Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Meliden / Allt Melyd
"Meliden comprises an extensive tract of rich arable and pasture land, which is in a high state of cultivation: the surface is in general flat, and the whole district, extending to Rhuddlan, is remarkably fertile"
[
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, S. Lewis, 1834]
Meliden is one of the ancient parishes of Flintshire. An early recorded reference is in the "Lincoln Taxation" of 1291, but it was also recorded in the Domesday Book of 1086. The parish originally comprised the townships of Meliden, Prestatyn and Nant; but Prestatyn and Nant were lost to the new parish of Prestatyn in 1860.
- Book of reference to the plan of the Parish of Meliden (Hundred of Prestatyn) in the county of Flint : Major-General Sir Henry James, Superintendent of the Survey London : Eyre & Spottiswoode for H.M.S.O., 1872
- Edwards, Thos.
Historical guide to Prestatyn, Dyserth, Meliden, Newmarket, Gwaenysgor, Llanasa, Talacre, etc Prestatyn : John T. Burrows, [1905]
- Howe, Marjorie.
Memories of old Meliden Rhyl : Marjorie Howe, [1996]
- Hughes, J. and J. Phillips. The 'Barbara Allen' nature walk at Craig Fawr SSSI, Meliden
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (1995), p. 26-30
- Scarll, P. and J. Phillips. Circular walk - Meliden to Gop Hill
Proceedings of the Dyserth and district field club, (2003), p. 19-21
- Thomas, John. Meliden Church
Hel achau, No. 52 (May 1997), p. 10-11.
- Thompson, Trefor.
Old Prestatyn and Meliden Rhuddlan : Charter Publications, 1981.
- Thompson, Trefor.
Prestatyn and Meliden in old photographs Rhuddlan : Charter Publications, c1979.
- Williams, George Ewart. Some memories of old Meliden
Hel achau, No. 91 (Ionawr / January 2007), p. 24-25
Church History
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 063811.
Some parts of the church fabric are believed to date from the thirteenth century; but the building was extensively restored in 1884. The dedication is to St. Melyd.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
The Parish of Meliden
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of Meliden :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Mynydd Sion |
Calvinistic Methodist |
75 |
| Salem - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
171 |
Church Records
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1602 - 1973 |
1603 - 1982 |
1602 - 1996 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1602 - 1812 |
1603 - 1812 |
1602 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1668 - 1851 |
1674 - 1851 |
I.G.I.
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Baptisms |
1813 - 1851 |
C056641 |
| Marriages |
None |
- |
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Meliden area are held at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden.
They have not been filmed; and they have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| Salem |
Wesleyan |
Births and Baptisms |
1856 - 1971 |
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Meliden was assigned to the No. 1 ("St. Asaph") sub-district of the St. Asaph Registration District, which was co-extensive with the St. Asaph poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Meliden are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: St. Asaph XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1946: St. Asaph 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Meliden - on wikipedia
Meliden-Gallt Melyd
Meliden photographs - on geograph.org.uk
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries
Population
- In 1831- the population was 720.
- In 1901- the population was 478.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish as 1484 acres.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 2 Feb 2011 - Gareth Hicks