Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Llanasa
"The beautiful village of Llanasa is situated in a pleasant valley at the northern extremity of the county, on the south-western shore of the estuary of the Dee, near its influx with the Irish sea ...... In this neighbourhood are several genteel residences."
[From
A Visitor's Guide to Rhyl and its Vicinity, D. Lloyd Lewis, 1852.]
Llanasa is one of the "ancient parishes" of Flintshire. It originally comprised the townships of Gronant, Gwespyr, Kelston, Golden Grove, Picton, Axtyn and Trelogan.
In 1812, an embankment nearly two miles in length was built, allowing a large area of fertile land to be reclaimed from the sea. This area became the township of Trewaelod.
A portion of the township of Gronant was lost to the new parish of Prestatyn in 1860.
- Book of reference to the plan of the Parish of Llanasa (Hundred of Prestatyn) in the county of Flint : Major-General Sir Henry James, Superintendent of the Survey. London : Eyre & Spottiswoode for H.M.S.O., 1872.
- Edwards, Thos.
Historical guide to Prestatyn, Dyserth, Meliden, Newmarket, Gwaenysgor, Llanasa, Talacre, etc. Prestatyn : John T. Burrows, [1905]
- Golden Grove, Llanasa.
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (1986), p. 44-46
- Hughes, J. and J. Phillips. Evening walk in the Llanasa area
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (1991), p. 69-73.
- Hughes, Robert.
Cofiant y diweddar Mr Thomas Davies, Axtyn, yr hwn a fu yn flaenor am ddeugain mlynedd gyda'r Wesleyaid yn Llanasa Treffynnon : Argraphwyd gan William Williams, [1872]
- Llanasa : Clwyd , 1975.
- Morgan, Prys Elis
Gruffudd of Gronant - Tudor chronicler extrordinary Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 25 1971/72 Welsh
Journals Online
- Parry, Paul S.
Some notes on Gyrn Castle in the parish of Llanasa [Holywell?] : [Greenfield Valley Trust?], [1993]
- Smith, P The
old school-house, Llanasa Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 18 1960 Welsh
Journals Online
Cemeteries
There is a public cemetery in Picton, opened about 1923, and administered by the local authority. The records are not available for public inspection.
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 106814.
There has been a church on the same site since the 6th Century. The shell of the present building is believed to date from the late 15th Century, but there have been several restorations and additions over the years, especially in 1739, 1746, 1818 and 1877.
The church is dedicated to St. Asaph and St. Cyndeyrn (or Kentigern).
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
Llanasa Parish Church
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Llanasa :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Acstyn - Welsh |
Baptist |
35 |
| Gwespyr |
Calvinistic Methodist |
136 |
| Gwynfa, Penyffordd |
Calvinistic Methodist |
120 |
| Gronant |
Calvinistic Methodist |
189 |
| Moriah, Ffynnongroyw |
Calvinistic Methodist |
180 |
| Trelogan |
Calvinistic Methodist |
249 |
| Sarn - Welsh |
Congregational |
98 |
| Siloa, Fynnongroyw - Welsh |
Congregational |
100 |
| St. Andrew's, Ffynnongroyw - English |
Congregational |
65 |
| Bethania, Ffynnongroyw - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
360 |
| Bethel, Gronant - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
100 |
| Groes - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
170 |
| Gwespyr - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
140 |
| Mynydd Seion, Trelogan - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
90 |
| Peniel, Penyffordd - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
130 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1629 - 1863 |
1629 - 1882 |
1629 - 1890 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1629 - 1812 |
1629 - 1812 |
1629 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1663 - 1837 |
1670 - 1837 |
I.G.I.
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Baptisms |
1814 - 1837 |
C056631 |
| Marriages |
None |
- |
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Llanasa area are held at the Public Record Office, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
They have also been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Gronant, Mynydd Seion |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1818 - 1836 |
C098311 |
| Trelogan, Disgwlfa |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1818 - 1837 |
C098301 |
- The following nonconformist registers for the Llanasa area are held at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden (FRO), or at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth (NLW).
They have not been filmed; and they have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
Held at |
| Gronant, Mynydd Seion |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Baptisms |
1818 - 1986 |
FRO |
| Gwespyr |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Baptisms |
1911 - 1934
1943 - 1960 |
NLW |
| Trelogan, Disgwlfa |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Baptisms |
1887 - 1915
1910 - 1949 |
NLW
FRO |
| "Circuit" |
Wesleyan |
Births and Baptisms |
1841 - 1961 |
FRO |
- Note - The Wesleyan chapels were grouped into a "Circuit", with one set of registers serving the Circuit.
It may not always be possible to identify the particular chapel in which the ceremony was performed.
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanasa was assigned to the No. 1 ("Whitford") sub-district of the Holywell Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Holywell poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanasa are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: Holywell XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1946: Holywell 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Llanasa Village web site
Llanasa - on wikipedia
Llanasa photographs - on geograph.org.uk
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundariesOn Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Population
- In 1831- the population was 2373.
- In 1901- the population was 1718.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish of Llanasa as 6000 acres.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 8 Jan 2013 - Gareth Hicks