We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Gwernaffield

The new parish of Gwernaffield was gazetted on 13 December 1844, having been created from the townships of Gwernaffield and Hendrebiffa - both of which had been in the parish of Mold until that time.
Part of the township of Gwernaffield was subsequently transferred to the new parish of Rhydymwyn in 1865.

Bibliography

  • Mason, Paul.    The loss of a farm, but not entirely . . . (Tanyffordd near Llynypandy, Gwernaffield)        Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 57 (Winter 2007/8), p. 28-32

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 207645.
The church, Holy Trinity, at Gwernaffield was consecrated in 1838, as a chapel of ease to the Parish Church of Mold.
In 1860, the church was severely damaged by arsonists, who also stole £13-11-9 (thirteen pounds, eleven shillings and ninepence) from the premises.
The building was eventually demolished in 1871, so that a new church could be built on the site - this was consecrated on 22 August 1872.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
BaptismsMarriagesBurials
1838 - 19881839 - 1988-

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of WalesMicrofilmed copies
1838 - 18511838 - 1851

I.G.I.

  • The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
    They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
Type of RecordYears CoveredI.G.I. Batch Number
Baptisms1839 - 1851C056601
MarriagesNone-

Civil Registration

The new parish of Gwernaffield was assigned to the No. 4 ("Mold") sub-district of the Holywell Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Holywell poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Gwernaffield are found under:

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Holywell XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1852 - 1946: Holywell 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Gwernaffield which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Gwernaffield has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ207645 (Lat/Lon: 53.171668, -3.187823), Gwernaffield which are provided by:

Population

  • In 1831- Gwernaffield was not a separate parish.
  • In 1901- the population was 813.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

Statistics

Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish as 1689 acres.