We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Pentrobin

"A township in the parish of Hawarden, hundred of Mold, county of Flint; 1½ miles (S.) from Hawarden. .... It comprises what might be considered the southern suburbs of Hawarden, and is chiefly noted for its manufacture of fire-bricks, tiles, coarse earthenware, &c., of which large quantities are exported: the clay for the purpose is procured in the immediate neighbourhood."
[A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, S. Lewis, 1834]

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 305628.
The district church of St. John the Baptist is situated on the extreme southerly boundary of the ancient township of Pentrobin in the parish of Hawarden, within a few yards of its boundary with the parish of Hope.

St. John's, strictly speaking, is not the district church for the adjoining villages of Penymynydd and Penyffordd. For ecclesiastical purposes, Penyffordd is in the parish of Hope; and Penymynydd is partly in the parish of Hope and partly in Higher Kinnerton.

St. John's was consecrated on the 22nd of July 1843.

"The church has been built of stone, by Mr Dabell, in the pointed or early English style of the date of Henry the Third, after a design by Mr J. Buckler of London; and whether regarded with reference to its external appearance, or its interior arrangements, is really a most admirable specimen of ecclesiastical architecture."
[From The Chester Chronicle of 28th July 1843]

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

St. John's is a constituent church of the modern Rectorial Benefice of Hawarden - it is not a separate parish.

Nonconformist Churches See Hawarden.

Church Records

Family historians researching the Penymynydd and/or Penyffordd area should, in the first instance, consult the records for the parish of Hope. The records for St. John's tend to cover the area to the north and west of the church, i.e. the ancient township of Pentrobin.

 

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

 

BaptismsMarriagesBurials
1843 - 19021881 - 19831843 - 1983

 

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

 

Deposited at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden.Microfilmed copies
1849 - 1872None

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. John's, Pentrobin.

 

Researchers should note that the ecclesiastical district of Pentrobin does not have specifically defined boundaries within the parish of Hawarden, and its parishioners have always had the option to be baptised or married in any church of the parish of Hawarden, subject to the consent of the incumbent.
A thorough search of the registers, especially those of the parish church in Hawarden, is therefore advisable!

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Pentrobin which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Pentrobin has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ305628 (Lat/Lon: 53.157760, -3.040870), Pentrobin which are provided by: