Flintshire
Parishes
Contents
Mold / Yr Wyddgrug
"Mold is a market town situated in a small but fertile plain, surrounded by rugged hills, richly productive of mineral treasure. It consists principally of one long and spacious street, comprising 682 houses, and has a population amounting to 4235. On the north side is a mount, partly natural, and partly artificial, from where is a fine view of of the circumjacent country, with Moel-y-famma
(sic) rising proudly pre-eminent among the Clwydian hills".
[From
North Wales, Rev. J. Evans, 1812]
Mold is one of the "ancient parishes" of Flintshire, and originally comprised the twenty-five townships of Arddunwent, Argoed, Birchenald, Bistre, Broncoed, Cilrhedynnen, Groesonnen, Gwernaffield, Gwernymynydd, Gwysanau, Hartsheath, Hendebifa, Leeswood, Llai, Llong, Llwynegrin, Nercwys, Pantymwyn, Pontbleiddyn, Pentre, Rhual, Rhydgoli, Tre'r Beirdd, Treuddyn and Waunyrwyddfid.
Both Nercwys and Treuddyn became chapelries at an early date, and by the nineteenth century they were effectively separate parishes, although until 1832 they were administered jointly.
On 23 May 1844, the new parish of Bistre was created, from the township of Bistre and part of the township of Argoed.
On the same date, the new parish of Gwernaffield was created from the townships of Gwernaffield and Hendrebifa; and the new parish of Pontbleiddyn was created from the township of Hartsheath and part of the township of Leeswood.
On 27 May 1844, Nercwys was officially recognised as a separate parish, comprising the townships of Nercwys and Arddunwent.
In 1865, part of the township of Gwysanau was lost to the new parish of Rhydymwyn.
- A concise guide to Mold (Flintshire) : issued by the Authority of the Mold Urban District council and Mold & District Chamber of Commerce. Derby, Cheltenham : New Centurion Publishing and Publicity Co., [19--].
- Area book and book of reference to the plan of the Parish of Mold, Flintshire, Hundred of Mold : Major-General John Cameron, Director-General of the Ordnance Survey. London : Eyre & Spottiswoode for H.M.S.O., 1876
- Bevan-Evans, M The Mold riot 1831,
a note Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.13 1952/3 Welsh
Journals Online
- Boyd, James I. C.
The Wrexham, Mold and Connah's Quay railway Oxford : Oakwood Press, 1991.
- Bridge, Joseph C. (ed)
The diary of Nehemiah Griffith, Esq. of Rhual, Mold, for the year 1715 Chester : [Chester Archaeological Society], [ca. 1895]
- Burge, Alun. The Mold riots of 1869
Llafur, Vol. 3, no. 3 (1982), p. 42-57
- Davies, Aled Lloyd. Luftwaffe over Mold
Ystrad Alun: journal of the Mold Civic Society = cylchgrawn Cymdeithas Hanes yr Wyddgrug, [First Issue] (Summer 2000), p. 67.
- Devlin, Mike. Espionage in Mold
Country Quest. (October 2005), p. 20-21
- Devlin, Mike. Mold's gold
Country Quest. (April 2006), p.16-7
- Devlin, Mike. Mold Castle
Country Quest, October 2008, p. 16-17
- Ellis, Bryn. Quarter Session records for Hawarden and Mold, 1747-1799
Buckley: the magazine of the Buckley Society, No. 21 (Spring 1997) p. 12-20.
- Emery, Gordon.
Pantymwyn, Mold -The Leete Walk Chester : Gordon Emery, 1989.
- Erasmus, Tim.
A history of the Alun School, Mold, the Lloyd Parry years : 1880-1922 ; editing and layout Ashley Jones. Mold : Alun School, c2003
- Foulkes, Mervyn E. My memories of Mold and district, 1940-1951
Ystrad Alun: journal of the Mold Civic Society = cylchgrawn Cymdeithas Hanes yr Wyddgrug, [2nd Issue] (Christmas 2001), p. 33-41.
- Foulkes, Merfyn. A stroll around Mold visiting some shops in the 1930's
Ystrad Alun: journal of the Mold Civic Society = cylchgrawn Cymdeithas Hanes yr Wyddgrug, [First Issue] (Summer 2000), p. 62-66.
- Griffiths, Jenny and Mike.
The Mold tragedy of 1869 Llanrwst : Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 2001.
- Gruffydd, Ken Lloyd. The Bronze Age gold ceremonial cape from Mold
Ystrad Alun: journal of the Mold Civic Society = cylchgrawn Cymdeithas Hanes yr Wyddgrug, [First Issue] (Summer 2000)
- Gruffydd, Ken Lloyd. Crime and disorder in the parish of Mold during the eighteenth century
Ystrad Alun: journal of the Mold Civic Society = cylchgrawn Cymdeithas Hanes yr Wyddgrug, [First Issue] (Summer 2000), p. 24-38.
- Halsall, David A Nineteenth
century railway traffic between Mold and Denbigh Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 28 1977/78 Welsh
Journals Online
- Jones, Kitty Idwal Thomas
Jones of Denbigh, 1756-1820 Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.17 1957 Welsh
Journals Online
- Joy, Margaret.
A history of St. David's R.C. parish, church and school, Mold Mold : St. David's Church, 1992.
- Leslie, Charles Henry.
Rambles round Mold Mold : Flintshire County Council, 2000.
- Lloyd, George Medieval carved stones at Mold Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 18 1960 Welsh
Journals Online
- Lynch, Frances (ed). Report on the excavation of a Bronze Age barrow at Llong near Mold
Flintshire Historical Society journal, Vol. 31, (1983/1984), p.13-28
- Manby, T G & Frances Lynch A
polished stone axe from Mold Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 25 1971/72 Welsh
Journals Online
- Mansbridge, Charles. Life in Mold in 1841
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 52 (Spring 2004), p. 12-13
- Mason, Paul. The limes of Fron Hall, near Mold
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 58 (Spring 2008), p. 14-20
- Mason, P F. Educational provision in Mold, 1744-1850
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 28 (Spring 1992), p. 18-19
- Mather, John S. Cambrian House [Mold] and its secrets
Country Quest 26/4 (1985), p. 28
- On the trail of 'Mold's Grand Old Man'.
Yr Enfys, Autumn - Winter 2007, p. 19
- Photographic view album of Mold and district. Mold : W.N. Bellamy & Co., [ca.1900.]
- Rambles round Mold / by Charles Henry Leslie, to which are added accounts and description of objects in and about the town, and such general information as will render the volume a complete guide to the neighbourhood. Mold : Pring and Price, [1869].
- Read, I M. Argoed Hall, Mold
Clwyd Historian = Hanes Bro Clwyd. No. 26 (April 1991), p. 25-28
- Rear, Bill.
The Denbigh and Mold line Stockport : Foxline, 1992.
- Rhodes, J N The lead
mills at Mold Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 25 1971/72 Welsh
Journals Online
- Ridgway, Maurice H. Chester assayed silver coffin plates from Mold
Archaeologia Cambrensis, Vol. 142 (1993), p. 330-339
- Roberts, David. The Alleluia Victory near Mold
Country Quest. Feb. 2001, p. 11
- Roberts, David. Mold's famous Welsh novelist
Country Quest, July 2007, p. 32-33.
- Roscoe, Paula. The injustice of Mold
Country Quest. (Mar. 2003), p. 32-33
- Rules and regulations for the management of the Mold Savings' Bank : Mold : Printed by T. Price, 1842.
- Taylor, Henry The
Lords of Mold Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol.6 1917 Welsh
Journals Online
- The ancient market town of Mold, Flintshire. Wrexham : Wynn Williams, [1970]
- The story of the Parish Church of St.Mary, Mold. 5th ed. Gloucester: British Publishing Co, [1967]
- The Wrexham, Mold & Connah's Quay Railway. [St. Albans, Eng.] : Oakwood Press, 1957.
- Tweddell, H J.
Handy guide to Mold & the neighbourhood [Mold] : Clwyd County Council Library & Information Service, 1990
- Tweddell, Horatio J. (Efrogydd).
Handy guide to Mold and the neighbourhood, with its legends and traditions Mold : Walter Noel Bellamy, [1890]
- Williams, C J The
Lead Mines of the Alyn Valley Flintshire Historical Society
journal, Vol. 29 1979/80 Welsh
Journals Online
- Wrexham, Mold, and Connah's Quay Junction Railway : [Lambeth, London] : [H. Kemshead, printer], 1862.
- Wynn, David. A new 'meeting house' at Mold
Evangelical Magazine of Wales. Vol. 20, no. 4 (Aug./Sep. 1989), p. 14-15
Cemeteries
The churchyard of the parish church, St.Mary's, is now closed to further burials. There is a large public cemetery in Gas Lane, opened about 1877 and still in use. Copies of the burial registers, from 1877, have been deposited in Flintshire Record Office.
Church History
See Welsh
Chapels and Churches for a photograph of ;
- Maeshafn Chapel, Welsh Presbyterian,
Mold
- Mold St Mary the Virgin
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 236642.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Mary, has a history of at least 700 years - the list of known Clergy dates back to 1253. The building has been extensively repaired and restored, especially in 1773 and 1857.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.
The daughter church of St. John, a short distance from the parish church, was consecrated on 27 April 1878, specifically to serve the Welsh-speaking population. The building now functions as St. Mary's church hall.
The daughter church of St. James, in the village of New Brighton to the north of Mold, was opened in 1893, and is still in use.
Nonconformist Churches - Mold Urban District
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of "Mold Urban District" :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Ebenezer - Welsh |
Baptist |
210 |
| Maesydre - English |
Baptist |
50 |
| Bethesda, New Street |
Calvinistic Methodist |
600 |
| Pentre |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Not stated |
| Sion, Maesydre |
Calvinistic Methodist |
140 |
| Bethel - Welsh |
Congregational |
350 |
| Westminster Road - English |
Congregational |
130 |
| Not named |
English Presbyterian |
275 |
| Not named |
Primitive Methodist |
130 |
| English Wesleyan |
Wesleyan |
90 |
| Pendref - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
315 |
| Tabernacle, Broncoed - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
34 |
Nonconformist Churches - Mold Rural District
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Flint - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905"lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the
Civilparish of "Mold Rural District":
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Number of "adherents" |
| Bethania, Leeswood - Welsh |
Baptist |
68 |
| Penyfron - Welsh |
Baptist |
40 |
| Bethel, Leeswood |
Calvinistic Methodist |
300 |
| Bethesda, Gwernaffield |
Calvinistic Methodist |
80 |
| Ebenezer, Mynydd Isa |
Calvinistic Methodist |
140 |
| Not named, Gwernymynydd |
Calvinistic Methodist |
79 |
| Llyn y pandy |
Calvinistic Methodist |
73 |
| Llong - Welsh |
Congregational |
60 |
| Soar, Pantybuarth - Welsh |
Congregational |
106 |
| Not named, Gwernymynydd - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
150 |
| Horeb, Leeswood - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
308 |
| Not named, Leeswood - English |
Wesleyan |
60 |
| Not named, Pantymwyn - Welsh |
Wesleyan |
51 |
Church Records
"The Registers date from 1611, and are complete throughout the Commonwealth, having been kept by the curate, Mr Ellis, whilst the Rector was obliged to absent himself, as he tells us, in regard of the violence used in those parts then."
[From
The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , Ven. D.R. Thomas, 1908-1913]
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden. They may be viewed on microfilm at the Flintshire Record Office, the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin, and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth. These microfilms are
not available elsewhere.
| |
Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| St. Mary's |
1612 - 1973 |
1604 - 1985 |
1612 - 1988 |
| St. John's |
1880 - 1947 |
1886 - 1946 |
- |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms |
Marriages |
Burials |
| 1612 - 1812 |
1604 - 1812 |
1617 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
The films may also be viewed at the Flintshire and Denbighshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales |
Microfilmed copies |
| 1664 - 1856 |
1678 - 1856 |
I.G.I.
- The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
| Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Baptisms |
1817 - 1834 |
C056651 |
| Marriages |
None |
- |
Nonconformist Records
- The following nonconformist registers for the Mold area are held at the National
Archives, Kew.
They may be viewed on microfilm at LDS Family History Centres; and at the Flintshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
They have also been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
I.G.I. Batch Number |
| Bethesda |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1807 - 1837 |
C098441 |
| Llynypandy |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Births and Baptisms |
1827 - 1837 |
C098421 |
| Bethel |
Congregational / Independent |
Baptisms |
1813 - 1837 |
C098451 |
- The following nonconformist registers for the Mold area are held at the Flintshire Record Office, Hawarden.
They have not been filmed; and they have
not been incorporated into the I.G.I. :
| Name of Chapel |
Denomination |
Type of Record |
Years Covered |
| Bethel, Leeswood / Coed Llai |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Baptisms and Marriages |
1866 - 1985 |
| Ebeneser, Mynydd Isa |
Calvinistic Methodist |
Baptisms |
1869 - 1886
1902 - 1909 |
| "Circuit" |
Wesleyan Methodist |
Baptisms |
1840 - 1971 |
| Pendref |
Wesleyan Methodist |
Marriages |
1899 - 1982 |
- Note - many of the Methodist chapels were grouped into "Circuits", with one set of registers serving the Circuit.
It may not always be possible to identify the particular chapel in which the ceremony was performed.
Description and Travel
Mold - on wikipedia
Visit Mold
Mold Town Council
Mold Community site
Mold photographs - on geograph.org.uk
Civil Registration
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Mold was assigned to the No. 4 ("Mold") sub-district of the Holywell Registration District, which was co-extensive with the Holywell poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Mold are found under:
- Years 1837 - 1851: Holywell XXVII.
nnn
- Years 1852 - 1946: Holywell 11b.
nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the
local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundariesOn Clwyd FHS's site there is a diagram showing parish names/positions with links to pages for the parish church
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Population
- In 1831- the population was 9385.
- In 1901- the population was 5312.
[
Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Statistics
Archdeacon Thomas (1911) gives the area of the parish of Mold as 5312 acres.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
Last Updated 8 Jan 2013 - Gareth Hicks