Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Holywell / Treffynnon
"The town of Holywell is situated on the estuary of the Dee nearly opposite to Parkgate. ... It is built on the declevity of a hill gradually extending to the sea, the surrounding hills forming a kind of amphitheatre. ... The town of Holywell ranks the first in the principality of Wales. Its inhabitants are intelligent and enterprising, and few places can boast of society being better cemented, or good cheer and hospitality more uniformly practised."
[From
The Histories of Holywell, Flint, St. Asaph and Rhuddlan, Poole, 1831]
Holywell is one of the "ancient parishes" of Flintshire. It originally comprised the townships of Holywell, Brynford, Bagillt Fawr, Bagillt Fechan, Calcot, Coleshill Fawr, Coleshill Fechan, Greenfield, Stokyn and Wellstone (or Trefynnon).
On 23 May 1844, the new parish of Bagillt was created from the townships of Bagillt Fawr, Bagillt Fechan, Coleshill Fawr and Coleshill Fechan.
In 1854, most of the township of Brynford was lost to the new parish of Brynford.
In 1983, the area of Wellstone was transferred to the parish of Brynford.
- An historical description of St. Winefred's Well, at Holywell, Flintshire, North-Wales : Holywell : Carnes, printer, [ca 1820?]
- Articles of Holywell hunt. Holywell : James Davies, [1835?]
- Articles, to be observed by the members of a society of tradesmen and inhabitants of the Parish of Holywell ... called, the Cambrian Band Friendly Society : Printed by E. Carnes, 1823.
- Beer, Adolf W View
taken from Pennant's historyof the parishes of Whitford and Holywell Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.6 1917 Welsh
Journals Online
- Berry, David.
Walks around Holywell & Halkyn Mountain Machynlleth : Kittiwake, 2003.
- Book of reference to the plan of the Parish of Holywell (Hundreds of Coleshill and Rhuddlan) in the county of Flint : Colonel A.C. Cooke, Director-General of the Ordnance Surveys. London : Eyre & Spottiswoode for H.M.S.O., 1871.
- Bord, Janet. St. Winefride's Well, Holywell, Clwyd (with assistance from Tristan Gray Hulse).
Folklore 105 (1994), p. 99-100
- Christensen, Mike. Holywell town
British Railway Journal 40 (1992), p. 2-7
- Daniel, Anne. Ecclesiastical reflections of Holywell
Country Quest. 34 (September 1993), p. 5-9
- Davies, Kenneth. The Holywell and Newtown connection
Cronicl Powys, No. 63 (Dec. 2004), 25-34
- Death of the Reverend Canon Williams M.A., Rector of Ysceifiog and Rural Dean of Holywell. Holywell : W. Morris, pr., 1854.
- Evans, R. Paul. The Flintshire Loyalist Association and the Loyal Holywell Volunteers
Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 33, (1992), p. 54-68.
- Holywell workhouse registers of births 1848-1917 and deaths 1848-1936. [Flint : Peter Redfern Metcalfe, 2003].
- Holywell hunt, 1835 Holywell : James Davies, 1835.
- Holywell Young Men's Society [Advertisment and constitution of the] : Holywell : Printed by James Davies, 1841.
- Jones, David R. Jane Williams, Holywell
Canu gwerin, Cyf. 27 (2004), t. 48-60
- Jones, J.
Holywell Ashton : Printed by John Williamson, 1844.
- Jones, Kath. The miracle at Holywell
Country Quest. April 2007, p.28-29
- Jones, Tim.
The Holywell Workhouses Tim Jones, 1995.
- Jones, Tim.
Living conditions in 19th Century Holywell Tim Jones, 1995.
- Lloyd, Tecwyn. Holywell's literary connections
Country Quest (June 1995), p. 22-3
- Lloyd-Roberts, Tom. A modern 'miracle' at saint's well
Country Quest 33/4 (1992), p. 18-19
- Louis (?), M L.
Gleanings of a tour in North Wales from the Great 'Orms Head, through Abergele, St. Asaph, Holywell, and Chester, to the Isle of Man, with topographical remarks Liverpool : printed by W. Bethell, 1824.
- Manley, J. F. and J. M. Lewis. A collection of Medieval artefacts found near Holywell, Clwyd /
Bulletin of the Board of Celtic Studies, Vol. 34 (1987), p. 270-282
- Matthews, E. Gwynn. Holywell and the 'Marseillaise'
Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 38, (2010), p. 117-131
- Mawdsley, John.
The legend of St. Winifred and tales of the ruins of Basingwerk Liverpool : Arthur Newling, [1846]
- Metcalfe, Peter. Pendref Wesleyan Chapel, Holywell, centenary celebration
Hel achau, No. 70 (Oct. 2001), p. 26-32. (
- Nash, Paddy. The Holywell connection
The Old Faith = Yr Hen Ffydd, No. 4 (September 2000), 21-23.
- Nichol, D. and R. D. W. Lowman. Impacts of abandoned base metal mine workings around Holywell
Urban geology in Wales p.131-136.
- On seeing the Holywell Volunteers exercise. Holywell : Printed by E. Carnes, [ca. 1795]
- Owen, Edward The Monastery
of Basingwerk, at the period of its dissolution Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.7 1920 Welsh
Journals Online
- Pennant, Thomas.
The history of the parishes of Whiteford and Holywell. [Mold] : Clwyd County Council, Library and Museum Service, 1988.
- Poole, J.
Gleanings of the histories of Holywell, Flint, Saint Asaph, and Rhuddlan Holywell : J. Davies, 1831.
- Regulations. For the Loyal Holywell Volunteers. [Holywell] : Printed by E. Carnes. Holywell, 1797.
- Roberts, Dewi. Baron Corvo and his Holywell escapades
Country Quest. 34 (October 1993), p. 16-17
- Rules for the government of the Flintshire Dispensary : Holywell : Printed by J. Davies, [1842?]
- Tennant, Rowland.
A history of Holywell and Greenfield Wrexham : Bridge Books, 2007.
- The borough guide to Holywell (North Wales) : Cheltenham : Ed. J. Burrows, [191-?]
- The story of Pantasaph : the monastery, Pantasaph, Holywell. New and revised edition. [S.l. : s.n., 19--?]
- The worship of St. Wenefride, "The Patroness of Wales" / Holywell : Published for the author by P.M. Evans, [1882]
- Thomas, David.
Holywell Parish Church, Flintshire Holywell : County Herald, 1947
- Thomas, David.
The parish of Holywell Rhyl : Clwyd Press Ltd., 1964.
- Thomas, J R.
The tramways and railways to Holywell [Chester?] : J.R. Thomas, 1995.
- Veysey, A. Geoffrey. The Holywell Hunt
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 37 (Autumn 1996), p. 2-7
- Wilkes, David.
Holywell and district Market Drayton : S.B. Publications, 1992
- Wilkes, David Robert.
Holywell in old picture postcards Zaltbommel : European Library, 1990.
- Williams, C R Thomas
Norbury's letters 1806/22 Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.26 1973/74 Welsh
Journals Online
- Williams, Glanmor St
Winifred's well: Ffynnon Wenfrew Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 36 2003 Welsh
Journals Online
- Winstanley, Paul. The watchmakers of Holywell
Hel achau, No. 57 (Aug. 1998), p. 36-37. (
Cemeteries
In addition to the churchyard of St. James Parish Church, there is a public cemetery in Fron Park Road.
The cemetery, which was opened about 1910, is still in use, and is administered by Flintshire County Council. The opening time is 8.00 a.m. until sunset.
The cemetery records, from 1910 to 1927, and from 1936 to date, are held at the Flintshire County offices in Flint.
Researchers who wish to see the cemetery records
mustmake a prior appointment, by contacting :
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 185763
The church in Holywell was founded bt St. Beuno during the seventh century, and was dedicated to St. Winifred, his niece, for many centuries. However, after extensive rebuilding in 1769/1770, it was re-dedicated to St. James the Apostle. There was a further renovation, including a considerable amount of rebuilding and alteration, during 1884/1885.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
There is a district church at Greenfield.
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of "Holywell Urban District":
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Bethel - Welsh |
Baptist |
230 |
| Rehoboth |
Calvinistic Methodist |
476 |
| Penymaes |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Not stated |
| Chapel Street - Welsh |
Congregational |
298 |
| Tabernacle - English |
Congregational |
130 |
| Not named |
English Presbyterian |
135 |
| Pendre - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
305 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1677 - 1995 |
1677 - 1997 |
1677 - 1978 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1677 - 1825 |
1677 - 1812 |
1677 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1667 - 1866 |
1667 - 1866 |
I.G.I.
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Baptisms |
1823 - 1848 |
C056621 |
| Marriages |
None |
- |
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Holywell area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
They have also been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Rehoboth |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1809 - 1837 |
C098191 |
| Seion, Chapel Street |
Congregational |
Births and Baptisms |
1800 - 1837 |
C098511 |
| Pendre, Chester Road |
Wesleyan |
Births and Baptisms |
1809 - 1837 |
C098401 |
- The following nonconformist registers for the Holywell area are held at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden.
They have not been filmed; and they have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| Tabernacle |
Congregational |
Baptisms, Marriages and Burials |
1867 - 1986 |
| Spring Gardens |
English Presbyterian |
Baptisms |
1951 - 1971 |
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Holywell was assigned to the No. 2 ("Holywell") sub-district of the Holywell Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Holywell poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Holywell are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: Holywell XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1946: Holywell 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Holywell Town site
Holywell - on wikipedia
Holywell - on geograph.org.uk
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundariesOn Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Map of the road from St Asaph to Greenfield Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.9 1922 Welsh
Journals Online
Population
- In 1831- the population was 8969.
- In 1901- the population was 4972.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish, including Greenfield, as 3200 acres.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 8 Jan 2013 - Gareth Hicks