Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Halkyn / Helygain
"The village, which has arisen within the present century, and greatly increased since the discovery of some rich mines in the vicinity, is pleasantly situated in a fertile district; and the elevated ground adjacent to it commands a fine prospect of the surrounding scenery which, on the north, east and south expands into an almost boundless view. .... At a small distance from the village rises the Halkin mountain, rich in mineral treasures. It extends into the parishes of Northop, Ysceiviog, and Holywell, and forms one continued series of excavations made in search of lead-ore, of which no part of the principality has been more productive."
[
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, S. Lewis, 1849]
Halkyn is one of the "ancient parishes" of Flintshire, comprising the townships of Hendrefigillt, Lygan y Llan and Lygan y Wern. On 27 June 1848, the township of Hendrefigillt went to the new parish of Rhesycae. Archdeacon Thomas (1911) states that on 31 March 1865, part of the township of Lygan y Llan went to the new parish of Rhydymwyn, but from a study of the township boundaries, that seems to be unlikely.
- Baker, Rosa. An incomer, confusion, and Halkyn Parish Registers
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 43 (Autumn 1999), p. 29-30
- Berry, David.
Walks around Holywell & Halkyn Mountain Machynlleth : Kittiwake, 2003.
- Cornwell, J.D. & G.S. Kimbell.
Geophysical surveys in part of the Halkyn-Minera mining district, north-east Wales . Keyworth : British Geological Survey, 1985
- Ebbs, Cris. Workings and artefacts of Halkyn District United Mines, Flintshire
Archaeology in Wales. 47 (2007), p. 98-101.
- Ellis, Bryn. The Halkyn riots, 1866 / Bryn
Llafur, Vol. 5, no. 3 (1990), p. 14-19.
- Ellis, Bryn. Windmill, Halkyn, Clwyd
Melin, No. 8 (1992), p. 3-8
- Ellis, Bryn.
The history of Halkyn Mountain Holywell : Helygain, 1998.
- Ellis, Bryn. Lead mining on Halkyn Mountain
Hel achau, 44 (1994), p. 19-21.
- Ellis, Bryn and J. Phillips. A walk on Halkyn Mountain
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (2000), p. 32-37.
- Halkyn mountain communities in times past. Halkyn : Countryside News, 1993.
- Halkyn Mountain Project report : Cardiff : Welsh Office, 1983.
- Hughes, D R. The early life of the Rev. Evan Talfryn Jones of Moel y Crio, Halkyn
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 44 (Spring 2000), p. 24-25
- Jenner, Lorna and Tim Erasmus.
Halkyn Mountain Common ; illustration by Wendi Williams-Shiel and Chris Hull. [Mold] : Flintshire Countryside Service, 2004.
- St Mary's Church Halkyn : [Clwyd Family History Society]. Gwernymynydd : Clwyd Family History Society, 1999.
- Syme, Alistair. Halkyn horse's legendary leap
Country Quest, March 2008, p. 44-45
- Williams, C J.
A handlist of the Grosvenor (Halkyn) MSS Hawarden : Clwyd Record Office, 1988.
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 209712.
Although there has been a church at Halkyn for at least 1000 years, the present church dates only from 1878. The old church was demolished, and an entirely new building was erected a short distance away, the cost being met in full by the Duke of Westminster. The new church was consecrated on 29 October 1878.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Church of St Mary, Halkyn - on wikipedia
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Halkyn :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Felin y Nant |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Not stated |
| Sion |
Calvinistic Methodist |
150 |
| Ebeneser, Rhesycae - Welsh |
Congregational |
220 |
| Moriah - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
248 |
| Salem - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
130 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1595 - 1993 |
1595 - 1989 |
1594 - 1911 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1595 - 1812 |
1595 - 1837 |
1594 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1666 - 1850 |
1670 - 1850 |
I.G.I.
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Baptisms |
1815 - 1850 |
C056611 |
| Marriages |
None |
- |
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Halkyn area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
They have also been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Seion (Pentre Halkyn) |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1817 - 1837 |
C098241 |
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Halkyn was assigned to the No. 3 ("Flint") sub-district of the Holywell Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Holywell poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Halkyn are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: Holywell XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1946: Holywell 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Halkyn - on wikipedia - also Pentre Halkyn - also Halkyn Castle
Halkyn photographs - on geograph.org.uk
Halkyn Mountain - on BBC Wales
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Population
- In 1831- the population was 1538.
- In 1901- the population was 889.
[Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish as 1271 acres.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 24 Jan 2011 - Gareth Hicks