the cemetery was on 18 November 1856.
Until 1900, this cemetery was to all intents and purposes the "remote" churchyard of St. Mary's parish church, all burials being recorded in St. Mary's burial register.
The cemetery was extended by two acres on Friday, 13th September 1889. The Bishop of St. Asaph officiated at the consecration service, which was conducted with considerable pomp and ceremony.
At the turn of the century, maintenance of the cemetery was handed over to the local authority.
In 1941, the local authority opened a second cemetery, in London Road (OS ref. SJ 233731). Both cemeteries are still in use, and are now administered by Flintshire County Council. The opening time for each cemetery is 8.00 a.m. until sunset.
The cemetery records, from 1890 to date (Northop Road), and 1941 to date (London Road), are held at the Flintshire County offices in Flint.
Researchers who wish to see the cemetery records
mustmake a prior appointment, by contacting :
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 243730.
The earliest recorded reference to St. Mary's Church dates from the thirteenth century. The original church was on the plan of a parallelogram. It had a north aisle, a porch, and a small wooden steeple at its west end. By 1846, the condition of the church had deteriorated so badly that it was considered to be unsafe. Permission was granted to worship in the Town Hall. The church was completely demolished and a new building, designed by the architect Ambrose Poynter, was erected on the same site. At the time, a number of old coffin lids and inscribed slabs were discovered in the foundations. The new church was consecrated on 5th December 1848. It consists of a nave, with north and south aisles, a short chancel, and a north-west clock tower with an octagonal spire.
In 1992, the local authority initiated a programme of pedestrianisation in the area around the church. During this work, some 60 memorials, mainly of the flat slab type, were discovered, many with most interesting inscriptions.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
There are also two district churches - St. David, Oakenholt, which was opened in 1872; and St. Thomas, Flint Mountain, which was opened in 1875.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Flint :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Tabernacle |
Baptist |
60 |
| Sion - Welsh |
Congregational |
100 |
| Not named - English |
Congregational |
70 |
| Caersalem |
Calvinistic Methodist |
200 |
| Bethania, Pentre |
Calvinistic Methodist |
140 |
| Cae Coch, Pentre |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Not stated |
| Bryn |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Not stated |
| Not named |
English Presbyterian |
260 |
| Not named |
English Wesleyan |
110 |
| Peniel, Flint |
Wesleyan |
250 |
| Bethel, Flint Mountain |
Wesleyan |
150 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
(Baptisms and marriages at the district church of St. Thomas, Flint Mountain, are recorded in the registers of St. Mary's parish church. This was also the case at the district church of St. David, Oakenholt, until fairly recently. However, St. David's now has its own registers)
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1598 - 1929 |
1598 - 1955 |
1598 - 1900 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1598 - 1812 |
1598 - 1837 |
1598 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1662 - 1837 |
1663 - 1837 |
I.G.I.
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Baptisms |
1820 - 1837 |
C056581 |
| Marriages |
None |
- |
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Flint area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
They have also been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Bethesda (Flint Mountain) |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1833 - 1836 |
C098331 |
| Caersalem |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1826 - 1837 |
C098321 |
- The following nonconformist registers for the Flint area are held at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden.
They have not been filmed; and they have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| St. John's |
Congregational |
Baptisms, Marriages and Burials |
1929 - 1975 (photocopies) |
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Flint was assigned to the No. 3 ("Flint") sub-district of the Holywell Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Holywell poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes, entries for Flint are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: Holywell XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1946: Holywell 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance in local register offices)
Flint Castle - on castle wales
Flint through the Ages
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundariesOn Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Flint Lifeboat Station
Population
- In 1831- the population was 2216.
- In 1901- the population was 4630.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 8 Jan 2013 - Gareth Hicks